We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barony was Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Barony was Nice”
Reviewed 16 July 2007

We loved the Barony... will stay there again! The rooms were lovely, the staff was helpful.

Just know that the cabañas for rent are not on the beach, and that the chairs that are for rent are much better, however you have to go and speak with a lifeguard for a set of those.

We weren't in an ocean front room, which was a high priority for us, however it wasn't a problem at all, we had a view of the pool, and the beach trolley came to our building frequently.

Really nice place, will stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NoFrowning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    216
    53
    20
    12
See reviews for
392
193
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2007

Our family returned recently from a visit to the Marriott's Barony Beach Club and we all absolutely loved it!

To begin with, there are are a total of six accommodation buildings on the Barony property. Four of these units are on the main site and two are in the Gardenview property. The units that are on the main site are closer to the ocean however most do not have a view of the ocean. The Gardenview units are about a five minute walk to the beach. The Gardenview units and the Oceanview units are separated by the entrance to the Westin Resort. We stayed in the Gardenview units and found them to be perfect for what we were looking for. We found the Gardenview units to be quieter and more secluded than the Oceanview units.

There is a total of four pools on the property. There is a beautiful indoor pool located right near the front desk. There is also a hot tub at this pool. Just outside the main building is an outdoor pool. Near the ocean's edge is a large pool with a beautiful gazebo in the middle. At the Gardenview units there is a very large pool as well. Throughout the property there are several other hot tubs and small wading pools. Please note that the only outdoor pool that is heated is the pool by the main building. We visited at the end of April/beginning of May and found the water in the unheated pools to be a little chilly. We did use the heated pool in the evenings and it was great!

The units at the resort are absolutely beautiful. The master bedroom has a king-sized bed and whirlpool tub. The second bedroom has two queen-sized beds and a whirlpool tub as well. We found the kitchen to be very well stocked with everything you would need. The freezer has an ice machine which was great for making slushy drinks! There is a washer and dryer in the unit as well. The resort does get several movie channels on the TV which was great in the evenings for our teenager.

The grounds of the resort are really lush and very well-kept. There are gas BBQ's in the courtyards outside of the accommodations. We used them several evenings instead of going out for dinner every night. There are several grocery stores nearby to the plantation including Publix and Piggly Wiggly. We found prices in both to be quite reasonable.

The beach outside of the Barony is very nice. We found it to be very clean and not very busy. You can rent beach chairs and umbrellas if you would like. We went walking every morning and found lots of shells and ocean life.

Our family really enjoyed the location of the resort on the island. We found the Port Royal Plantation to be one of the quieter areas of the island. Everything is such a short drive away as the island is only twelve miles long. It was nice to be able to go and visit the more "touristy" areas of the island but be able to actually stay at a more secluded location. The bike paths on the island are a great way to get around and see the island and you get rent bikes directly from the resort.

Overall, we would highly recommend the resort for a memorable family vacation!

  • Liked — The pools and grounds.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank Can_amgirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2007

We stayed at the Marriott Barony Beach Club from March 17 thru March 24, 2007. We rented the bikes through the Marriott for $25 each for the week. They were very easy to ride on the beach and we rode everyday. The room was wonderful. We had a 2bedroom/2 bath room and it was clean and very nice. We went to Savannah and Beaufort for the day and my husbnd did some golfing. The Marriott did everything they could to make out stay wonderful. We would definitely go back and stay at the Barony Beach Club.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank janis7897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2007

We stayed at the Barony Beach in Feb. over Valentine's Day. The weather was mostly sunny in the mid 50's, so not warm enough for sunning and swimming, but still a very nice getaway. Hilton Head island is beautiful. Lots of trees and pretty beaches and tons of golf and shopping. The area is getting more congested, as there is only one way on and off the island. But the island has done a great job with building ordinances to retain the beauty of the area. We also went on day trips to Savannah and Charleston.

This Marriott property was very nice. We stayed in a roomy 2BR villa with full kitchen. The interior looked exactly like the photos on Marriott's website, and is tastefully decorated with granite countertops and nice furnishings. The layout for the master is a bit strange in that the jacuzzi tub and dual sinks are not separate from the bedroom itself--I guess if they put a full wall up it would have made the room seem small. The toilet and shower are separate, however. This wasn't a big deal to us and it is tastefully done. The 2nd BR was very roomy and had 2 queen beds and connected to the 2nd full bath.

The property itself did not seem that large. There is an indoor pool,
small workout room, and spa onsite, as well as an activity room. There are 4 main buildings separated by a lovely courtyard that has shuffleboard, 3 or 4 outdoor hot tubs, BBQ grills, and two outdoor pools (one closer to registration, one closer to the beach). The other buildings are a short walk from the main ones across another hotel property, and they are not beachfront. It has its own courtyard
with facilities, though I'm not sure if it has its own pool.

Due to the layout of the buildings, there are not many rooms that have a beachfront view, but the walk is really not far at all to the beach, especially if you are in one of the main buildings. The beach is large and sandy. Lots of trees and birds.

The service at the Barony was very good. I had told them it was my husband's birthday and there were balloons waiting on us in the room when we arrived. Our only negative was the construction happening at another property right next door that was supposed to stop at 7pm but continued until close to midnight on a couple of occasions. Calls to the front desk did not help--it wasn't their property. However, we did receive a nice letter a week or so after we returned home with a compensatory offer from the management.

Marriott has several properties on Hilton Head. We would return to this one and also try out some of the others.

  • Liked — luxurious accomodations and beautiful beach
  • Disliked — lack of beachfront rooms, but courtyard view is nice
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JVoMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.3 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
8.5 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#12 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
9.0 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
4.0 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
6.9 mi away
Marriott's Grande Ocean
Marriott's Grande Ocean
#3 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Barony Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Barony Beach Club

Property: Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Address: 5 Grasslawn Ave, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5546
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Barony Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clear you mind poolside at Marriott's Barony Beach Club. Nestled on in infamous Hilton Head, South Carolina, your feet will be covered in sand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Marriott's Barony Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Barony Beach Club Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Barony Beach Hotel
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing