We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

My wife and I wanted to sneak away for a weekend trip. We had some DVC points to kill so we chose this resort. I must say that I loved it. We chose a one bedroom villa. It is easily the most spacious of tall the resorts we have stayed at. The villa had the feeling of a lodge in the wilderness. The furnishings had a rustic feel. The villa had a massive deck off the living area to enjoy. The property was extremely clean and well maintained. The castmembers were top notch as they are at all things Disney. Try the breakfast at the counter service spot on property. I think it is called Tidewater. The portions are huge for the cost. Try the french toast. The property is set on the sound so the property provides transportation to and from the private beach house every thirty minutes. The beach house also has a counter service meal option. The best part of this property was how relaxing it was. We were there in off season so i am sure that helped. Go and relax.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MJ525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    185
    43
    14
    7
See reviews for
532
187
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

This was a great resort for the exceptional service that comes with the Disney brand but without the crowds and chaos of the parks. There is just enough Disney in every corner of the resort from the outdoor movies, to the activities, to the life guards in their red shorts and white polos. However the place was quiet. Sitting on the deck at night it was amazing how quiet the entire resort was. The rooms were also some of the largest we have been in for a DVC resort.

Everyting inside the rooms and outside on the property made this our new favorite place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that over looks the marsh and avoid the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichBrown27526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

We arrived some hours late thanks to a delay at Manchester airport, but the welcome we had made up for it. Not the easiest place to find, as it seems like you are going into a Mall complex. The setting is second to none! Views to really make everyone happy. The hotel is set on an island of it's own, so has views of the little marina, the tidal creek and has a woodland feel to the island. It has a pier for children large and small to fish from or go crabbing. We watched fish jumping, crabs the size of your thumbnail fighting and even an aligator swimming down the creek! (That's not the norm though as they dont really like salt water). Horseshoe crabs frequent the creek as do dolphins which we saw most days.
Cycles can be hired and should be hired for length of stay for best value. There is a small place to eat, but as there are lots of restraunts just a short walk away it doesn't offer variety or late eating.

The beach is about a mile plus away, but it never got a look in as there was so much to do. The pool is small as far as Disney standards go, but quite big enough. The hot tub was large, big enough for about 12+

Piggly Wiggly supermarket is a short walk away, so no need to buy supplies at the resort.

Interconnecting doors between studio rooms allows bigger families to take 2 studio rooms. But this also means that if a family is next door you in a single studio room get to hear their problems ie. baby waking in the night. This is because the doors and floors aren't sound proofed and the best place to put cots is right against that interconnecting door!

Although a Disney resort, this hotel hasn't got Mickey anywhere except as a topairy in the front of the main reception and on products within the shop area.

Room Tip: Don't ask to be near the pool area as you can hear eveyone even inside the rooms as noise resina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robs-hfds-yorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at Disney's Resort in Hilton Head Island with another couple. To go into the resort area you have to pay a $5 fee. This is due to virtually the whole island being a tourist atraction. This is true, as the island itself is beutiful, with trails everywhere where you can ride a bike or jog around. The Disney resort area is beautiful as well, strategically located close to everything: the marina, trails, kayaking, stores, etc. We were received by their personnel as soon as we stepped off the car. Check-in was courteous and fast. Carts are available at the parking lot by the villas to transport all your luggage. The room are clean, spacious, with a small lcd TV in the bedrooms and a 37 inches in the living room. Kitchen is ok equiped. If you are into fancy cooking, and are planning to do so, bring some extra equipment, or be ready to be creative. We cooked breakfast and dinner just fine. The pool is great, warm and with a great slide. They got music on, aqnd can be anoying if you are not in the mood. They got games like shuffle board, fussball, as well as paid activities like kayaking, fishing, and boating among others. Prices are competitive with the outside. I found biking, going to their beach house, and kayaking -early in the morning - about the best activities. They have a great night life, but of course, all depends on the day of the week and the season. In general, this trip was worth it, I will come back here, definitely!

Room Tip: Avoid first floor if you hate people making noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdnieves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Stayed here the third week of August. Let me break it down like this:

Resort Facilities: Excellent. The fact that the beach house is a mile away helps to disperse the crowd -- this way, the resort never really feels crowded (even though it is always at 100% occupancy during the Summer). The pool at the main resort was great and my kids (8, 6, and 4) had a blast going down the waterslide. The Beach House was also very nice. Some days we drove (if you get there before 11:00, parking shouldn't be a problem) and some days we took the shuttle. The shuttle runs continuously, so we never had to wait more than a few minutes.

Dining: It is true that the resort only offers a counter service option (one at the main resort and one at the Beach House). It is also true that there is no onsite option for dinner (except on special nights -- discussed below). However, the food is actually pretty good -- much better than the typical Disney World quick service. As far as dinner goes, there are five restaurants on the other side of the marina (easy walking distance) and countless others around the island. We highly recommend the Old Oyster Factory and Marleys -- both of which are a short drive from the resort. Also remember that DVC members get a 10% discount at many of the restaurants.

Activities: This is what really separates Disney from any other resort at Hilton Head. If you have children (especially elementary school age), you will appreciate that there is a lot to do besides simply go to the beach/pool. Our kids had a great time making crafts (shark tooth necklace, vacation pillows, etc.), as well as attending the campfire and pirate party. One night a week they also have a pirate barbecue and a shrimp boil. We did not attend either one as we opted to go off-site for dinner.

Rooms: This is where Disney needs to improve. The layout of the rooms are great. We also enjoyed the large balconies (every unit -- even studios -- has a balcony). However, the rooms themselves need some updating. The bed was very uncomfortable, the sheets and linens seemed old and tired, and the bath tub/shower needs to be gutted. Also, as mentioned in other reviews, the walls are very thin.

Conclusion: Expect more Wildneress Lodge/Fort Wilderness than Grand Floridian. If you know what to expect, you will have a great time and make long-lasting memories.

Room Tip: In my opinion, the best locations are the buildings between the pool and the Main Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond, va
Level Contributor
282 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

The property is lovely, the people are nice, the facilities are great, but the ceilings are thin and not soundproof. Every step the people above make we hear. Their kids are obviously jumping around and wake us up all night long. No sleep is an issue with a supposedly relaxing vacation. I will never stay hear again due to this issue and frankly can't wait to leave to actually get some sleep. Never stay on the first floor!

Room Tip: Do t stay on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank susan822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnutport, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We are DVC members and this was our first time staying outside Orlando. My wife and I were looking for a nice relaxing vacation. This was exactly that. The staff was wonderful. Mike the pool guy helped us navigate the island. I am a big kid and loved the slide. The beach house was great because it is private. I really didn't mind the resort was not on the beach. Initially I thought I would. We will definitely be going back and would recommend to anyone looking for a slower pace vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
3.1 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
5.6 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
3.4 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#9 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
1.5 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Property: Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort
Address: 22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3522
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort is located on the picturesque coast of South Carolina, 5 hours from Walt Disney World Resort. This warm home-away-from-home-fashioned after a 1940's hunting and fishing lodge-combines local charm with simple pleasures and outdoor fun for the entire family. The resort features multi-roomed villas and many recreational activities, including 12 miles of heavenly beaches famous for clear blue waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Disney Hilton Head Resort
Disney Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing