We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never stay here again!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Would never stay here again!!”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My family and I traveled to Marriot Barony beach through an exchange in Interval International. We were excited to be heading to Hilton Head for the first time. Upon arrival at this resort we were very disappointed by the size and overall layout of resort. This resort is very small in comparison to the many others we've visited. They had activities during the day but they were geared towards adults and not young children..If you are a couple and looking for a getaway this would be good for you. If you are a family this is not a resort for you. Most of the activities centered around adults with wine , beer and other adult activities. The staff was not very friendly or helpful when needed. Our room was not up to par with Marriott standards. The room was not clean , had mold in bathrooms, pipes made a banging noise when water was running. The water itself I would not drink it had a horrible smell to it. The furniture looked beat up with scratches, wobbly legs etc. These rooms are in serious need of rehabing. They did have onsight bike rentals which we took advantage off and were able to explore the island. The Spa was a huge disappointment for this simple reason...my daughter and I decided to tour the spa during one of their open house sessions....the staff was rude to my daughter and did not like the fact she was with me....I think this staff needs to be more open minded to younger girls...afterall there are young girls that do get pedi's and mani's.....and that is what my daughter was interested in getting...after the reception we received we would not step foot back in there! Spa staff needs to get lower their noses a little bit instead of being stuffy!! I could go on and on.. but will refrain. We will be returning to Hilton Head and loved the island however, we will be looking to stay at another Marriott property not Barony Beach!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jrsyshoregrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    225
    54
    21
    12
See reviews for
418
198
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schleswig, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

They'll make me say more, but it is all in my title. Grounds are immaculate, activities are what you'd expect, the surf is lame but that's beyond even tehir control.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms, only people who are too pampered and who expect too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Orad O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Cant beat Baroney Beach. We visit every year and have yet to have ANY issues other than the fact trying to figure out how these folks can do it year after year and make you feel like royality.Going back again this year for more fun and top notch hospitality A+

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We have been Barony owners since 1999 and this was our third stay here. (We have traded out for time at other resorts). Usually, there are no problems at this lovely resort. This time however, we were shocked when first checking in to the room. The comforters on two of the three beds were ripped along the hems, with the hems hanging down on to the floor. The coffee table in the living room was broken around the base and was very wobbly, we could see where they had tried to hold it together with a metal bracket underneath, the screws had come out of the bracket and it was just hanging. I reported these things to the front desk and they were corrected while we were out for a bike ride. But as owners we were wondering how these details were not noticed by housekeeping and corrected. Then we discovered the toilet in the master BR loose from the floor, causing it to rock every time you got on or off of it. Also, we discovered a dirty, wet q-tip in the silverware portion of the dish drainer in the kitchen. Yikes. This last thing not reported to the desk, we just took care of it ourselves.
Now on to the positives...this is a beautiful resort in a beautiful setting. The rest of the unit we had was lovely and clean, and very comfortable. 6 adults shared the unit for a week comfortably. The pools are outstanding,we do wish they would allow adult-only use of the pool and hot tub from 10-11pm at night and maybe one hour in the am. Staff was courteous and helpful. I would recommend this resort and will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012 via mobile

We have been owners here since 1999 and love it. Every year they make improvements to the amenities and this year has been the most dramatic. They have added a great waterslide to the garden side unit pool along with a splash pad for the kiddies and a grilling pavilion with flat screen tv's and a fireplace for Mom and Dad. They keep the resort spotless and the units are spacious and comfortable with two bedrooms and two full baths, along with two whirlpool tubs in each unit. the staff is particularly accommodating, and make every effort to fulfill visitor's requests for villa location as best as possible. My only complaint this year, and it is minor, is that the pool now closes at sunset and my husband and I used to enjoy going for a moonlight swim which we are not able to do any more due to the change in the pool hours.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DSE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I was very disappointed with The Barony Beach Club. This was our first visit to Hilton Head and The Barony. I have stayed at several Marriott resorts before and never experienced anything like this before. First, parking is a very big issue here and not conducive if you have senior family members, guest or more than one vehicle within your party. Second, the customer service that we received was not rude, however, it was apparent that they did not care either. The was a miscommunication error, the error on behalf of the Barony, and I did not feel like they cared about the celebration we had planned for the weekend. I felt somewhat harrassed by management having to give all the names of the people staying in my villa just to get a parking pass and then was told that anyone without a pass would be escorted off the property. Also asked for a late checkout and was told it would not be a problem. Checkout comes and housekeeping is there to tell me that my late checkout was not approved. I just felt like the customer service and clear communication could have been a lot better given the circumstance at hand. Poor representation for a Marriott resort. Clearly check all places before chosing to stay at the Barony.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Blondy0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales UK
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We are Marriott owner's in Spain and exchanged through Interval for Barony Beach. It took 4 months approx to get the exchange through, so that's a good indication of how popular this resort is.
Barony Beach wasn't my first choice but having gone down to Harbour Town one day, I am so glad we got Barony as the location right on the beach is so good. If we ever did return, it would be Barony I would definitely request again!
Like so many other's, we requested Oceanside and had an e mail through from Zach a few days before informing us that we were in the garden villas. We obviously expected this as we do not own here. I was expecting from all the reviews a long walk to the beach and very surprised that it was literally a short walk.On numerous occasions as we were walking over to the oceanside we were asked by the driver of the courtesy cart if we wanted to have a ride over and each time we preferred to walk.
If we did go back to Barony I would request a garden villa again as I was so pleased with our villa on the 3 rd floor of the Jasmine building that got the morning sun and overlooked the pool and hot tub. In the evening it was great sitting out on the balcony overlooking the pool that was lit up. Obviously ocean front view must be great but many of the other villas on this side that just have the garden view to me appeared very shaded.
Whilst in the pool one day we did over hear a person say that they had paid to upgrade from the garden to ocean side!
I cannot say enough for the service from all the Marriott staff. On our arrival I realised as we were cooking for 8 people for a special meal for my husband's 50th birthday and I did not have a large enough roasting dish for what I was doing. Literally within minutes they delivered a very large foil tin that was perfect. We also had a dishwasher fault on the first morning and within 30 mins someone came. On both occasions a follow up call came through to us to ensure we were happy.
It was so good having the good choice of pools, and most days we used the quieter outside pool in the garden in front of the indoor pool.
We only used the poolside grill once and waited nearly an hour for our food. We didn't mind as we sat watching the tennis under the shade sipping a cold drink. However, a manager came onto us apologised for the delay and asked each member of our party to choose any drink free of charge. As these drinks came, so did our food so that was good customer care.
Again, I would highly recommend Barony Beach, it was such a special holiday for us!



Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Welshcake2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.3 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
8.5 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#12 of 28 in Hilton Head
317 reviews
3.7 mi away
Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
4.0 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
0.1 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Barony Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Barony Beach Club

Property: Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Address: 5 Grasslawn Ave, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5546
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Barony Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clear you mind poolside at Marriott's Barony Beach Club. Nestled on in infamous Hilton Head, South Carolina, your feet will be covered in sand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott's Barony Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Barony Beach Club Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Barony Beach Hotel
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing