We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Do not stay here”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We visited in June, 2014, including two adults and two young children (1 and 4 years old). We spent four nights over a weekend in a first-floor room (one king, one bunk bed).

We travel a lot for work and vacation (as a family). Both of us are members of the IHG Rewards Club frequent guest program.

This is our third time at the hotel in the past 15 years as guests (in addition to visiting the Tiki Bar on other occasions), so we have some context.

First, the Good:
- Location is top-notch (Coligny Beach)
- Pool and beach access are great
- Various restaurants/food options (variety, not quality)
- Unique bunk bed "kids suite"
- Large outdoor patio
- Bike rentals on-property
- Bed and pillows were comfortable
- Very fast Internet (best quality/speed I've had in over 200 US/CA hotels over the past 5 years)

Now, the Bad (why we would pass)
- Hotel is in disrepair (see photos)
- Security - very scary clientele, especially 7p-10p (one guy begged for money outside our room; another gang member-looking duo asked us how much we paid for our room)
- Service is absolutely terrible. Housekeeping was slow, late (>4pm), incompetent (half-finished room), and didn't even make up our room two nights
- Door handle fell off
- General upkeep of the property - chipped door paint, old rundown carpeting, clogged sinks/toilets/showers (as others have echoed)
- Loud in-wall air conditioner (as others have echoed)
- Very loud Tiki Bar music - they sounded like they were in our room
- Food at the restaurants was flavorless, expensive and generally terrible (peach cobbler was the closest to "okay", but was "unavailable" one night for no reason)
- Crib was ripped and dirty

There are things that they CAN fix - notably all of the people/service-related issues. They can't control who visits the hotel, bars, beach, etc. - but they can "de-incentivize" lowlife scum from visiting.

They were completely unapologetic. We were promised a call from someone to follow up - that hasn't happened. It all adds up - this place is a dump, the service is terrible, and the people don't care.

Room Tip: Stay off of the first floor and away from the Tiki Bar if you want good sleep. Otherwise avoid this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Josh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hi Josh,
It’s nice to hear from a repeat guest. Thanks for the kudos in several areas such as our location, pool, beach, suite, bedding and Internet! We’re sorry to hear you were less than pleased with general upkeep and had some issues with our staff (among the other items you noted). We’d hate to lose a loyal guest and would like to speak to you. Will you email us at jeff.elseser@thebeachhousehhi.com?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    476
    219
    127
    93
See reviews for
584
624
49
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Riding, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights as a family of 4 (including 4 & 6 yr old boys). We got lucky and were assigned a 2 double bed room on the 3rd floor on the north/east side of the building. Had a view of the ocean and pool area. Our a/c was loud and not working properly but didn't complain b/c we didn't want to lose our view. Loud a/c also helped to drown out music from the Tiki Hut. My children never had a problem sleeping. Beds are comfortable. Carpeting is old. Front desk staff was helpful and friendly. Not overly impressed with menu selection, quality, & price of on site restaurant. Quality of food did not equal its cost. We ordered lunch one day from poolside hut and it took 30 mins to get 3 hot dogs and 1 grilled cheese (total cost of this meal incl 1 soda & FF was approx $40). Proximity to beach and shopping/restaurants across street make this an ideal location.

Room Tip: Rooms on north/east side of bldg upper floor will give you a partial beach/pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hello Monica,
We’re thrilled you loved our location; it always keeps us smiling! It sounds like you and your family enjoyed some great beach and pool time fun! We apologize that the A/C in your room was not working properly and that you felt the carpet was worn. Thank you for all your feedback, including your thoughts on our food services. We’re committed to making our hotel better than ever, and your feedback is a valuable part of that goal. We hope to see you again in the future; we’d love the opportunity to wow you with our ongoing efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We spent just one night in early May - on our way from Asheville to Savannah - and wanted to check out the area. Beach was very nice - crowded! Can't imagine how it is after Memorial Day! Hote was nice, room was clean, Everyone there was helpful and nice. We had a patio room - near the tiki bar - but it was great. Could sit outside and enjoy the music and nice weather. Could not see the ocean from the room, but it was ok. Would stay there again if I ever go back to Hilton Head.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moontatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello Moontatt,
It sounds like you truly enjoyed your short stay on our beautiful island, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. We’re happy to hear that our cleanliness, location and live music all added to your time with us. We can’t wait to see you again for some more relaxation on Hilton Head Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I have stayed here several times and love the location. You can walk to Coligny Plaza,
They also have the best pool in Hilton Head.
The reason I rate this hotel with only three stars is the front desk staff. They don't seem
to care about the guests request. On one of the occasions I stayed here my room was located in front of the drink machines and elevator. I asked to be moved and they sent me to a room that was dirty:( Needless to day I went back to the noisy room:( They didn't seem to care.
The restaurant and bar staff are friendly and efficient, it is only the front desk that I have had a problem with.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leannepit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello,
We love our location too; it always keeps us smiling! Thank you for your loyalty and great praise of our restaurant and bar staff. We’re very sorry to hear that our reception staff didn’t offer you excellent service. We strive to offer every guest a fantastic experience during their full stay, and your feedback helps us know what we need to focus on, thank you. We hope to see you again when you next visit Hilton Head Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My daughter and her fiancé' held their wedding there this past Saturday. We had booked a block of rooms, with some people arriving earlier in the week and some later. Upon early arrival, there was a small miscommunication about the rooms, but Jamese and Brooklyn immediately rectified the situation, which worked out well for those of us early arrivers and even for some of those who arrived later in the week! The wedding itself had been planned for both an outdoor ceremony and outdoor reception. On the day of the wedding, the weather decided to be unpredictable, as well as blazing hot with matching humidity. Based on the DJ's input at the last minute (90 minutes before the ceremony), the reception was moved from outdoors to indoors. Margaret and her event staff swiftly got the reception decorations and furniture moved indoors, and had it all arranged before the ceremony ended. The food was some of the best food we'd had at a wedding reception, and several of our guests echoed that sentiment! The beer can chicken, butternut squash and succotash were scrumptious, and all compliments go to the Chef and his kitchen staff! The reception wait staff was also amazing, and handled the change in set-up, meal and clean-up with the utmost professionalism. Particular kudos go to Willy, the event barman/event clean-up MASTER! He took the time to gather all of our provided decorations in one area, with the gifts and had security check on them throughout the night. In the morning, he found us to let us know it was ready for us to take away, and even helped pack the boxes and the truck! To make this part of the process easier, a young man on the Sunday breakfast wait staff in the Porch (from Hungary) brought us a carafe of coffee, condiments and cups to the Sky room, which was a true blessing after a short night of sleep and much celebration! After the event, some of our guests left various items in their rooms and remembered them after they had checked out. As we were the last to check-out, we worked again with Brooklyn, and Candace, to get the items from housekeeping, as well as ensure items were properly labeled and cared for so the guests still in the local area could come retrieve them from the front desk. Once we arrived home, we noticed a minor discrepancy in charges from the event, but India, Marina and Margaret collaborated to resolve the matter with no further issue, and continued to follow-up even after the matter had been resolved. No event ever goes perfectly, but the event, hotel and kitchen staff at The Beach House made sure any issue, no matter how it came up or what size it was, got resolved to the bride and groom's satisfaction! Lastly, this entire event was made possible by the tremendous planning efforts of Margaret and her predecessor Tricia. We realize they have people who work with them to make this all happen, and huge thanks to any who had a part in this past weekend. But Margaret took over from Tricia and kept it all on track, and they, as well as all others mentioned in this review, are an asset to this hotel, and to the Holiday Inn Corporation. If I were their manager, I would benchmark their work ethic/habits and use them as standards to train to. I would also reward their efforts in a manner befitting those who go above and beyond.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the beach and Tiki Hut are quieter, so anything ending in the 30-40 range. (440, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 77Sunshine2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello,
Congratulations on your daughter’s wedding. We’re truly honored to have been a part of her special and momentous day. All your praise is much appreciated. Our amazing team works very hard and with great dedication to make each wedding a success. We know your appreciation will make their day when we pass along your compliments. It sounds like the wedding was not only a happy event, but also lots of fun- isn’t that what weddings are all about?! Our chef will be thrilled to know his cuisine was thoroughly enjoyed, thank you. We hope to see you again for more beach time memories; some relaxing time for the parents of the bride is well earned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
157 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed there on way to orlando from DC.
Great family hotel. Right on beach and has great bars on beach. Bike hire available on site, best way to see island. Room ok. Food is good, but great resturants available nearby.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello Peter,
It sounds like you enjoyed a great road trip, and we’re happy to have been a fun stop along your way! We’re thrilled you loved our fun location, bike rentals and beautiful island. We hope to see you again when you next visit Hilton Head Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

OMG! This is my new vacation spot. I came here for my honeymoon after I eloped and did not want to leave. The atmosphere was stunning and the service was great! Eula kept my room sparkling and Chris appeared everytime I needed something. I almost wanted to take them both home to continue that "vacation" feeling. Will definitely recommend to anyone looking for a get away!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hello,
Congratulations on your recent marriage! Thank you for the fantastic 5 star rating and excellent review; you’ve made our day! Your praise of Eula and Chris is much appreciated; we know it’ll make them smile when we pass your kind words onto them. Your recommendation is the highest compliment you can give us, and we can’t wait to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
799 reviews
2.3 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort

Property: Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
Address: 1 South Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6423 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Beach House)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In April 2016, Beach House Resort completed $7 million in floor-to-ceiling guest room renovations. The new Premium Oceanfront Guestrooms offer front row seats to live music at Tiki Hut - and the new Premium Patio guestrooms are steps from the sand. The newly renovated Junior Suites offer plenty of space, ocean views, and space for up to five guests. With more than 50 miles of scenic trails at its doorstep, the resort's newly designed interior emphasizes Hilton Head Island's stunning coastline - with an airy, coastal beach vibe. And there's more... Highlights: • The 202-room renovation has transformed Beach House into a truly boutique, oceanfront resort on Hilton Head Island. • Beach House is home to the world-famous Tiki Hut, the only toes in the sand, drinks in hand experience on Hilton Head Island-here you'll enjoy live music daily, watch the pros play volleyball, and sip cocktails crafted by one of the Island's favorite bartenders. • Start and end your day at The Porch Southern Kitchen, serving up Low Country favorites all day long, complete with outdoor seating, an oversized fire pit, late night live music, and dive-in movies. • The sparkling Resort pool, located steps from Coligny Beach, is a perfect place to soak up the sun. • Beach House is just down the sand from Beach Market shops and restaurants ... and across the street from Coligny Plaza's 60 shops and restaurants - all connected by walking paths. • The renovations extend beyond the guestrooms - over 6,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space has been upgraded to reflect the genuine beach vibe, including two of the finest private, beachfront event venues on the Island. The Resort can accommodate groups up to 300 people for events, weddings and retreats. What hasn't changed? The sounds of the ocean waves. Hundreds of yards of unspoiled beachfront. The perfect location across from Coligny Plaza. Onsite dining and live entertainment at The Porch and Tiki Hut. And everything you've come to love about Beach House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanfront Hotel Hilton Head
Holiday Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Head Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing