We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This trip changed our lives!”
Review of Hilton Head Health

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hilton Head Health
A TripAdvisor Member
“This trip changed our lives!”
Reviewed 13 December 2005

What a delightful setting to get professional help with our health problems! I was a little nervous that we wouldn't be able to keep up with the program. The staff made exercise so fun that I did more than I planned to do. The meals were so good, I did not realize I was eating fewer calories! It was a total treat to not have to go anywhere else for anything for a whole week! We swam, and biked, and laughed, and learned a lot. We each have dropped two sizes, and plan to go back for more information to continue our new lifestyles. I have to laugh at how much I didn't want to learn to live healthier...and how much I like it now! My doctor is pleased with my blood pressure and blood sugar changes. We love the compliments we get regularly! Rose

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    18
    4
    3
    8
See reviews for
12
20
90
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 November 2005

The administrative staffs are uncaring, rigid and unaccommodating. If you have any food allergies, mold allergies or any kind of emergencies the staff will NOT work with you. I was encouraged to leave and told since I already paid for everything there will be NO refund and I am out of luck. Another person left because of a death in the family and was told there will be no credit or refunds, “PERIOD” !!!! For the amount of money and investment you make in yourself, you can go elsewhere where they know what customer service means.

Further, the room accommodations were awful. The bed sheet smelled like perfume when I checked in as if the sheet were not changed. There were cobwebs across the ceiling and the bugs were out in full force and I was bitten while I was sleeping. The room was moldy, dusty and the carpeting was full of stains, which showed how unclean the whole room was.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
33 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSMoore, President & CEO at Hilton Head Health, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
I’m sorry to hear you had an unpleasant experience during your visit. Since 2005, we have made several changes to our team, accommodations and facility, as well as our program and policies. I can assure you that we now accommodate most food allergies. We have also made revisions to our policies for early departures and cancellations. In addition, we’ve made several improvements to our accommodations. We continue to work diligently to ensure our housing consistently matches the excellence of our program. We value our guests and strive to give them the best experience and customer service possible. Again, I apologize for these issues and can assure you they’ve been eradicated. I encourage you to visit us again and experience the new H3!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 June 2005

H3I has made a tremendous impact on my life, and my approach to health! I've been there twice in the past year (Nov. 2004 and April 2005) and will be going back in October this year. I've lost 30 pounds--slowly but surely--but more importantly, found a new outlook on health and fitness. It's not luxurious--so if you're looking for pampering and luxury, you should look elsewhere. But if you're serious about your health and fitness, want to spend quality time with others who are looking for the same, and want to really make a difference in your life, this is the place for you. Thanks, H3I.

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 May 2005

I went to HHH Institute for two weeks. It was the best vacation for a fun and healthy lifestyle change. The accommodations, food, schedules, staff and others participants helped me to accomplished a 360 degrees healthy lifestyle change. The next level fitness week provides all the elements necessary to help you realize that the importance of loosing weight is being healthy. Is important to bring with you a positive attitude to feel the change and Have Fun in the process.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2005

I chose HHHI last year with some reservations. What a wonderful surprise! It was one of the best "vacations" I've ever had. It's certainly not your typical spa. The emphasis is on starting and maintaining a healthy lifestyle. The staff is extremely friendly and willing to help in any way they can. No, you don't get pampered and waited on hand and foot. You do get plenty of support, information, and exercise. I came home totally relaxed and feeling great about myself. My next visit starts this week, and I plan on returning as often as possible.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank margaret h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 January 2005

I chose HHHI for a “healthy” vacation, but with some trepidation. The jam-packed schedule got me worried, “Is this a vacation or boot camp?” But, it was wonderful! I learned something valuable in every workshop and exercise class. The atmosphere was friendly and non-competitive, and the staff (experts in wellness/fitness) were particularly knowledgeable and supportive. If I'd spent a week in Puerto Rico, I wouldn’t be healthier today, and any relaxed feelings would have faded long ago. It's more than a month since I returned, and I still feel rejuvenated and have great memories of HHHI and the people I met.

Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 October 2004

Hilton Head Health Institute is a superb health spa. It is not luxurious and you will not be waited on. It is a comfortable, homey, relaxed atmosphere, perfectly suited to its stated purpose which is weight loss, exercise, stress reduction, and healthy lifelstyle improvements.
Th heart of this spa is it's knowledgeable, enthusiastic, well trained staff. They are affable,caring and sensitive to their client's needs. They provided us with "upto the minute" research on nutrition, and exercise.
I stayed at Hilton Head Health Institute last spring for 2 weeks. It was the most rewarding 2 weeks of my adult life.

Helpful?
23 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
1.0 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
255 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
1.0 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
1.7 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Head Health? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Head Health

Property: Hilton Head Health
Address: 14 Valencia Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Head Health 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating 40 years as one of America's premier weight loss and health resorts, Hilton Head Health (H3) prides itself on delivering an exceptional experience in fitness, nutrition and behavior modification through personal and interactive sessions designed for the individual who is ready to embrace a lifestyle change. The experience at H3 provides the structure, as well as the flexibility, needed to help the individual achieve all of their personal health goals. This description is based on information provided by the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hilton Head Health reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Head Health Hotel Hilton Head
Hotel Hilton Head
Spa Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing