We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tired rooms”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Not for us. Rooms were beat up but price was right for on the beach. Room service food and drinks left on the floor of hallway when we checked in, still there when we checked out. I spoke with an assistant manager who was empathetic and agreed ALL the rooms were in the same condition however the property is undergoing a renovation in September. I also advised her of food left in hallway but to no avail. Best part of this stay was the Friday night movie by the pool (with popcorn).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MurphyS888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to spend your time at the Hilton Head Marriott Resort and Spa. While we pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our guests’ expectations, we have obviously failed you and for that we sincerely apologize. I am happy to see that you enjoyed our Dive in Movie. We have different activities available throughout the week and appreciate the positive feedback.
I’m terribly sorry about the issues you encountered during your stay. It must have been terribly frustrating for you.
As you mentioned, we are scheduled for a renovation in the Fall of 2014, with intentions to update our guest rooms as well as our internet services so that we may provide a speedier connection for all. We are very much looking forward to providing our guests with a fresh and new product. We hope that you will visit again. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Head Marriott Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    652
    390
    189
    107
See reviews for
614
688
44
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

The property has undergone new ownership and there are much fewer perks for reward members. 2 free coffees, breakfast, parking - no. Wi-fi connection- weak.
Additionally, worn out bathrobes, towels, and furniture present. Daily in-room roach killings also present.

Kudos: staff! Pleasant, helpful and diligent. The people who work for this Marriott make it great.

Pool: big and refreshing. Plenty of room. Bar & restaurant same as years past/ same menu too! $14 sandwich etc

Spa: dated again. Product in showers watered down. Not worth the price of massage for admittance so unless you have a treatment booked- skip.

Workout room: will
Suffice. On ground level-no view.

Ways to save $:
New Kroger grocery opened within a mile. Buy food, keep in mini-fridge. Eat simple bfast, pack subs from their deli for lunch at beach.
Bring your own chairs, umbrellas & bikes.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tisha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Tisha S

Thank you for choosing to spend your time at the Hilton Head Marriott Resort and Spa. While we pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our guests’ expectations, we have obviously failed you and for that we sincerely apologize. I'm happy to see that our guest service was to your satisfaction as well as our pools.

I’m terribly sorry about the issues you encountered during your stay. It must have been terribly frustrating for you.

We are scheduled for a renovation in the Fall of 2014. We are very much looking forward to providing our guests with a fresh and new product. We hope that you will visit again. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Head Marriott Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

A great relaxing and romantic getaway. Our too was very clean and nice. There are palm gardens. The pool is great with a bar. It's right on the beach and after dinner you can enjoy the bar and go dancing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gapeach66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
161 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We came here to celebrate or 45th anniversary. The location is great. The staff is great. Pool side bar is great. Property is showing its age and Internet access is terrible (we just stuck with our 3G/LTE).

I reserved an ocean-view room. The first room they assigned to us was a ground floor room overlooking the pool, ocean was no where in sight. I went to front desk and talked to a manager, they did find us a somewhat better room, still not what I was hoping for, but acceptable.

Would I come here again? Probably. It just wasn't up to par with my expectations.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Frank B,

I thank you very much for your review on the property. I'm pleased to see that the employee services throughout the property were excellent and to your satisfaction, and also that you thoroughly enjoyed our outdoor facilities. I’m terribly sorry for the issues you encountered with the room you booked and our internet service. I am happy to see that we were able to find another room for you that was more satisfactory.

We are scheduled for a renovation in the Fall of 2014, with intentions to update our guest rooms as well as our internet services so that we may provide a speedier connection for all. We are very much looking forward to providing our guests with a fresh and new product. We hope that you will visit again. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Head Marriott Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centre Hall, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton Head Marriott for our honeymoon. The staff was very friendly and helpful and allowed us to check in early (which was really great). We stayed in a Ocean Front room with a balcony. The view was amazing. Our room was clean and the bed was really comfortable. This hotel's location is perfect. The pool is only steps away from the beach. We did not eat at any of the restaurants at the hotel but they do give you the option of ordering from the pool and enjoying your meal poolside. The bar was a little pricey but the drinks were awesome. We ordered room service once, just dessert, and the staff was again super friendly. The desserts were amazing, totally worth the price.

While we did thoroughly enjoy our stay, there was one drawback. The shower was pretty bad. It was clean and very pretty but the water pressure was terrible and the temperature fluctuated from way to hot to way too cold.

That was a small thing though. We would absolutely stay at the Marriott again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

First off the hotel is called the Marriott Resort & Spa whereas the sign on the highway announces the Beach and Golf Resort. Don't go past thinking that there is the second Marriott somewhere else. As a resort this gets top marks. Restaurants, a spa, fitness centre, indoor and outdoor pools, opportunity to rent bicycles, very friendly and courteous staff and of course direct access to the beach, which is why you are coming to Hilton Head in the first place. Rooms, on the other hand, while comfortable are tired and in need of renovation. Cleaning of some of the common areas inside the hotel was less efficient than one might expect in a four star property as well. We did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the quality/value of food service. Value rating of very good applies to weekday prices; a rate hike of 50 percent on weekends seems a bit out of line, although maybe the competition does the same as well.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 325-341. They are on a mezzanine with a dining room below and the noise coming from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Ralph B,

I thank you very much for your review on the property. I'm pleased to see that our spa, fitness center, and employee services throughout the property were excellent and to your satisfaction, and also that you thoroughly enjoyed our outdoor facilities. I’m terribly sorry for the issues you encountered with your room; also, for the issues you noticed with our common areas.

Please be informed that we are scheduled for a renovation in the Fall of 2014. We are very much looking forward to providing our guests with a fresh and new product. We hope that you will visit again. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Head Marriott Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We read many of these reviews and decided to book at this hotel despite the unfavorable comments. I will say that I am glad we did despite some complaints. First The Bad: as stated, the internet connection is sporadic. If this is important to you, don't stay here. The towels and robes are very dingy. Better laundering techniques could have fixed this easily way back when they lost their whiteness. The food we had in the restaurant was just ok. We ate there on the first night and went out to other restaurants for our other meals. The AC in our room did not seem to be working correctly. The room had a slightly damp feel--not enough of a problem to complain to the front desk. That being said, The Good: The location of this resort is wonderful...a short walk to the very clean beach (but yes, bring your own chairs and umbrella if you don't want to rent at the high cost). The pool and surrounding areas were clean and nicely landscaped. Pool towels are fresh and abundant. Our room was on the 9th floor, facing the front of the hotel. We had decided not to upgrade to ocean view. The room was quiet and spacious. The bathroom had a counter height vanity and a walk in shower. Hot water was always available during the peak periods of late afternoon usage, when every beach and pool goer is showering. Yes, there were some breaks in the water pressure, but nothing unexpected. Many reviews have expressed dissatisfaction with the room decor. I did not find anything in our room that was so unacceptable. The bed was comfortable. Everything was clean. We both got a good night's sleep. We requested a later check-out and it was given. We used the time to walk around the area on the safe walking paths. Bottom line, it is not a perfect resort, but it has enough good to it that I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzq720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.7 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
5.8 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
3.6 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#7 of 28 in Hilton Head
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
799 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Hotel Cir, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5146
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a premier oceanfront hotel at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa. Our world-class resort in Hilton Head, SC offers you an island escape in utter paradise. Enjoy newly renovated guestrooms, award-winning dining, three championship golf courses and spa. In addition, our distinctive Hilton Head oceanfront hotel's staff always delivers superior service to make your stay even more special. Our outstanding family-friendly retreat also offers a wide array of impressive amenities, including golf, tennis, biking, parasailing and so much more. Take advantage of our unbeatable location and enjoy easy access to a variety of nearby destinations, including local airports, shopping and popular tourist attractions. Plus, this Hilton Head resort provides dynamic event spaces, creating an ideal location to host your celebration or professional conference. Experience supreme relaxation and scenic views at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Head Marriott Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing