We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Hilton Head
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I have been coming to this hotel for years, back when it was just a holiday inn and the tiki hut was owned separately. Seems to me things went down hill when they merged into one. Start off by saying, the service at the Tiki Hut was terrible. 15 plus minutes just to order a drink. This happened to us on numerous occasions while on this trip. Next thing was our bathroom tub had a slow drain, so I notified the front desk and a maintenance man came right up. He fixed it but left a hair ball wrapped in toilet paper in the toilet, he didnt even flush it. We had an outlet that didnt work in our room. The next day we spent all day at the beach and got back to the room at 4:30PM, the room was still not clean, housekeeping showed up at 5PM wanting to clean the room, well sorry but we had to get ready to go to dinner. Then the next day both of our room keys were deactivated, so I had to make another trip to the front desk. All they did was send two drink vouchers to my room and took the $13 a day resort fee of my bill. Felt like a slap in the face.

I will not be coming back here ever again, I spent alot of money here over the years and I was very disappointed with this trip. I will surely be telling people to not ever stay here as well.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jesse D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello Jesse,
Your loyalty means a great deal to us. We are very sorry to hear that you are unhappy with your recent stay at our hotel. We strive to offer every guest a wonderful experience, and we’d welcome the opportunity to make things right. We invite you to reach out to us personally at jeff.elseser@thebeachhousehhi.com. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    439
    201
    122
    91
See reviews for
524
556
43
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

My best friend and I stayed at the Beach House last weekend for a girls trip get-away. The location of the Beach House is truly unbeatable. It is right on the beach which is wonderful in itself. Add the pools, the tiki bar, and the restaurant... and it was fantastic. Truly, the best part about the Beach House was the personable customer care from the staff. We were greeted by Gray, Keilsie, and Candice upon arriving in the wee hours of the morning. They were helpful and kind and each smiling as if we had arrived during normal hours. Of course, we had to put our feet in the sand! On our way, we were greeted by Ryan, another late night team member as we walked on the deck to the ocean. He was pleasant and kind and he had our safety at the forefront of his mind as there were some intoxicated individuals that were to be in our path early in the morning. He encouraged us to wait a few minutes before heading down to the water to allow them to "clear out." Breakfast in the morning with delicious made-to-order omeletes with a side of passion from Ted who shared stories and pictures with us, showcasing his pride in his culinary art. Bartenders at the Tiki Hut (e.g., Derick, Cliff, Jim, Beau) were wonderful. They made great drinks, great conversation and great entertainment which made for a great experience! Live music from the Derrick Trio was fantastic. Bartenders Beau, Jim, Derick, and Cliff not only made fantastic drinks, they also made great conversation. These are just a few of the many staff members that graciously took care of us as patrons. We give a top rating due to location and service. Sincerely, Paige and Kate

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paige C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello Paige,
Every now and then we get a truly personable and amazing review like yours! It makes our day. We love hearing how members of our dedicated team made you both feel welcome, secure, and like part of the family here at Beach House. We’ll pass the thanks on to Gray, Kelsie, Candice, Ryan, Ted, Derick, Cliff, Jim, and Beau. Your words will definitely generate several big smiles! We’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed our gorgeous, beachside location, yummy breakfasts, live entertainment and plenty of great conversation. We hope to see you back here soon for more sandy feet, friendly faces and another wonderful experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

For a first visit to Hilton Head Island from England we really wanted to be right on the beach so I guess it was inevitable that we would have to pay a premium rate. This aside, the room was comfortable and clean. A nice pool, good beach access and entertainment laid on in the Tiki Bar. Breakfast Buffet was plentiful with service from all the staff generally good.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonbeam555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello Moonbeam,
We’re glad we could make your first Hilton Head experience so memorable! We’re thrilled to hear you were impressed with our comfortable rooms, sandy beaches, beautiful pool, live entertainment, delicious breakfast buffets, and dedicated service team. We apologize if you our nightly rates weren’t to your liking, but we hope you enjoyed your overall experience with us. Please come back to visit; we promise to make the next stay even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcola, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel is very nice and clean (recently remodeled). Located right on the beach. Has a nice Tiki bar, swimming pool, restaurant, and great access to the beach. It is located around several different places to shop and eat. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. Will be going back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tisha338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello Tisha,
We really appreciate the stellar review! We’re thrilled our service team took such good care of you during your stay. We’re glad you enjoyed our delicious dining options, beautiful pool, and fantastic location. Thank you for admiring some of our recent renovations. We’re constantly improving, with guest satisfaction in mind. A repeat visit would be the best compliment! We hope you come back soon for another fabulous experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowan, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We originally booked a hotel in Hilton Head with no beach access. Not having ever been to Hilton Head Island before we weren't sure how things were set up. We ended up in another Ramada that made us sick due to mold and mildew and just general grossness! We booked at the Beach House and were checked out of the Ramada and into the Beach House within 20 minutes. The front desk is awesome and hooked us up with a great, spotless room with a great view of the Atlantic Ocean. Thanks Beach House for making our vacation a great success, especially after the way it started.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water are subject to the live music every night, which we enjoyed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We’re thrilled we could offer you a little sunshine, quick, friendly service, a clean, comfortable room, and a beautiful ocean view after such an ordeal. We hope you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us at Beach House. We would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, OH
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have visited Hilton Head numerous times in past several years and have always stayed here. Most rental homes are for a week and we need something for 3-4 days. This hotel's location is awesome. It sits right on the beach. Pool is huge and beautiful. Our grandkids often spend more time there than on the beach. It is within walking distance to restaurants and a shopping center called Coliginy Plaza. Great place also. Rooms are clean and fully updated. Time turnaround on getting rooms cleaned should be improved. Often came back late in afternoon to rest and still found room not cleaned. Hotel has changed often over the past years. Some changes were good, others bad. Latest change-They had a beautiful restaurant with large windows looking out. Air conditioned with an outdoor patio if you wanted to eat outside. They completely eliminated this, making an open air restaurant. Noisy-not cool unless sitting directly under fans. They serve a breakfast buffet and full menu. Fairly good, but service was terrible. However if you want a beachfront hotel, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missylancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hello Missy,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a thoughtful review and share your experience. We genuinely appreciate your loyalty, returning to our Beach House year after year. You’ve seen us grow and change, but our commitment to guest satisfaction remains the same. We’re sorry you aren’t an immediate fan of our newest addition, The Porch. We strive to offer our guests a uniquely pleasant experience, where savory, southern food and fresh, ocean air meet and peak the senses. We’re sorry to hear you weren’t comfortable with the temperature, atmosphere or service during your meal. We appreciate your feedback and will pass it on to their team. We also apologize for any inconvenience caused by our housekeeping schedule. We’ll take your helpful comments and suggestions under careful consideration. Thank you! We’re thrilled you were pleased with the cleanliness and comfort of your room and fully enjoy our beautiful pool and beachfront location. We look forward to providing another memorable experience during your next visit. We can’t wait to see you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I’m with Stella Entertainment based in Atlanta, GA, and we’ve had the pleasure of staying at the Beach House Resort a few times to perform at the hotel’s Tiki Hut beach bar. The hotel has a gorgeous pool, easy beach access, an amazing breakfast buffet, and a fun entertainment & events program for different ages. And with a pleasant staff, the Beach House has come to feel like home sweet home!

In the few trips Stella has had at the resort, the monthly full moon parties have become epic, and Fifth is larger than life! I would definitely recommend the hotel for families, as well as singles in search of the salt life. :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hello Shane,
We feel honored and so very lucky to have great performers like you stay with us and provide lively entertainment for our guests. We’re happy to hear you’re a fan of our beautiful pool, sandy beaches, delicious breakfast buffet, and recreation programs. Fith is quite the character; your high praise is sure to make his day! We’re thrilled our friendly team made you feel welcomed and right at home. That’s a huge compliment. Thank you for the stellar review! We hope you come back soon to enjoy another full moon party with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#9 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
#10 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
2.3 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort

Property: Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
Address: 1 South Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6423 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Beach House)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In April 2016, Beach House Resort completed $7 million in floor-to-ceiling guest room renovations. The new Premium Oceanfront Guestrooms offer front row seats to live music at Tiki Hut - and the new Premium Patio guestrooms are steps from the sand. The newly renovated Junior Suites offer plenty of space, ocean views, and space for up to five guests. With more than 50 miles of scenic trails at its doorstep, the resort's newly designed interior emphasizes Hilton Head Island's stunning coastline - with an airy, coastal beach vibe. And there's more... Highlights: • The 202-room renovation has transformed Beach House into a truly boutique, oceanfront resort on Hilton Head Island. • Beach House is home to the world-famous Tiki Hut, the only toes in the sand, drinks in hand experience on Hilton Head Island-here you'll enjoy live music daily, watch the pros play volleyball, and sip cocktails crafted by one of the Island's favorite bartenders. • Start and end your day at The Porch Southern Kitchen, serving up Low Country favorites all day long, complete with outdoor seating, an oversized fire pit, late night live music, and dive-in movies. • The sparkling Resort pool, located steps from Coligny Beach, is a perfect place to soak up the sun. • Beach House is just down the sand from Beach Market shops and restaurants ... and across the street from Coligny Plaza's 60 shops and restaurants - all connected by walking paths. • The renovations extend beyond the guestrooms - over 6,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space has been upgraded to reflect the genuine beach vibe, including two of the finest private, beachfront event venues on the Island. The Resort can accommodate groups up to 300 people for events, weddings and retreats. What hasn't changed? The sounds of the ocean waves. Hundreds of yards of unspoiled beachfront. The perfect location across from Coligny Plaza. Onsite dining and live entertainment at The Porch and Tiki Hut. And everything you've come to love about Beach House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanfront Hotel Hilton Head
Holiday Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Head Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing