We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Family Vacation”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We had our annual vacation to The Beach House with our growing family (2 year old and 2 month old). The best thing about this place is the employees. Patricia was fantastic and was always there with a smile and offering to help out. Our son just loved her. Evan at the pool was also there to lend a hand, which is important when you are trying to juggle two kids. And Ferris at the beach house was the best bartender and was there when you needed him. The second best thing about this place is the location, close to (practically on) the beach. Walking distance to Coligny Plaza and tons of restaurants and the hotel has a fantastic big pool and a kidde pool. The Tiki lounge is hopping at night and a nice place for the adults to relax. The hotel is a good value for the price. The rooms were clean and they maintenance crew was working non stop to make sure everything was pristine. The hotel is older and the furniture, fixtures, and carpet could use some updating. Our one complaint was the AC ran not stop and it was cool in our room but never cold. That being said it was 90 degrees every day we were there. To sum it up, the hotel met our needs for a cost conscious family vacation and the service of the employee is what made it an excellent vacation. We will be returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Hello J W,
We loved being a part of your family vacation! Your little ones are as much our guests as you are, and we’re thrilled Patricia and Evan made sure they felt as such. They’ll appreciate your kind words, as will Ferris for his mad bartending skills! We’re happy you’re a fan of our location, Tiki Hut, pools, clean rooms, reasonable rates, and dedicated maintenance team. They continue their hard work, as we’re looking forward to some exciting improvements on the horizon. We sincerely apologize that the efficiency of your room’s air conditioning unit did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will take it into careful consideration, as we plan enhancements. Your loyalty means the world to us, and we can’t wait to make your next experience with us even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    476
    219
    127
    93
See reviews for
584
624
49
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Since Expedia overbooked our Litchfield Beach hotel they then suggested this dive in Hilton Head, saying it was newly renovated and ocean front view. Neither were true although we did have a new headboard. Place is extremely filthy as the stairwells reek and are disgusting. The carpeting is so dirty...there was no ocean view...they told us a to park a second car would be an additional $20, but then charged us that per day, but only charge beach goers $10. The microwave on the first floor was so dirty you couldn't even put your hands on it let alone warm up a baby's bottle. The air conditioning unit was louder than a jet plane in your room and maintenance could do nothing about it.

Room Tip: There is nothing good about this place except the Tiki Bar looks like a fun place, but you should st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Al I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
We are very sorry to hear that you are unhappy with your recent stay at our hotel. We strive to offer every guest a wonderful experience, and we’d welcome the opportunity to make things right. We invite you to reach out to us personally at jeff.elseser@thebeachhousehhi.com. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I had my wedding at this resort in July and I cannot say enough great things about our experience and the experience our guests had. Everything from checking in to checking out was a great experience. Rudzani and Candice at the front desk made sure that everyone was checked in and had what they needed and were very pleasant to work with. Margaret, the event planner, made sure that my wedding was exactly what I had envisioned down to the very last detail. She went above and beyond my expectations and was an absolute pleasure to work with. The staff at the rehearsal dinner and reception went above and beyond as well to make sure our guests had a fantastic time. Willie, Judith and DR were great hard working people and made sure that we had everything we needed both nights. Our guests had a blast and there is so much to do right on the property as well as near by. I would recommend The Beach House Resort to anyone looking to get married on the island. I would do it all again there and I wouldn't change one thing about my wedding. It was the best weekend of my life and I thank the Beach House for providing such a wonderful experience for not only myself and my husband but all of our guests as well. They are still talking about how much fun they had.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Hello Gina,
We felt incredibly honored to be trusted with an event as important as your wedding! We are elated that you, your husband and the guests had such a fantastic time. We’re glad our dedicated team took such good care of you. We’ll pass your specific thanks on to Rudzani, Candice, Willie, Judith, DR and especially Margaret. It’ll make their week! We truly loved working with you to ensure your special day was absolutely perfect. We wish you both a lifetime of happiness together, and we would love to see you again. How does an anniversary visit sound?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is definitely NOT a negative review, just a review to put things in perspective - at least from my perspective. The location on the beach is fantastic. It could not be any closer to the water. There are beach volleyball courts steps away from the ocean. The actual beach is large and while it gets busy, there is LOTS of space. The Tiki Hut is a bonus for this hotel. It is a great spot to grab lunch while at the pool or taking a break from the beach. The food is good and they do not rip you off in terms of price. It is what you want for a beach bar. The drinks are good, cold, cheap and lots of selection. The TikiHut is also a great spot to go at night. Drinks on the beach by the fire while live music was playing was a great way to spend the night. Staff is great as well.

Now the hotel. It does look like they put some money into the actual hotel. The grounds are nice, the lobby was decent walking in. It did feel like a beach house. The hallways and the rooms were disappointing to say the least. The room and the hallways smelled musty. I know - it was probably from the sand the water. Perhaps, but other beach hotels I have been to did not have this problem. The room was damp when we walked in and had a smell to it. The air conditioner sounded like an apatchi helicopter taking off and did not seem strong enough. It stayed on all the time. It made it tough to sleep. It was a unit and not controlled from the wall. Washrooms were OK, but nothing special. Now all this said, the rooms were clean, so that is one less worry. Water pressure in the shower was a little weak.

Bottom line: I was lucky enough to stay here on points, so was no real cost to me. I wrote this review for someone who may be about to drop $300 plus a night for a vacation with their signifigant other or their family. I don't think it is worth that price. There are other resorts with similiar prices and are much nicer. I would hate for someone to spend a lot of money here and walk away disappointed. If you ONLY care about beach location, then go ahead. If you are looking for the over all resort experience, you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank craigdubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hello Craig,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful review. We are thrilled you enjoyed our beautiful location, right on the beach, and our fun volleyball courts. We couldn’t agree more about our Tiki Hut. Its delicious drinks, tasty bites, fantastic team, and lively entertainment are always a hit! We’re also glad you enjoyed our newly renovated lobby, exterior guest areas, and clean rooms. We appreciate all your feedback, as it helps us identify areas we can improve. We sincerely apologize that the condition of our hallways and your room didn’t meet your expectations. We are very sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the sound and efficiency of the air conditioning unit in your room, and we wish you found our water pressure more impressive. Your satisfaction is very important to us. We have just completed renovations to our lobby and pool area, and we’re very excited about upcoming improvements to other areas of our hotel. We hope you come back to enjoy them. We would love the opportunity to win you over!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Location and amenities are excellent !! The Porch is awesome !! Staff very friendly and professional !! Food was delicious !! Dan, Fith and Carlton were the best hosts we ever encountered !! Thanks again Beach House !!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hello Jeremy,
We love knowing our beautiful location, great amenities, and fantastic team helped make your Hilton Head vacation so memorable! We’ll pass your praise on to Dan, Fith, and Carlton; it’s sure to make their day! We’re happy to hear you enjoyed a savory meal at our newest addition, The Porch. We hope you come see us again soon, for another wonderful stay and delicious dining experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
175 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This place does have a great location, next to all the stuff and the rooms are clean, but it ends there. The room is small with only a fridge and the A/C did not work very well. We had the stting on 60 and it was still not cool. The hallways are not air conditioned and the carpet is terrible. Everything is very old and needs to be updated. I stayed here on points and wanted to leave early. Normally Holiday Inns allow you great flexibility however they forced my out at 11am. I simply wanted an extra hour but no. Of course I could stay but they were going to charge me an extra day. It is on the beach but overall I would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure they put you in an ocean front room they have balcony's and are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MattB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Hello Matt,
We are very sorry to hear that you are unhappy with your recent stay at our hotel. We strive to offer every guest a wonderful experience, and we’d welcome the opportunity to make things right. We invite you to reach out to us personally at jeff.elseser@thebeachhousehhi.com. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Visited HHI for the 1st time & stayed at the beach house resort. After reading previous, negative reviews, I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel was recently renovated & the rooms/lobby/restaurants were nicely updated. The hotel was clean overall, though, the hallway carpetting was a little run down (though understanably so- due to the sand, etc). The location was good-right on the beach & across the street from Coligny Plaza. The Tiki bar was convenient stop for lunch /cocktail breaks during the day & the entertainment was a bonus (though the all day/night performances would be a little loud for the rooms nearby). My only complaint was the resort fee. It increased from 10$ at time of booking to 13$ at check-in. The whole resort fee concept still eludes me- I would rather pay higher nightly rates than be hit with a fee for "amenities" that I should receive without question (pool, wifi, towels, etc). Overall, HHI was nice- though wouldn't be my first choice for beach vaca next year. I grew up vacationing on the delmarva peninsula & am more used of the whole "boardwalk/main street" resort feel. I didn't feel like l was "at the beach" once I stepped away from the ocean/beach area. Felt more like a lake/camping area with all the trees, etc.

Room Tip: Somewhere away from the tiki bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michelle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Hello Michelle,
Thank you for the thoughtful review and honest feedback. We’re happy our recently renovated lobby and brand new restaurant The Porch impressed you, and we’re glad our clean, comfortable rooms pleasantly surprised you. We are sorry you were displeased with the condition of the hallway carpet, but we are thrilled you enjoyed our location, Tiki Hut, and live entertainment. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to our standard resort fee; we’ll take your comments to heart, as we continue to improve. We’re glad you enjoyed your overall Hilton Head experience, but we regret not being your first choice next year. We hope you reconsider, because we’d love the opportunity to win you over!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
0.5 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
256 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
798 reviews
2.3 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort

Property: Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
Address: 1 South Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6423 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Beach House)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In April 2016, Beach House Resort completed $7 million in floor-to-ceiling guest room renovations. The new Premium Oceanfront Guestrooms offer front row seats to live music at Tiki Hut - and the new Premium Patio guestrooms are steps from the sand. The newly renovated Junior Suites offer plenty of space, ocean views, and space for up to five guests. With more than 50 miles of scenic trails at its doorstep, the resort's newly designed interior emphasizes Hilton Head Island's stunning coastline - with an airy, coastal beach vibe. And there's more... Highlights: • The 202-room renovation has transformed Beach House into a truly boutique, oceanfront resort on Hilton Head Island. • Beach House is home to the world-famous Tiki Hut, the only toes in the sand, drinks in hand experience on Hilton Head Island-here you'll enjoy live music daily, watch the pros play volleyball, and sip cocktails crafted by one of the Island's favorite bartenders. • Start and end your day at The Porch Southern Kitchen, serving up Low Country favorites all day long, complete with outdoor seating, an oversized fire pit, late night live music, and dive-in movies. • The sparkling Resort pool, located steps from Coligny Beach, is a perfect place to soak up the sun. • Beach House is just down the sand from Beach Market shops and restaurants ... and across the street from Coligny Plaza's 60 shops and restaurants - all connected by walking paths. • The renovations extend beyond the guestrooms - over 6,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space has been upgraded to reflect the genuine beach vibe, including two of the finest private, beachfront event venues on the Island. The Resort can accommodate groups up to 300 people for events, weddings and retreats. What hasn't changed? The sounds of the ocean waves. Hundreds of yards of unspoiled beachfront. The perfect location across from Coligny Plaza. Onsite dining and live entertainment at The Porch and Tiki Hut. And everything you've come to love about Beach House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanfront Hotel Hilton Head
Holiday Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Head Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing