We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place on HHI”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We enjoyed our trip to Barony Beach Club this past June. The resort is a bit more remotely located on the northern end of HHI than other Marriott Vacation Club properties on the island. While the room was conveniently located to the pool and the beach, we were a bit disappointed that the resort assigned us an accessible room although I am a Gold Elite member of Marriott Rewards. The BBC is an excellent place to stay for a family beach vacation, and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank eethomaswfnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 801 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was our 15th season staying at Barony Beach and the overall appearance remains very high. Improvements are constantly being made so the investment of the time-share owners is assured. Our grandsons have vacationed at Barony Beach since they were toddlers and they are still finding enjoyment in our stays there.
The staff is always very, especially Ms. Nettie and John the Concierge. Any problem in the unit, and Engineer is right there. Issac at the bike rental stand has done a wonderful job for years.
The beach in front of BB is wide and clean and goes for miles. To the other side of the Westin Hotel are private homes along the beach, so there are very few people going in that direction. We enjoy that area of the beach because the shelling is superb and the beach is a wonderful place for bike riding. This year there were very few days of pounding surf, so the skim boarding was also excellent.
This year new, improved, boardwalks were installed from the pool area to the sand. The structures are a visual improvement, but be warning, the walking surface of the boardwalks get hotter than the sand. Many a child just touched them and cried. I am sure the management will have those hot boards somehow corrected very soon.
This year we tried a new Gulah restaurant and the food was excellent although the seating and service was somewhat chaotic, but it was a fun evening. BYOB with no uncorking fees. We probably will not be able to get a seat next year, but try Roasted Fish and Cornbread.
Hats off to the management for preserving the property so very well

Room Tip: Have John make those dinner reservations for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank wmlifsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for joining us for your 15th visit! We truly appreciate your kind words and are happy to be your destination of choice on HIlton Head Island. We look forward to your 16th visit and thank you for your TripAdvisor review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We just returned home from a week in HH at Marriott Barony Beach club. Our top notch 2 bedroom unit helped to make the trip a memorable one. Their well manicured , clean facilities in an outstanding location near the ocean are hard to beat. We also particularly enjoyed the pools and other outdoor activities.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SteveH9034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The best part is the rooms themselves. They are large and can easily accommodate 4-6 people. Everything was clean and worked well in the suite. The kitchen was well-equipped and there all kinds of dishes, pots and pans. The beach was at the front and very nice, though we had no view of it. The grounds were clean and the service was great except for what is mentioned below:

Now to the main reason why I would not go back: There were 2 pools which were small and shallow (4.5 ft at the deepest). There was lots of families whose young kids dominated the pools the entire time. For us, relaxing and enjoying the pool is a big part of the vacation. In this place that seemed impossible. If you are not families with young kids, this place is likely not for you, but if you are, then it's probably great.

Another point. Marriott needs to cool it with the solicitation about buying timeshare. We booked this place like we booked any other hotel room. We didn't know were booking a timeshare. We are young adults and have zero interest in buying timeshare here or anywhere. 1 week before the stay they call pretending to help you with your stay but the purpose of the call is nothing but to get you to think about buying timeshare. Then again at check-in, they do the same, and finally they call while through your stay. We answered that were not interested in the call before the stay and at check-in, so don't call us anymore through the stay. They also have some people roaming around the resort "current owners", who sometimes I doubted their true identity, given the exact timing of when they show up to give their testimonials about how great ownership is (like right at check-in when concierge was trying to get us to sign up for the session).

Another catch related to the above is at check-in, they try to make you feel like 2nd class guests saying that the rooms you booked not available and reserved for the timeshare owners, and then they send you over to the guy who is "nice" enough to help you become a timeshare owner.

Room Tip: they tell you have to become Marriott timeshare owner to get a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ManofTastes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review for Marriott's Barony Beach Club. We are pleased to hear the villa exceeded your expectations during your stay with us. Your feedback regarding solicitation is appreciated and will be shared with the appropriate managers. Thank you for being a loyal Marriott guest and for visiting us in Hilton Head Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have been oceanfront owners since inception of Barony's opening and each summer look forward to our vacation. I am dreading next years vacation. Our room was dirty and worn, mold in the shower torn chair in the bedroom. We invited our kids friends this year and the first thing my daughter asked was why did we get downgraded! We did voice our concern and was told upgrades were put off due to the building of the pool slide, it will be probably 2 more years! Deferring upgrades is no excuse for dirty, worn rooms, the Marriott should be embarrassed! Never thought I would consider another property but maybe our home property is past it's prime.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tqmtara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for visiting Marriott's Barony Beach Club. We appreciate your feedback on your recent stay and apologize the villa did not meet your expectations. The resort is currently in the planning stages for upcoming villa renovations and we know you will be pleased with new look. Thank you for being an owner and we look forward to truly exceeding your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed June 28th - July 5th, 2014. Our family owns at the Marriott Barony Beach club property and have been coming every year except one year since the property was opened. We consider this a gem in the Marriott lineup...nothing fancy just a beautiful well maintained property with access to one of the best beaches in the world. We stayed in the Jasmine building. Starting with the rooms: nice kitchen and dining area which gives an easy option to prepare your own food if you don't want to eat out. I love the porch area; nice view of the pool area, the beds are in good shape; the bathrooms are starting to look a little dated; the guest bath is very small and I feel the guest room jacuzzi is a waste; no privacy and our guests never used it and wished they had a sleeper sofa instead. Everything else is pretty nice with the rooms; they upgraded the kitchens, dining room and tv. Marriott does a good job maintaining this 20 year old property. The picnic facilities were excellent with 2 huge tvs, 6 grills, several tables and shade.
Rest of the resort: the workout center is a bit small, but a very nice locker room with steam room and sauna. Our building is about 6 minute walk from the beach or if willing to wait a few minutes catch the tram ride. If you stay in the ocean side of the facility you have very nice pools with a couple of massive umbrellas if you want shade (high demand for the chairs under the umbrellas folks!). I like the feel of the courtyard of the ocean facility; shuffleboard, corn hole, picnic pavilions and lots of swings....has a great feel to it. The restaurant All Y' Alls is just OK; drinks are pricy outside happy hour. Menu is typical bar food; try the fish sandwich and fish tacos. The cabana rentals are expensive but they were sold out and looked like a great way to spend a day relaxing in padded chairs and shade between the pool and the ocean. I always rent umbrellas on the beach; $32 for first day and $20 for subsequent days and allows you to laugh as everyone hauls all their gear to the beach and sets up their own umbrellas. One nice feature of Marriott time shares is the literally dozens of activities. Some have been dropped over the years (daily tennis clinics, sigh) but still a pretty impressive set of FREE deals like the ice cream sundaes, welcome breakfast, creamsicles, and 4th of July beverages. Kudos to Mike who led the fun run and amazing race which our crew won and received some nice prizes. We rented bikes $30 for the week; great to trek around the island on all the sidewalks. A couple of recommendations: the activities on the 4th were a bit sparse especially compared to prior years, might want to invest in some new exercise equipment, and tone down the recruiting for the sales pitch. The lady who chased us would not take no for an answer.
Still, well done Marriott. We are delighted in our time share investment (which I know is rarely said about time share ownership).

Room Tip: Will save lots of dollars/points if you book in garden area (Jasmine/Gardenia) versus Ocean but need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rfallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a nice experience here with just some thoughts to share. The property itself is amazing and the staff is wonderful! We booked through Vacation Candy and will definitely use them again. They were reliable with nice package sent to room thanking us for using their service. Was very pleased with that since we had never used their services.
The whole experience was such a good vacation for the family. Especially if you have a young family!! The pools are wonderful with grills that are clean and welcoming. Lot's of activities and the property is stunning!!! We only had two things to reflect on for our family. We stayed in the Gardenia building. It was a pretty good walk to the beach if you are carrying lots of things. Once you are there, you don't want to have to leave to come back for something so I would suggest if you are an avid beach goer that you take a beach cart on wheels. It's about a 5 min. walk which isn't too bad but is hard to navigate with a lot of things. We would just like to try to stay closer to the main building next time with ocean view at least. Our room was lovely and overlooked an awesome pool but just a bit far from the beach for us. If you have young kids and enjoy the pool, this is a great building and place to stay! The pool in front of the gardenia and jasmine building is awesome for young kids especially!!! This is a personal preference and thoughts for those of you that prefer the beach.
Also, in regards to the beach and not specific to Barony, I would take my own umbrella and chairs to set up. The umbrellas are $32 for the first day and $20 for each consecutive day after and there are no rules about people setting up their stuff in front of you. So you pay all that money and a whole family can come park right in front of your view of the ocean and set up camp for the day. It's just a lot to pay if you can just set up yourself and be in front of the people that are paying. Also, the chairs are so close to one another that you might as well be with another family. This is all done by the life guards so again, not really a Marriott issue at all. Just something to be aware of.
So, overall, the Marriott Barony Beach Club was an awesome vacation. Just think about whether you want to stay closer to the beach when you are reserving your room and again this is really personal preference. Overall it was a wonderful resort from top to bottom!

Room Tip: Choose a room with an ocean front or ocean view if you want to be close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DotNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your positive TripAdvisor review! We appreciate your feedback and are pleased your family enjoyed their stay with us. Our team looks forward to seeing you again at Marriott's Barony Beach Club!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.2 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
8.9 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
3.6 mi away
Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.1 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
4.7 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Barony Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Barony Beach Club

Address: 5 Grasslawn Ave, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5546
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: £100 - £523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Barony Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clear you mind poolside at Marriott's Barony Beach Club. Nestled on in infamous Hilton Head, South Carolina, your feet will be covered in sand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Marriott's Barony Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Barony Beach Club Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Barony Beach Hotel
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing