We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Head Island In February”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

At the time of our stay
the hotel was under going renovation. The reservation lobby was being used as the temporary restaurant and food was only served during breakfast and dinner hours. There were limited snacks and drinks available in the makeshift lobby. For the most part the room was clean and had modern décor. The hotel is on the south end of the island and access to the beach was great. This reservation was booked by someone other than myself and we probably would not have stayed there while the renovation was in process.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steffie075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Hello,
It’s great to hear that you loved our location; we couldn’t agree more! We’re very sorry for the inconveniences you encountered due to our past renovations. You’ll be happy to know that the renovations you spoke of are now completed, and we’re very excited with the results. We’d love to see you back; we’re sure the results will win you over!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,458 - 1,464 of 1,859 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

I booked a room at the Holiday Inn Beach House for my family in hopes of a relaxing vacation. We checked Trip Advisor which showed mostly positive reviews. When we arrived, we found the property to be quite out-dated. We settled and checked out our ocean front room with a standing balcony. It appeared that all the ocean front rooms are directly above the Tiki bar and live band, which we were told played live music from noon to 10p.

We decided to visit the pool area which was directly adjacent to the Tiki bar and band. We found the band to be extremely loud and made it impossible to enjoy our surroundings. The bar seemed to attract visitors bringing intoxication. They also had pool staff which questioned individuals to ensure they were paying guests. I understand the need to restrict the pool area to paying guests, however, the constant patrols took away from our enjoyment.

While getting ready for dinner on our first evening, my young son and myself were looking out from our standing balcony. I observed a band member encourage a passing female to expose herself. I notified management immediately who stated they would speak to the band member. I woke early the next morning with an uneasy feeling about my decision to bring my family here. We made the decision to relocate and checked out after our first of five nights.

I was later contacted by management who assured me the band's behavior was not typical and invited us back. Management also agreed to reimburse us for our first night at this location, which displays their willingness to make things right and make their guests happy. Their compensation was greatly appreciated, however, at this time, their property does not create an environment I wish to bring my family. The property is in need of many updates and if you are looking for a relaxing, peaceful stay, this location may not be for you. Feel free to message should you have additional questions.

Room Tip: Ocean front is usually nice, but right behind the bar/band at this location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VACATIONMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi VACATIONMC,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We’re very sorry to hear that your stay was not as enjoyable as you were hoping for. We’ll take all your thoughts, including your comments regarding our décor, pool staff and music volume, into careful consideration. We’re very sorry for the uncomfortable situation with the band member in front of your young son and we will look into it right away. If you feel the need to discuss this further, please contact us personally at jeff.elseser@thebeachhousehhi.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have used this hotel several times during HHI vacations. The location is fantastic. The beach is great and their are plenty of restaurant options and shops within walking distance. The hotel has made many updates lately. The rooms were very clean, the pool and beach areas are well supervised and clean. The new restaurant on site is actually very good. We loved the new fire pit that has been installed. We would go back for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi Chris B,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It sounds like you loved the location, and found our newest updates to suit your needs. We agree the beach is wonderful, as well as all of the close shopping and restaurants. We’re very happy to hear that your room was clean, as well as the surrounding areas. We can’t wait for you to come back and vacation with us once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The great:
1) Rooms were clean and unusually quiet (noise wise) especially since it was extremely busy! (Either sound proofed or very polite guests...lol)
2) Location...steps from the beach and right across the street from a shopping center that has everything! Shops, restaurants, grocery store...etc
3) The Porch Restaurant (on-site): Great and unique food and drinks...and reasonably priced.
4) Service: Excellent all the way around.
5) Looked like a fun bar and music area for partying! We had our kids so we didn't take advantage of this one!
6) Hotel general décor is very nice and well done.

The "not so" great:
1) Located right beside a very busy public beach access. Very, very, very crowded beach area. If you are looking for "peace and quiet" beside the surf...this won't work for you.
2) For some reason, servers were confused about the kids pricing for meals and the buffet at breakfast. We got a different story and price each and every time we went. We were charged $7.99 for each kids meal the first breakfast, the next time it was $4.99 and the next time it was free if the servers got the menu item off the buffet for you. This was very frustrating and confusing. Make sure to get clarification on this one. Huge price difference over time. To the resort-please clarify this on your menu.
3) For some reason, groups kept trying to smoke around the pool even though signs were posted everywhere. The staff was great about taking care of that when they saw it...
4) Chairs go early..some folks leave towels in there chairs and disappear. Go early for chairs! And if you are thinking about renting them on the beach, it is $32 for the day and $20 after that! Go to the local CVS or Walgreen's on that one...
5) They did have some basic activities, but this is really more of a hotel then a resort.
6) The room AC units are quite loud...but it didn't really bother us.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms overlooking the outdoor bar area....loud bands and dj! I always ask to be located aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejbtampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi ejbtampa,
Thank you for choosing to enjoy our hotel with your family; it sounds like you found what you were hoping for. We’re glad your room was quiet and clean and that you enjoyed the location, restaurant and service. Thank you for complimenting us on our choice of décor. We are very sorry to hear that the servers seemed confused about the kid’s meal prices. Thank you for the feedback, we will it into careful consideration. We also apologize that the A/C was a bit loud for your liking. We hope to see you and your family again when you next visit Hilton Head Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had an amazing time at this hotel! We had never been to Hilton Head before and The Beach House was surprisingly luxurious and affordable! Room was clean, fresh and modern. Pool and tiki bar very fun. The staff was very helpful and friendly, especially "Miss Candace" at the front desk--the other girl at the desk was actually singing as she helped people! Manager Mr. Rain Grey very accommodating too--Whole culture of happiness in this place! Highly recommend!
Marty & Kristen
Toledo, OH

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi Marty and Kristen,
It sounds like you had a great time at our amazing hotel. We’re glad you found it luxurious and affordable all at the same time. We’re happy to hear that your room was so clean, and that you enjoyed the pool and the Tiki Bar. We always love hearing that our staff served our guest’s so well; we will make sure to let Candance and Grey know that you were appreciative. We hope to see you again soon for another visit to our “happy place”!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stopped at the Beach House for an overnight stay on our way to Florida and ended up staying two nights. The restaurant (they spun the hits on vinyl! Stayin' Alive!) was an unexpected pleasure and we thoroughly enjoyed the Porch Southern Kitchen....especially the Backyard Buger and and Beer Can Chicken. It's just southern enough to be casual and fun, without too "themey." It's purely authentic! We enjoyed it so much we stayed an extra night and were helped by one friendly staff member after another -- Marina, Brookly, Endia? We will be back and are bringing our four kids with us. It's just that kind of place.

Room Tip: You'll need more than one night!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi Chris V,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We’re glad you enjoyed how unique and authentic our cuisine is. We can’t wait for you to return with your children, and we will be sure to let Marina, Brookly, and Endia know that you appreciated them. We always love hearing how friendly our staff members are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

At first I was kind of skeptical at spending my vacation at the beach house because of some bad reviews...but when I got there I was wondering if it was the same resort reviews were written on. I had a good time at the beach and enjoyed the clean. The housekeeping staff was exceptional...especially a particular staff member Eula. I enjoyed my stay..and I look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We’re glad to hear that you had a good time, and it sounds like you really enjoyed the beach. We’re thrilled that you found the housekeeping staff exceptional, and we’ll be sure to pass your high praise along to Eula. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
333 reviews
6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
900 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
871 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort

Address: 1 South Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6423 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Beach House)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: £75 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In April 2016, Beach House Resort completed $7 million in floor-to-ceiling guest room renovations. The new Premium Oceanfront Guestrooms offer front row seats to live music at Tiki Hut - and the new Premium Patio guestrooms are steps from the sand. The newly renovated Junior Suites offer plenty of space, ocean views, and space for up to five guests. With more than 50 miles of scenic trails at its doorstep, the resort's newly designed interior emphasizes Hilton Head Island's stunning coastline - with an airy, coastal beach vibe. And there's more... Highlights: • The 202-room renovation has transformed Beach House into a truly boutique, oceanfront resort on Hilton Head Island. • Beach House is home to the world-famous Tiki Hut, the only toes in the sand, drinks in hand experience on Hilton Head Island-here you'll enjoy live music daily, watch the pros play volleyball, and sip cocktails crafted by one of the Island's favorite bartenders. • Start and end your day at The Porch Southern Kitchen, serving up Low Country favorites all day long, complete with outdoor seating, an oversized fire pit, late night live music, and dive-in movies. • The sparkling Resort pool, located steps from Coligny Beach, is a perfect place to soak up the sun. • Beach House is just down the sand from Beach Market shops and restaurants ... and across the street from Coligny Plaza's 60 shops and restaurants - all connected by walking paths. • The renovations extend beyond the guestrooms - over 6,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space has been upgraded to reflect the genuine beach vibe, including two of the finest private, beachfront event venues on the Island. The Resort can accommodate groups up to 300 people for events, weddings and retreats. What hasn't changed? The sounds of the ocean waves. Hundreds of yards of unspoiled beachfront. The perfect location across from Coligny Plaza. Onsite dining and live entertainment at The Porch and Tiki Hut. And everything you've come to love about Beach House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanfront Hotel Hilton Head
Holiday Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Head Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing