We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Loved this resort for 2 overnights while in South Carolina. The staff was extremely helpful throughout the resort. The room with a garden view was decorated very nicely. The café food for breakfast buffet was great. Met some people on the beach who were very disappointed in their rooms but ours was very nice. We enjoyed showering and changing in the spa after we had already checked out. One thing that did annoy me was that the hotel did not provide chairs for the beach. There was a public rental concession behind the hotel and the rental cost for 2 junky chairs and an umbrella was $32 for the first day and $50 for 2 days, if booked on the first day. Next time I will buy a couple of bag chairs at a Walmart before going to the beach on Hilton Head.

Room Tip: Ask to view room before checking in.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Weblady-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Weblady-CT

We appreciate you choosing to spend your time at the Hilton Head Marriott Resort and Spa. I thank you very much for your review on the property. I'm pleased to see that the employee services throughout the property were excellent and to your satisfaction. Although we may not offer chairs for the beach, we do have a number of lounge chairs and 16 cabanas located around any of our 3 pools. Reservations for the cabanas can be made through the Front Desk at any time. Thank you for staying with us we hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,030)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,059 - 1,065 of 2,030 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We celebrated our 34th wedding anniversary here May 23-26 and had a wonderful time. The service was phenomenal. From the moment we arrived, Bobby made us feel welcome and was very thorough in explaining where we could find anything we might need on the property. The management sent us a complimentary bottle of champagne and tray of chocolate covered strawberries to celebrate our anniversary. The room had a wonderful view and we were at the end of the hall, which afforded us some peace and quiet. Every staff member we encountered was gracious and quick to answer any questions. We ordered room service for dinner the first night and they even checked back with us to make sure we enjoyed our meal. I am a former Disney employee and I felt as though each staff member had been through Disney training. The service was memorable. Thank you, everyone, for a wonderful anniversary celebration.

Room Tip: Request a room from the 5th floor up to get a view over the trees.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klabnort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The friendliest staff of any marriott . The rooms are a little tired but clean . Make sure you reserve the chairs & umbrellas that are facing the ocean they are 50 $ a day but we'll worth it. They come with two bottles of water , and a fruit plate. My only real complaint is that room services dishes were left in the hall all day long ( breakfast dishes still in hall at 10 pm ) .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Buddy2251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here in late April. Our rooms was clean and comfortable. Probably could use little bit of renovating. The facilities were good, pools, hot tub and restaurants were well maintained.We would stay again as it was right on the beach front. Next time I'll book a ocean front room.

Room Tip: choose an ocean front room for the view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sissy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed at this property for a convention. Just so-so. Hotel needs to be renovated.

When I checked-in, even though I am a Gold Marriott member my 'guaranteed' king-bed room was not available.

Amenities are ok and location is right on the ocean (which is nice).

I would choose a different hotel on HHI if i was staying for a vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 522JohnM522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

We appreciate your loyalty to the Marriott Brand. While we pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our guests’ expectations, we obviously failed you and for that we sincerely apologize. We do thank you for your valuable feedback and will address these areas immediately.

We are indeed scheduled for a renovation in the Fall of 2014. We intend to update our rooms, as well as our wireless network to be able to provide a speedier connection to our guest. We hope that you will visit again. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Head Marriott Resort and Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The location and outdoor amenities of the resort are excellent. However, the interior of the property beyond the lobby is disappointing for the category and price and this rating is for the hotel itself. I know a renovation is planned, but it is still unfortunate that Marriott has not invested more into the general upkeep of the interior of this property to date.

The room was damp and dank, with a strange odor. The cleanliness of the room was below average, with food and dirt debris on the carpet behind the bed stand, pink mildew/mold on the shower head, and scuffs on the walls. Housekeeping completely missed cleaning our room one day. Furniture was worn or poorly functioning, from the faulty bed-side table lamp switch to the screeching TV stand doors and ripped bed skirt.

For the price and Marriott brand, we expected better. I will say the staff service was excellent. Any issues encountered were quickly resolved. Just improving the cleanliness of the rooms would go a long way until planned renovations can be completed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATL23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear ATL23,

We appreciate you choosing to spend your time at the Hilton Head Marriott Resort and Spa. While we pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our guests’ expectations, we have obviously failed you and for that we sincerely apologize. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve in any and every area of the hotel.

Your concerns will be passed on to the appropriate managers so that we may ensure that this incident is not repeated

We are indeed scheduled for a renovation in Fall of 2014. We hope that you will visit with us after that time. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Head Marriott Resort and Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Like other reviewers this facility is showing its age. We heard there is a major renovation planned for later this year in Oct. First the positive, as many have said, the staff. They are excellent and doing the best they can.
For the negatives: Our room had a musty smell every time we walked in. The TV was tiny for the size of the room, some of the HD channels would just disappear like TNT while we were trying to watch the NBA playoffs, had to switch to the analog channel which was grainy. Biggest complaint was the wireless, connection was intermittent and even when connected you could not always retrieve email and such. At the pool, signs clearly said no one can reserve the chairs but if you did not get down by 8:00am most of the chairs had towels on them. There was a convention and the folks were up early for it so they would block out the chairs. They would sit empty until the convention broke around 2:00pm and they came down. Hey I am on vacation and don't want to get up at the crack of dawn just to reserve a spot at the pool. We realize there is a fine line between hassling guests but it needs to be fair for everyone at the pool area.
The pool bar was great and served three types of draft beer but closes around 5:00pm during the week. The indoor bar opens up but they don't serve draft beer, say what!

Room Tip: South tower rooms that face the Atlantic are nice.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanHalenII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear VanHalenII,

We appreciate you choosing to spend your time at the Hilton Head Marriot Resort and Spa. While we pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our guests’ expectations, we have obviously failed you and for that we sincerely apologize. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve in any and every area of the hotel.

We are happy to see that our staff made a great impression on you during your visit. We appreciate your comments. I do apologize for any inconvenience caused by not being able to enjoy our poolside/beach front cabanas. Reservations for the cabanas can be set up in advance with the Front Desk, prior to arrival.

Your concerns will be passed on to the appropriate managers so that we may ensure that this incident is not repeated

We are indeed scheduled for a renovation in the Fall of 2014. We intend to update our rooms, as well as our wireless network to be able to provide a speedier connection to our guest. We hope that you will visit again. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Head Marriott Resort and Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.7 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
5.8 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
3.6 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
296 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
866 reviews
0.4 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Hotel Circle, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5146
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: £159 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a premier oceanfront hotel at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa. Our world-class resort in Hilton Head, SC offers you an island escape in utter paradise. Enjoy newly renovated guestrooms, award-winning dining, three championship golf courses and spa. In addition, our distinctive Hilton Head oceanfront hotel's staff always delivers superior service to make your stay even more special. Our outstanding family-friendly retreat also offers a wide array of impressive amenities, including golf, tennis, biking, parasailing and so much more. Take advantage of our unbeatable location and enjoy easy access to a variety of nearby destinations, including local airports, shopping and popular tourist attractions. Plus, this Hilton Head resort provides dynamic event spaces, creating an ideal location to host your celebration or professional conference. Experience supreme relaxation and scenic views at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Head Marriott Resort And Spa
Hilton Head Marriott Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing