We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First class resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

This is our third trip to Disney's Hilton Head Resort and it just gets beeter each trip. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The views will relax and decompress anyone who needs to relax. This is a first class resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of broad creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank QuakerMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    184
    42
    14
    7
See reviews for
524
186
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

We are DVC owners however this trip we stayed with RCI points. We had a two bedroom unit in building #14 which was facing the marsh. It was nice and quiet, away from the pool, however it was next to the maintenance area and a little noisy during the day when we were out on the deck.

The room was great though the TVs were quite small. They also did not offer HBO or premium channels. However we rarely watched TV since we rented bikes for the week and we t kayaking and into Bluffton for the Farmer's Market

We were surprised at the limited activities. However it was actually nice and laid back since there were only adults in our party. There are great areas to relax and free Disney movie rentals nightly available. Also campfires and fishing off the pier were nice activities as was searching for Shadow during our stay.

I'd highly recommend this resort for those who like biking, kayaking, and ocean swimming. There are also many other options available and day trips to Savannah and Charleston are worth the trips.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarrieMI2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Spacious and clean villa in a truly lowcountry atmosphere. Location was great, nearby to restaurants, shopping places and Disney beach house. Activities were also good esp.the golf lesson with a pro. Prices were reasonable- food and activity fees. Best of all, not a lot of Disney characters in the property. Kids loved Shadow, live mascot of Disney HH.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, request to be on second floor and away from pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asparafans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We are DVC members and this is our 4th stay at a Disney property as members and our first to Hilton Head. I was pleasantly surprised that this property is not overly commercialized, and aside from the character bingo you play daily in the hotel lobby, your exposure to all things Disney is surprisingly limited. That being said, this property still maintains the level of service you come to expect from Disney. The staff is always friendly and helpful, and calls for assistance are answered promptly.

We stayed in a two bedroom villa, and we were disappointed that our first room assignment was far from the pool and had a view of a common picnic area. A call to the front desk resolved our issue and were reassigned a room near the pool overlooking the marsh. I would definitely request a marsh view when checking in, and if you have small children who will be using the pool frequently, ask to be placed near the pool.

The layout of the two bedroom villa in Hilton Head is different from other two bedrooms we've stayed at with Disney. The master bath is a jack and jill type with a door opening to the common space. This eliminates a third full bath we've grown accustom to and could have used on this beach vacation as we brought my in-laws with us and had given them the master room. To respect their space we didn't 'share' their bathroom leaving 4 of us to use a standard, though spacious, bathroom in the second bedroom. Doesn't sound like a big deal until you have 6 people needing to shower after a trip to the beach.

The first villa we were assigned was also in much better shape than the villa by the pool. I assume it's less than desirable location means it sees less visitors, but I was still disappointed with the shabbiness of our final room. It was definitely showing it's age and is in need of a refresh.

I thought the beach being separate from the hotel was going to be a big deal, but actually it worked out better for us and I think we spent more time enjoying the beach as a result. The beach house with private parking really made going to the beach hassle free, which is saying a lot when travelling with a 7 and a 4 year old.

The resort had many activities going on. Try to hit the campfire at least once, and sign up early to make the mickey tie-dye t-shirts. The kids had fun making the shirts and were left with a nice souvenir.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with small children, ask to be placed by the pool where all of the activities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StaySee2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcellus, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

When most think of Disney...its exciting. HH Disney is a true southern relaxing vacation with a Disney flair. Nestled among old growth trees, Disney's Island resort has fishing, running and bike trails, classes and activities for kids (Disney inspired of course) places to grill, rock in a chair, lay by a pool, Oh, and the ocean. All to perfection like Disney does best. World class golf, over 300 shops, 175 restaurants. Savannah (my favorite), Charleston and Beaufort within a 30 min drive. I can still smell the campfires and hear the slow southern drawl of our tour guide at the Mercer house. My 17yr old begged us to stay a few more days and Disney managed to add on to our trip without a hitch. This indeed is a place to go to relax, and catch up. A home away from home. Our kids were safe riding alone on the trails at night or to the beach. Teen night and movie night also fun for them. We cooked together, we are very active so we liked having trails and a Marina across the the bridge with shopping and nightly entertainment.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom suites on the sound offer full kitchens and a peaceful serene view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maria1519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, NC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our family spent three nights here for a long weekend to just 'get away'. This Disney resort is perfect for that. It's fairly quiet and never felt crowded. We stayed in a 2 bedroom, loved the space, had everything we needed, including a washer and dryer. There isn't an overload of Disney theming which is fine. The pool was wonderfully heated and the hot tub was large enough for all 8 of us. It sits back off the main road in a lovely treed setting, very tranquil for just relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbtcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Nothing to do has never been this fun. My family and I traveled there for Labor Day weekend, and were not disappointing at all. First let me explain what I didn't want: I didn't want the hustle and bustle of the Orlando parks, nor did I want to be rushed into cramming in 100 activities into a 4 hour day, nor did I want to get raked over the coals for food, snacks and parking. And last but not least I didn't really want to have characters walking by and music playing its a small world after all 24/7 from hidden speakers. Mission accomplished. The Disney Hilton head resort is for families or couples who want to get away from all that, and enjoy a well maintained, clean and comfortable resort with enough activities for the young ones and all nature focused.

We arrived Saturday morning, were greeted and given our "passport", basically check in stuff. Having read up on this resort we opted to bring our own bicycles, and it paid off big time. (They also offer a shuttle to the beach house if biking isn't your thing) With our room not ready we unloaded the bikes and took the 1.5 mile ride to the Disney Beach house. All of it connected by easily marked paved bike trails. You have to show your key at a guard station just to get onto the beach road access, then proceed to the Disney beach house. Great Disney beach house complete with pool, snack bar, bar, and deck overlooking the beach. We rode our bikes and baby trailer onto the sand, while we didn't rent the beach chairs and umbrellas, (we brought out own) they are available. The beach at Hilton Head is fantastic, very tranquil and not crowded at all. We enjoyed the afternoon there, then went to the beach house for a late lunch before returning to our room once it was ready.
We had a studio room, I was concerned about it being too small, but it was very well appointed, and had a queen bed and also a pull out sofabed. The bathroom was large and decorated in a rustic camping style. And of course the TV was on with the Disney resort channel blaring (some things I guess you cant run away from)
My other concern was food. Many posts on here and other blogs complained that there were no options on site. Its sort of true. However, (while there are no dedicated Disney on site restaurants) there are so many dining option on Hilton head, why anyone would expect or want a Disney meal when they can go out and explore is beyond me. All of which are accessible by bike trail or you can drive to them. This resort does have many snack bar options, but for real dinner options they have a few restaurants within a 5 minute walk, or you can drive/bike to the others.

The staff was amazingly nice, people we would bike by would say hello, in all its Disney Lite, and really a place to relax and unwind with the quality that Disney is known for. My son is only 1 so our activities were limited other than the pools and the beach, both of which are quite stunning. But we did get a calendar at check in with the activities for the week, by day and time. If you have a 4-15yr old, then this might be an option for you. They also offer kayaking, dolphin tours etc. But our time was spent mostly at the beach house and the beach.

So if you are expecting an electric parade down main street, this aint for you. However if you just want to unwind, spend some quality time biking around the island, spending time on the beach, and enjoying the hospitality Disney has to offer, without the spectacle of people eating giant turkey legs while walking in an amusement park, then this is for you.

Room Tip: 1215 is a great studio, quiet and close to the exit for access to beach house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cubanito1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
3.1 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
5.7 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
3.3 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#9 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
1.3 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Property: Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort
Address: 22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3522
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort is located on the picturesque coast of South Carolina, 5 hours from Walt Disney World Resort. This warm home-away-from-home-fashioned after a 1940's hunting and fishing lodge-combines local charm with simple pleasures and outdoor fun for the entire family. The resort features multi-roomed villas and many recreational activities, including 12 miles of heavenly beaches famous for clear blue waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Disney Hilton Head Resort
Disney Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing