We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Spent three nights here recently. Staff was super, super helpful in getting golf and hotel reservations, and taking care of every need. The location is good and close to the beach, although we didn't have much beach weather. Amenities are somewhat limited, but with so much to do on the island, it was no matter. Plenty of pools and a nice lockeroom facilities which can come in handy. The suites were spacious and comfortable, with a fully equipped kitchen. I would certainly return here when visiting Hilton Head.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the beach, restaurant, and lobby, ask for the beach side. If you want th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for the great TripAdvisor review Frank! We look forward to your next stay with us at Marriott's Barony Beach Club!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Barony Beach Club and are big Marriott fans. The two bedroom suite was large, clean, and exceptional. The beds were very comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped and clean. Our room was cleaned daily, but very late in the day. We were disappointed to receive a room in a distant building separated by the Weston resort. The Westin resort sits between two sides of the resort. The distant 9100 and 9200 buildings overlook a very fun kid's pool area. We did have some pool noise late one night from a party group, but it was not a problem. Unfortunately, it rained most of our vacation. The heated pool near the main building was not very warm. The indoor pool is small and nothing special, but the kids enjoyed the basketball hoop. The hours for the kids' pool slide this time of year are very limited (noon to 3:00 PM). The beach, although we could not go due to the rain, is very wide and looked clean and nice. The pictures on TripAdvisor make the resort grounds seem bigger and better than it actually appears. I expected much more from the grounds based on the images (think Hawaii... not). Parking is convenient and located under each building (nice with all the rain), but parking a large SUV was a hassle some nights due to limited large spaces and poles. Tennis is an extra fee. Bikes can be rented for a fee. The first night, I regret the resort staff accused us of not returning a DVD we never rented and left messages and charged the DVD to the room (and it appeared as a 0 charge on our final bill after we were told it was removed completely). Subsequently, a bar charge we never made was approved to my credit card by the hotel. I was told that was only an authorization and the front office staff was not very nice about it; we never visited the bar during our stay and we were actually at Harbortown all day. The bar charge did not appear on my final bill. I was upset to see the DVD rental appear on the bill, but it was a zero charge. I'm not sure we will return and may try another Marriott on the island next time.

Room Tip: If you have young kids, as for a room around the Kids' pool (9100 or 9200 buildings). For best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback Bill! While it is great your family had an enjoyable experience, we apologize for the few problems that took away from your visit. Your feedback regarding the charges will be shared with the front office team as this is not a normal occurrence. Please feel free to contact our Customer Care team at customer.care@vacationclub.com or by calling 800-860-9384 should you need additional assistance with your invoice. Thank you again for your TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, Wasn't high season in February I assume but I did get the ocean front room that I had requested. It was clean with a nice view of the ocean. For the money I would say it was a good deal. Grounds are well kept. I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Get ocean front if you can, I know they have buildings back behind they put people in too. I wouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wego1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Never staying at the Marriott Barony property before, I decided to stay there based on other Trip Advisor reviews. We stayed in one of the garden villas overlooking the newly revamped Wetlands pool area. While it was a three minute walk to the beach, we found that this area suited us better as we had children traveling with us. This area of the resort was quiet, but full of things to do. We especially loved the grill area complete with a foosball table, ping pong, a fireplace, and two high definition TVs. We also found ourselves enjoying the nearby fire pit. Furthermore, we found that our villa was sparkly clean and spacious enough for our family. While we did not participate in many of the resort activities, we were busy using the resort amenities such as the indoor heated pool and the steam and sauna (especially when it rained one day). The absolute only drawback to this property is that the pools are not staffed with lifeguards. My kids are good swimmers, but I did not leave them unattended, and I would recommend that other parents do the same. The indoor pool can get a bit rowdy with the basketball goal (a wildly popular pool toy!), and I did see some kids jumping in the pool on top of other smaller children. I found myself playing the pseudo lifeguard, which was not super fun. I understand with the number of pools it wouldn't be cost effective to have lifeguards, but it would have been nice. Overall, this property was an outstanding choice for our family and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone looking to stay in the Hilton Head area. Lastly, it is super close to most of the better restaurants which we especially appreciated! Oh, and kudos to all of the staff members at the Barony. They were extremely friendly and were especially helpful with any questions I had regarding area attractions, restaurants, and golf!

Room Tip: Request to stay in the Wetlands area if you have small children. The pool will entertain your littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a1agirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Excellent staff, well maintained rooms and grounds! We return here every year because of the wonderful Barony! Love the fairly recent additions of the water park and upgraded poolside bar/restaurant and the freshly redone boardwalks. Enjoyable and very family friendly, we also enjoy the many activities for all ages. We missed the marketplace this year but the new kids activity room will be great!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank UNC_Indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for your five-star review of Marriott's Barony Beach Club! We too can't wait for the new activities center to debut at the resort. It is our pleasure to be your home away from home and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Hadn't been back to Barony in a couple of years and have just been reminded why we fell in love with the place initially. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but the amenities in and around the property are wonderful. A couple of beautiful days at the beach just out the back door--improved pools all over the property...soothing hot tubs and courtyard games to pass the time.
JUST COMFORTABLE!

Room Tip: Ocean view in the two back buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank axavol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

We are glad to hear you decided to visit again! Our team appreciates your five-star TripAdvisor review and hope you can return soon to Marriott's Barony Beach Club!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This Hotel was great the room was spotless and comfortable. Parking was a little difficult at night but nothing major. We had one night where power was reduced in the rooms due to a blown fure or small fire we never got the full details but we saw fire trucks outside of our building. Afterwards everything was up and running in a couple of hours which was not bad for a property this size. Overall we were extremely pleased and would like to visit this hotel again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jesse F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for the great review Jesse! We are happy you enjoyed your villa while visiting the resort and hope you will join us again soon at Marriott's Barony Beach Club!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.2 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
8.9 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
3.6 mi away
Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
322 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
3.9 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Barony Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Barony Beach Club

Address: 5 Grasslawn Ave, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5546
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: £121 - £467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Barony Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clear you mind poolside at Marriott's Barony Beach Club. Nestled on in infamous Hilton Head, South Carolina, your feet will be covered in sand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott's Barony Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Barony Beach Club Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Barony Beach Hotel
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing