We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely bring the kids!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Not only were we new to the Disney Vacation Club, we had never been to Hilton Head Island. In all honesty, we were not impressed with HHI, as it is more tourist driven than we like when we vacation, especially when it's just the two of us relaxing as a couple. I had read many reviews on this particular resort and was prepared for lots of kids, which I would expect from all things Disney; we just hoped that the area didn't seem so much like an upscale version of Myrtle Beach. This has no bearing on my review and I understand why Disney would want to bring a resort to this area.
We stayed in a deluxe studio, knowing we would not need much space and that we would be eating out. Prior to check-in we were asked if we wanted a marsh view or an island view. If you just look at the picture provided on the website, you only see the marsh view and did not see the true arrangements of the buildings. Unless you don't care about sharing a common area when you sit out on your deck, request the marsh view. When we arrived, we buzzed the front desk so we could get through the gate and were greeted at the top of the steps by a welcoming cast member. We were provided our room key and plenty of planning materials. Our first floor room was clean, but overlooked a common area, which we would have preferred not having. The walls are relatively this and you can hear people above you walking around; at one point, someone above us was bouncing a ball. The bed was comfortable for sleeping, but they left a blanket between the sheet and the bed cover that made us quite hot, even with the AC cranked up. We were provided with plastic cutlery, paper plates and bowls, glasses, and ceramic mugs, which was all we needed since we were not fixing meals in our room. The bathroom had a pedestal sink with a small shelf above it, and a small cabinet over the commode held the majority of our toiletries. If you're bringing lots of grooming products, you're staying in the wrong setting. This particular resort is certainly set up as a hunting/fishing lodge and everything about it screams of the outdoors...a perfect place to kick back and unwind. We had a small deck with a round table and four benches that fit underneath, as well as two wonderful rocking chairs that we used every night. Even though we were on the commons area, it was mostly quiet in the evenings, which we appreciated.
Only being there for a long weekend, we wanted to take in as much as we could. We jogged to the beach and back along the bike trail close to the resort. This was safe off the roadway, but we were uncertain where we were going as we got closer to the beach and had to ask a passing runner if we were going in the right direction. What was supposed to have been 3 miles there and back ended up being closer to 5. After returning to the resort, we decided to go to the beach and took the shuttle to the Beach House. The area seemed clean and there was plenty of room for everyone at the pool and side areas. The shuttle drivers to and from were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and interacted with us during the trips. At this point in the trip, we thought we probably would not come back because we didn't find the area to be all that special. That changed upon our return to the resort.
Upon our arrival, we were told of "Shadow," the resort's dog. Having a dog of my own (and missing her terribly), we stopped at the main lodge, knowing that Shadow was supposed to be making an appearance. That's when the magic began for us. The dog is not trained to perform tricks, she just lays there and takes in all the love and affection a Golden Retriever can from kids and kids at heart. While she's hanging out, a man interacts with guests and plays either a fiddle or ukele/banjo and singing songs. It's not that it's "spectacular," but it's one of those Disney touches that makes the experience special. The kid in me wanted to just sit down cross-legged and listen to the stories and guess which songs he was playing and what movies they were from.
The resort itself only has quick meals, but you can go across the marina and there is a wide variety of restaurants to choose from. It was kind of nice that all things Disney and kid-related were on one side of the resort, where more adult experiences (shopping and finer dining) were on the other. It was easy to navigate around the area and we had no problem getting to Harbourtown/South Beach or Savannah. One piece of advice I would give to anyone traveling anywhere: if you know of an area you want to visit, go to MapQuest and put the information in, print the map, and bring it with you; know where you're going before you get there.
Though we did not go on any excursions, we did walk the entire property, which is not horribly spread out. If you have kids, you should expect to get up and walk around anyway. We utilized the pool and hot tub, sat under an old oak tree in Adirondack chairs during sunset, and watched people fish and crab off the pier. We saw and heard birds we had only read about and truly appreciated the lengths to which Disney clearly wanted to maintain the wildlife and surroundings. By the time we departed, we had decided we would bring out our 12 year old during his school spring break next year. We're already perusing the information they provided us so we can plan for excursions at the resort and surrounding areas!

Room Tip: Absolutely request the marsh view if you want more privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jnb7283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (971)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 971 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We recently completed our 2nd stay this resort in May 2014. We stayed in a 1 Bedroom Villa in the main building (the only building with an elevator). Traveling was myself, my wife and our 2 1/2 year old son. The resort is quiet and well located, even if not on the ocean. The staff was very friendly and the updated rooms were very well appointed. This will likely be our regular resort for our trips to Hilton Head.

Pros:
Very friendly staff at every level we encountered - Pool, gift shop, Recreation, Front Desk, etc.
Quiet surroundings.
Private resort property and guest only Beach House.

Cons:
Price (but it is Disney after all)
Apparently thin ceilings allow of noise from guests above (considered dropping to a 4 for this alone)

Room Recommendations: Top Floor in the Main Building. Top floor will help with noise and main building will allow for use of an elevator and for limited garage parking out of the heat.

Room Tip: Main Building and Top Floor (see review)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelingcheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We have been DVC members for 8 years & have taken numerous trips to the Orlando resorts. This was our first HHI visit. It took a short time to get acclimated to the relaxed pace but once we did we fell in love with the resort & the island! Our 3 kids (8,9,10) loved it as well and cannot wait to return. It was such a great trip to connect as a family with plenty low key family fun games around the resort. We rode bikes along the trails almost every day. Kids loved the pools. Shuttle service was wonderful. My son cried when we had to leave. We love Disney and once again they gave us a magical week. The resort is simply beautiful with trees and hammocks everywhere. Staff is very friendly and rooms were very clean. We had the excitement of going somewhere new with the security of Disney to travel with. We will return each year I'm sure!

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank Jennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Five ladies staying in a two bedroom suite and we had plenty of room. Lots of room to sleep, sit, eat and just laze around. The grounds were peaceful and the hammocks were nap-inducing. You could walk out to the marsh and see birds and walk along the pier. We took a shuttle to Disney's private beach area which was very nice. The shuttles were prompt and convenient and the beach was fabulous. Lots of amenities at the beach including a swimming pool, bar and cafe. Our only teeny tiny complaint was that the music at the hotel pool was too loud. But I suppose it was because we're too old or something! A lovely place and a good deal when you've got lots of people sharing a room!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingMonkeyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We have been coming to visit HHI every summer for 14 years. My husband grew up going to HHI during the summers. We have stayed at different places throughout the years and nothing beats staying at Disney! From the exceptional customer care to the newly remodeled villas to the activities for kids- ie: Mickey Tie dye shirts, campfires, movies outside by the oak tree, the pools, pier, hammocks, outdoor games such as corn hole and horseshoes, basketball & the beach club with second pool. We always have the best time at Disney! We just returned from a week there and it was amazing- best time ever! Kids loved it& there was always something to do. Disney-welcome home! :) We were sad to leave but had access all day at the beach club- are lunch, went to he beach, played volleyball in the pool, showered in their awesome bathrooms, packed up & went home smelling like their H2O+ Grapefruit Bergamot shampoo & shower gel line. :) Best time ever!! We will be back next year! Thank you, Disney!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SCmommy255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel was good, however a little pricey for the quality of the rooms. One of the great aspects though is the shuttle service to their private beach and clubhouse with pool. This service made up for the just decent location and room.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TreyForVols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

As always Disney's Hilton Head property was meticulous. The staff cannot do enough for you but are completely unobtrusive. Plenty to do or the best absolutely nothing at all. The views from the island are so peaceful and the beach house and beach area are pristine and very comfortable. Shelter Cove is so convenient for food and shopping for touristy things. New Mall nearby will be a great convenience once it is finished.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both 2222 and 2722 - both 2 bedroom rooms with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuvNC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
3.1 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
5.6 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
3.5 mi away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
795 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
1.5 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Address: 22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3522
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: £100 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort is located on the picturesque coast of South Carolina, 5 hours from Walt Disney World Resort. This warm home-away-from-home-fashioned after a 1940's hunting and fishing lodge-combines local charm with simple pleasures and outdoor fun for the entire family. The resort features multi-roomed villas and many recreational activities, including 12 miles of heavenly beaches famous for clear blue waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Disney Hilton Head Resort
Disney Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing