We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, tired hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
atlanta, ga
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, tired hotel.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Needed a quick getaway - Hilton Head is always a favorite. We were just going for a couple of days so decided hotel, not condo. Checked online and found a 'decent' rate at Marriott. Pulled the trigger, got an oceanfront room. Overall, the common areas - lobby, pool, beach, etc. were very nice. The staff was friendly, knowledgeable and welcoming. The rooms, however are BADLY in need of a refurb. I was disappointed at a Marriott category 7 hotel that was in this poor shape. Maybe we will try this again after the renovations.

Room Tip: Great views of Atlantic.
See more room tips
Green Features: Not sure, seemed to be fairly responsible but I really didn't pay alot of attention.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank atlantafp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear atlantafp,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Head Marriott Resort and Spa. We appreciate your taking the time to give us some feedback over your stay.

I'm very excited to see that you enjoyed our pool, lobby, and beach access. Also, thank you for the kind comments about our staff. We are happy to see that we were able to meet your expectations in service.

I understand that your concern lies in the condition of our rooms. We are indeed expecting a renovation this coming fall, and are looking forward to bringing a fresh, new product to our guests'. We hope to see you in the future so that we may be able to exceed all your expectations.

Thank you again for your comments and choosing to stay at the Hilton Head Marriott Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    641
    384
    184
    103
See reviews for
601
678
44
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is a decent hotel. Rooms were pretty clean. One day our room was never made up despite being gone from11-6. Beach area is nice. Food at pool bar was decent and quick. Pool area looked nice , but we used the beach. Parking is sometimes hard if there's an event at the hotel that evening. We would stay here again, but this is an average property. Also, the cable goes in and out, which is really annoying. You miss about every fifth word when watching a program. The wifi is also horrible. Do not depend on this if you need it for work,etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gowithmeandsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

When we booked this hotel, the rates were ridiculously high all over HH so we used Marriott points and paid substantial extra dollars for an oceanview room. Given the state this hotel is in, I wish we had stayed elsewhere. Renovations which are scheduled for this fall should have been done last fall. Great location, but the hotel is showing its age in many ways. The beds in our room were horrible, sagging so badly I couldn't believe they had not been replaced. Made for a miserable night's sleep or lack thereof. The piece of furniture that held the television set was broken at the base so it was lower on one side than the other, making it impossible to shut the doors on it. Our oceanview room really wasn't. We were given a room on the main floor of the hotel, way back in a corner, and we could barely see the ocean. Management later said we should have asked for another room. No, we should have been given what we paid for the first time. If you are trusting the Marriott name, and the moniker of a Resort and Spa, you will likely be disappointed here.

Room Tip: Make sure you get what you paid for. Rooms are classified loosely. If you pay for an oceanview, make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Salt Water Diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Salt Water Diva,

First of all, thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hilton Head Marriott Resort and Spa. I'm sorry you were unhappy with your accommodations. As you were informed, yes, we will be renovating our rooms this coming fall. On top of the rooms, we also have a beautiful property with many amenities.

I hope you had a chance to stop and relax at one of our 3 pools or hot tubs. We also offer a lovely lounge for relaxing with a drink and snack inside or as you may have seen our pool bar, open daily for you. Our spa is always a great place to pop in a get a massage or facial while you are here with us. I hope that you were able to enjoy some or all of these amenities while you were our guest.

We hope to see you in the future, perhaps after our room renovations are complete so that we can show you that our property is exactly what you should expect when staying with Marriott.

Thanks again for choosing the Hilton Head Marriott Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My family and I had a good stay here. The room was dated and had a few cosmetic issues but overall it was clean and comfortable. The pool area was very nice and we enjoyed using it. The staff was very friendly. Yes, the hotel is starting to show age but for the most part it's very nice and I would stay again! We liked being oceanfront.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Basically, this hotel is tired at best as stated in many reviews. Yet, they continue to charge top dollar. I just completed a 5 night stay there and experienced many of the same problems as other reviewers....musty room, outdated decor and furniture, unclean carpet and curtains, etc. They did attempt to compensate us with a cabana, credit, moving rooms....but there is no compensation for unmet expectations of a luxurious vacation. The outside facilities and space are incredible. And, we spent all day each day outside. However, we are not nightlife people and like to retreat to the comfort of a lovely room. The constant reply was, "Renovations are coming in September"...well my vacation isn't. If you read the reviews, in each reply it says the same thing. They should have offered a complimentary stay after the renovations are complete...better yet, they should have renovated last year.

Room Tip: Wait until next summer to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pecangrovelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Pecangrovelover,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Head Marriott Resort and Spa. We appreciate your feedback. I'm terribly sorry you were not happy with you accommodations. Indeed we will be getting our renovations soon. We are excited to provide our guest with a fresh, new product. We hope that we will see you in the future.

Again, thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Before I came here, I thought that Marriott was a good hotel. Disappointing, the service was not good enough especially in ocean blu cafe. I saw some of staffs ate frenchfries in a bowl of customer. Omg! I could not believe. Bytheway, the room was clean although it was very old design and housekeepers are friendly. However, I do not think it is worth to pay too much for this hotel. The only one thing that I like is location. It seem like it is a fake Marriott when you compare with another branch.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Ginvel,

Thank you for choosing to spend your time at the Hilton Head Marriott Resort and Spa. While we pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our guests’ expectations, we have obviously failed you and for that we sincerely apologize.

I’m terribly sorry about the issues you encountered during your stay. It must have been terribly frustrating for you.

Please be aware that we are scheduled for a renovation in the Fall of 2014, and are very excited to give our guest and fresh new product. We hope that you will visit again. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Head Marriott Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Location, location, location. Staff is very friendly and helpful! Not stuffy at all. Yes, rooms need updated with a focus on controlling the humidity in the rooms, but it is a beachfront resort in the South! Our room was exactly as requested. We used points. Will definitely try to come back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian_Sherry20292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.7 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
5.8 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
3.6 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#7 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
5.1 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#12 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Hotel Cir, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5146
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a premier oceanfront hotel at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa. Our world-class resort in Hilton Head, SC offers you an island escape in utter paradise. Enjoy newly renovated guestrooms, award-winning dining, three championship golf courses and spa. In addition, our distinctive Hilton Head oceanfront hotel's staff always delivers superior service to make your stay even more special. Our outstanding family-friendly retreat also offers a wide array of impressive amenities, including golf, tennis, biking, parasailing and so much more. Take advantage of our unbeatable location and enjoy easy access to a variety of nearby destinations, including local airports, shopping and popular tourist attractions. Plus, this Hilton Head resort provides dynamic event spaces, creating an ideal location to host your celebration or professional conference. Experience supreme relaxation and scenic views at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Head Marriott Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing