We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Lure, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for a weekend stay”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at this location in July. What the hotel lacks on the inside, it makes up for on the outside. Room was a typical Holiday Inn room, nice king bed, sofa bed, flat screen tv. Room was on the 5th floor and luckily had a very nice view of the ocean and pool. Unlike other reviewers, we could not hear the live music in our room. This is an older hotel, but I think they have done about the best they can do with updating given the age of the hotel. I personally don't care if my hotel door needs painting as long as it serves its purpose. No problems with air conditioner being too loud. My only complaint is that elevators were slow and humid. Lots of reviewers complain about staff...every staff member I encountered was nothing but great. I don't know how much interaction you should have with staff to be able to complain anyway. Carpets in hallways could use updating, but again, this is a place with constant traffic with people walking in and out from the beach, so it is to be expected. Never had a problem with housekeeping, room was clean every day by noon, always plenty of towels, etc. The atmosphere outside the hotel is great...the pool is awesome... loved the atmosphere at "The Porch" restaurant right beside the pool area. Had breakfast there our last morning ($13.95 buffet) and it was great. The beach is VERY crowded, public access is right beside hotel. We would go out early in the morning and then spend our afternoons by the pool which worked great since we don't like people right on top of us at the beach - it was that crowded! Live music was nice. This is ideal for couples, not sure I would bring my kids here, certainly not for more than a weekend due to rooms being typical hotel rooms, smaller in size for a family beach trip but for a night or two wouldn't be too bad.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvfootballcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hello,
It sounds like you enjoyed a great beach weekend! We’re happy you loved our beach location and many amenities. We’ll pass your praise of our buffet breakfast along to our restaurants great team; we know it will make them smile. We place a high priority on our customer service, and it’s great to know you appreciated our efforts. We hope to see again in the future; we’d love the opportunity to show you the normal beach crowd when it’s not a holiday weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    779
    475
    219
    126
    93
See reviews for
581
623
49
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here for July 4th week. The rooms were updated however, the carpet in the room was not clean at all. I have to agree with some other reviews that the AC cycling on and off all night is very annoying. The doors to many rooms were in bad shape as far as paint peeling off. I did see housekeeping constantly doing their best trying to keep the resort clean. The resort had a very good band from Ohio playing on the 4th. This seemed to bring in people off the beach and I saw 2 incidents with resort security and police being involved. I would suggest that an off duty police officer be paid for special duty next year. The beds were very comfortable and the staff were very nice. Very expensive stay for a hotel that needs more updating.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gigi720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hello Gigi,
We’re very happy you appreciated our recent renovations. Your suggestions are greatly appreciated, and we’ll be sure to take them each into careful consideration. It’s great to know that our hotel team and comfy beds help ensure you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future; we’re confident we can wow you with our ongoing improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The positives for this hotel are
1. close to beach
2. rooms are clean
3. front desk staff and maids friendly
4. has a microwave and a clothes dryer -but access only on one floor
5. Nice pool area - towels are provided
6. Very relaxed atmosphere
7. Bike rentals beside hotel

Negatives:
1. Mold on ceiling in the bathroom
2. After 1st night, had to repeatedly ask for fresh towels
3. Hallway and doors need painting
4. Windows do not open, no balcony.
6. No complimentary food - not even a coffee pot in the lobby in the morning. You either eat in the hotel's over priced restaurant for breakfast or leave the premises.
7. Few rooms with ocean view
8. Rentals include an umbrella and two chairs on the beach ------ no chaise lounges available except next to the Tiki Hut which are on a first come, first serve basis ---- no pads for the chaise lounges either.
9. The beach at the hotel is clean but there are no piers for fishing/sightseeing, no water sport rentals --- you have to drive to those. Overall the island is densely wooded- everything looks the same. Even standing in front of Walmart, the entrance is difficult to find due all the trees. Without GPS and iphone app's, we would have been unable to locate any restaurants/attractions

Room Tip: Some rooms on the ground floor have a personal patio ---- but they are located on the main sidewalk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayne39598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hi Jayne39598,
What a balanced review! Thanks for the list of specific items you liked and didn’t like. Info like this is quit useful to us to help improve your next vacation here and the experience of all our future guests. We’re happy to hear you like our location, pool, clean rooms and more. We’ll take a careful look at what you didn’t like (that we have control over) such as the condition of the bathroom ceiling, the lack of the proper number of towels, and lack of complimentary food. Thanks for taking the time and we at the hotel hope to see you again next time you vacation at Hilton Head.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelzer, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The first room we stayed in had mold in the bathroom and it looked as if the toilet had not been cleaned. The supervisor offered us another room which had a much cleaner bathroom. However, the carpets were very dirty in both rooms we stayed in.
On a positive note, the location is very good if you want to be able to walk to shops, restaurants, and the grocery store. It is on a public beach so it gets pretty crowded, though.
The customer service was also very good. The front desk staff went out of their way to help us when we brought the cleanliness issues to their attention. The supervisor gave us a cleaner room and also comped our breakfast for one day.
The negatives are the cleanliness, the crowded beach and abundance of inexperienced bikers on the sidewalks surrounding the resort, and the small rooms. You are really paying for location with this hotel.
We probably wouldn't stay there again because, for the price, we expected more of a resort-like feel. The customer service and location are good, though.

Room Tip: Before you unpack, check the bathroom to make sure it is clean. Also, request a room away from the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizbeth532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hi Lizbeth532,
Thanks for the kind words for our front desk staff and the supervisor who helped you! It’s dismaying to hear you were unhappy with the cleanliness of the carpet. We’ve made a note of it and will fix this issue. It’s nice to hear you liked our beach location since that is probably why you chose us in the first place! Please keep us in mind for your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

After 10 minutes of our boys running around the room, there feet were black with dirt. In fact, when we got to our room for the first time, there was a toilet bowel cleaner brush sitting on the carpet right outside our room. The oversized room that we were promised on the phone was just a normal room with a pullout couch. When we questioned the front desk, they said that they do not have any large rooms and that a manager would call us the next day (which never happened). Needless to say we canceled our reservation after one night and went to another resort.

If your expectation is a spring breaker hotel than this may be the place for you. We have 3 young boys, so this was a horrible experience for us.

Side note: I grew up on a farm, and all 3 of my boys love playing int he dirt. When I say the room was dirty, I mean...IT WAS FILTHY.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
HI Brian S.,
Please accept our apologies for the state of the carpet. This issue is already being addressed. We’re also sorry to hear you expected a larger room and glad to hear you did find what you were looking for. It’s just too bad that it wasn’t with us. In case you ever choose us again, we do have rooms with bunk beds that appeal to kids. I hope the rest of your vacation was better. Thanks for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We visited in June, 2014, including two adults and two young children (1 and 4 years old). We spent four nights over a weekend in a first-floor room (one king, one bunk bed).

We travel a lot for work and vacation (as a family). Both of us are members of the IHG Rewards Club frequent guest program.

This is our third time at the hotel in the past 15 years as guests (in addition to visiting the Tiki Bar on other occasions), so we have some context.

First, the Good:
- Location is top-notch (Coligny Beach)
- Pool and beach access are great
- Various restaurants/food options (variety, not quality)
- Unique bunk bed "kids suite"
- Large outdoor patio
- Bike rentals on-property
- Bed and pillows were comfortable
- Very fast Internet (best quality/speed I've had in over 200 US/CA hotels over the past 5 years)

Now, the Bad (why we would pass)
- Hotel is in disrepair (see photos)
- Security - very scary clientele, especially 7p-10p (one guy begged for money outside our room; another gang member-looking duo asked us how much we paid for our room)
- Service is absolutely terrible. Housekeeping was slow, late (>4pm), incompetent (half-finished room), and didn't even make up our room two nights
- Door handle fell off
- General upkeep of the property - chipped door paint, old rundown carpeting, clogged sinks/toilets/showers (as others have echoed)
- Loud in-wall air conditioner (as others have echoed)
- Very loud Tiki Bar music - they sounded like they were in our room
- Food at the restaurants was flavorless, expensive and generally terrible (peach cobbler was the closest to "okay", but was "unavailable" one night for no reason)
- Crib was ripped and dirty

There are things that they CAN fix - notably all of the people/service-related issues. They can't control who visits the hotel, bars, beach, etc. - but they can "de-incentivize" lowlife scum from visiting.

They were completely unapologetic. We were promised a call from someone to follow up - that hasn't happened. It all adds up - this place is a dump, the service is terrible, and the people don't care.

Room Tip: Stay off of the first floor and away from the Tiki Bar if you want good sleep. Otherwise avoid this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Josh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hi Josh,
It’s nice to hear from a repeat guest. Thanks for the kudos in several areas such as our location, pool, beach, suite, bedding and Internet! We’re sorry to hear you were less than pleased with general upkeep and had some issues with our staff (among the other items you noted). We’d hate to lose a loyal guest and would like to speak to you. Will you email us at jeff.elseser@thebeachhousehhi.com?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Riding, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights as a family of 4 (including 4 & 6 yr old boys). We got lucky and were assigned a 2 double bed room on the 3rd floor on the north/east side of the building. Had a view of the ocean and pool area. Our a/c was loud and not working properly but didn't complain b/c we didn't want to lose our view. Loud a/c also helped to drown out music from the Tiki Hut. My children never had a problem sleeping. Beds are comfortable. Carpeting is old. Front desk staff was helpful and friendly. Not overly impressed with menu selection, quality, & price of on site restaurant. Quality of food did not equal its cost. We ordered lunch one day from poolside hut and it took 30 mins to get 3 hot dogs and 1 grilled cheese (total cost of this meal incl 1 soda & FF was approx $40). Proximity to beach and shopping/restaurants across street make this an ideal location.

Room Tip: Rooms on north/east side of bldg upper floor will give you a partial beach/pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hello Monica,
We’re thrilled you loved our location; it always keeps us smiling! It sounds like you and your family enjoyed some great beach and pool time fun! We apologize that the A/C in your room was not working properly and that you felt the carpet was worn. Thank you for all your feedback, including your thoughts on our food services. We’re committed to making our hotel better than ever, and your feedback is a valuable part of that goal. We hope to see you again in the future; we’d love the opportunity to wow you with our ongoing efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
0.5 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
254 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
797 reviews
2.3 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort

Property: Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
Address: 1 South Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6423 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Beach House)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In April 2016, Beach House Resort completed $7 million in floor-to-ceiling guest room renovations. The new Premium Oceanfront Guestrooms offer front row seats to live music at Tiki Hut - and the new Premium Patio guestrooms are steps from the sand. The newly renovated Junior Suites offer plenty of space, ocean views, and space for up to five guests. With more than 50 miles of scenic trails at its doorstep, the resort's newly designed interior emphasizes Hilton Head Island's stunning coastline - with an airy, coastal beach vibe. And there's more... Highlights: • The 202-room renovation has transformed Beach House into a truly boutique, oceanfront resort on Hilton Head Island. • Beach House is home to the world-famous Tiki Hut, the only toes in the sand, drinks in hand experience on Hilton Head Island-here you'll enjoy live music daily, watch the pros play volleyball, and sip cocktails crafted by one of the Island's favorite bartenders. • Start and end your day at The Porch Southern Kitchen, serving up Low Country favorites all day long, complete with outdoor seating, an oversized fire pit, late night live music, and dive-in movies. • The sparkling Resort pool, located steps from Coligny Beach, is a perfect place to soak up the sun. • Beach House is just down the sand from Beach Market shops and restaurants ... and across the street from Coligny Plaza's 60 shops and restaurants - all connected by walking paths. • The renovations extend beyond the guestrooms - over 6,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space has been upgraded to reflect the genuine beach vibe, including two of the finest private, beachfront event venues on the Island. The Resort can accommodate groups up to 300 people for events, weddings and retreats. What hasn't changed? The sounds of the ocean waves. Hundreds of yards of unspoiled beachfront. The perfect location across from Coligny Plaza. Onsite dining and live entertainment at The Porch and Tiki Hut. And everything you've come to love about Beach House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanfront Hotel Hilton Head
Holiday Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Head Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing