We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

As always Disney's Hilton Head property was meticulous. The staff cannot do enough for you but are completely unobtrusive. Plenty to do or the best absolutely nothing at all. The views from the island are so peaceful and the beach house and beach area are pristine and very comfortable. Shelter Cove is so convenient for food and shopping for touristy things. New Mall nearby will be a great convenience once it is finished.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both 2222 and 2722 - both 2 bedroom rooms with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvNC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    184
    42
    14
    7
See reviews for
524
186
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We are big Disney fans and DVC members, but this was our first trip to Hilton Head. The theme of the resort (1940s hunting/fishing lodge) is well done, but not necessarily our "cup of tea". Still, the resort was picturesque and relaxing, the rooms very clean (probably the cleanest of all Disney rooms we've ever stayed in), and the staff very nice and helpful (as you would expect from Disney). As other reviewers have said, other than a couple of touches here and there you would not know this is a Disney resort, which could be good or bad depending on your perspective.

PROS:
* Spacious rooms (we had a two bedroom in building 29 - view of marsh and Broad Creek)
* Own private island which gives feeling of seclusion and nice views all around.
* Shelter Cove Marina short walk with shops, entertainment and restaurants.
* Friendly, helpful cast members.
* Activities and tours available. We did a kayaking tour and found it reasonably priced at $30/person (10% discount for DVC members available) for about a 2 hour excursion.
* Disney Beach House with private (not sure if it's only for Disney, but it wasn't crowded) beach. Beach is about 1 1/2 miles away. Shuttle service offered, but we drove and had no trouble parking.
* Quick serve restaurant at Beach House had great lunch.
* WiFi (free) worked great.

CONS
* Pool at resort small for a place with this many rooms.
* Pool at beach house small, but that's more understandable than the only slightly larger one at the resort.
* No sit down restaurant (which may actually be a good thing because it forces you to get out and see more of Hilton Head.

Easy five stars if pool was larger . . . something like what they have at Old Key West or Saratoga, or even Vero Beach. (Admittedly, there isn't as much space for Disney in HHI, but they could've figured out a way to make pool bigger).

We would go back without a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jamie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a terrific place to stay. The weather was not so good, but we had two heated pools for the kids to play in, the water slides, and all the other activities. Our 2 BR/2 bath unit was huge. Kids were on the opposite side of our king size suite, so plenty of privacy. They had their own large bathroom. We had a marsh view, but also enjoyed the use of the beach club. This was our first experience with the Disney experience, and now I'm sold. I never had to worry about anything in the condo being dirty. Everything was top notch. Also, they are currently renovating, so the place was even prettier than the pictures. How often does that happen! It was really a terrific experience and we had lots of family time.

Room Tip: marsh side units have the best views. Avoid the pool area if you wish to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank atlaufan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
150 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our family travels to Hilton Head 1-2 times every year and we always stay at Disney's Hilton Head Resort, We are DVC members and have always enjoyed it here. This trip, the newly finished refurbed rooms are WONDEFUL. New, lighter color schemes make the rooms seem brighter and bigger. We are always Welcomed Home by great staff and ALWAYS enjoy our stay. Lots to see and do, even if you stayed at the resort. We love the beach house across the street with access to the ocean. No complaints, we return year after year and will always do so. Simply love it. Staff is super nice - the housekeepers (housekeeping) were super sweet this time - we love them and appreciate all they do. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa_October
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We just came back from a 1 week stay here (as non DVC members) and simply loved the experience. We stayed in a one bedroom villa which was perfect for our family ( a 2 1/2 year old and 8 month old). We enjoyed our courtyard view among idyllic trees and hammocks and were close to the pool and little park. The bike ride to the beach was about a 1 and 1/2 miles but completely doable, even with two little ones (although tiring for mom and dad near the end of the week). They do have shuttle service back and forth from 10-5 (every half an hour) but you could drive as well. Get to the beach early to experience the tide pools and sandbar. The "restaurants" sold average and high priced fare, but that is expected at any hotel you go to. You can borrow DVD's from their gift shop for two nights, which comes in handy when the kids need down time. We were a little worried that somehow as non-DVC members we would receive a different experience but this was truly not the case. Sure members get a few price perks here or there but nothing that affected us greatly. My only criticism is that there could have been a few more toddler friendly features around the pool areas, but ours still had fun. Also, skip the featured dinner of the week (ours was the low country boil--very average food) and head to A Low Country Backyard for amazing southern cooking for about the same price( and you get a10% discount if you show your room card). Oh and bring your own pillow if you can, I disliked the down pillows where one wasn't enough but two was too much! Lastly, the employees here were truly the nicest we've ever encountered on a trip. EVERYONE was friendly, seemed happy to be there and would often chat for just a second with us before being on their way. This makes a huge difference in the overall atmosphere of vacation and I applaud Disney for creating a sense of family among its employees that overflows to the guests. Overall would definitely head back here on another trip to Hilton Head!

Room Tip: There are units that face the cove so be sure to ask for those if you would like that view. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MidwestGirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful place, fun activities, loved biking to the beach everyday. Goofy bingo was fun for all. We did the campfire a couple nights and that was fun albeit long lines to get s'mores. By the time we got through the line the marshmellow was cold. Oh well.
We also did the low country boil and the food and entertainment were great. Totally recommend this place!!!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Rooms were spacious, not unlike the DVC Old Key West villas, and we really enjoyed the amenitites. Pool and poolside activities were great for the kids, and the beachhouse was great, too; we found it easier to just hop in our own car and drive across to the beach. Several of the room views were of courtyard areas, so limited privacy, and somewhat buggy in the Spring--I suppose that's what we get for the great foliage--just be sure to bring some bug wipes if you plan on evening strolls or the outdoor movie nights! Unlike some other reviews, we did have free wifi. And, while there is no restaurant on site, Tide me Over has some excellent and very tasty options!! Resort was very well kept, and staff was friendly. We enjoyed our stay and will absolutely return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crnflake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
3.1 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
5.7 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
3.3 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#9 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
1.3 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Property: Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort
Address: 22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3522
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort is located on the picturesque coast of South Carolina, 5 hours from Walt Disney World Resort. This warm home-away-from-home-fashioned after a 1940's hunting and fishing lodge-combines local charm with simple pleasures and outdoor fun for the entire family. The resort features multi-roomed villas and many recreational activities, including 12 miles of heavenly beaches famous for clear blue waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Disney Hilton Head Resort
Disney Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing