We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable, Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have been staying at the Monarch for the last 15 years. It is Marriott's original timeshare property and they keep it decently updated. It's not the biggest, the best, nor does it have the amenities of other Marriott locations, but it is great for a family beach vacation. The rooms we always stay in contain a master suite, a second bedroom with two twin bed and attached full bath, kitchen, and living room with a queen size pull out bed that was probably the most comfortable pull out I have ever tried. There are LCD TVs in each bedroom and the living room. The living room also has a BluRay player. The full kitchen is decently stocked with plates, cookware, utensils, etc. If you plan on grilling on one of the 5 or 6 gas grill located at the gazebo and you're using a spatula, bring your own. The only spatulas in the unit are plastic. They do provide tongs that are about 12". There are two pools, three hot tubs, shuffleboard, a gas firepit, foosball, table tennis, covered lounges away from the pools, beach showers, and a children's water play area. Bikes, beach carts and chairs are all available for rent. There is also a decent fitness center. There are activities and events each day, some are free while you are charged for others. I feel that the Monarch's location is ideal. It is located next to the Sea Pines Beach Club (which is currently undergoing a sizable renovation) and across the street from the Sea Pines Plantation Club. It also seems to be in between Coligny Plaza, Harbourtown, and South Beach.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Magnolia Building which would not be my first choice, but it wasn't bad. When...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KFCincy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. We are pleased to hear you and your family had a comfortable stay at Marriott's Monarch. Your comments regarding your experience are helpful and greatly appreciated. The pull-out bed is indeed surprisingly comfortable! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were lucky to get an exchange into the Monarch. The location is ideal and it's easy to get to anything in Sea Pines.
We were contacted before we arrived by a concierge who was able to tell us everything we needed to know in advance - where the markets are, (no food on premises at all) set up golf for my husband, and reviewed my list of restaurants.
The resort is 30 years old and showing its age. The corridors are dirty and dingy, and although they were power washed while we were there, it really did not help.
Our unit, however, was spacious, bright and well-equipped. The kitchen lacked nothing and it's nice to have a washer drier right in the unit.
The beach, a short flight of stairs from the pool deck, is absolutely spectacular. Stop at Walgreen's or Walmart and grab some sand chairs (they are very cheap and you can leave them for someone else when you leave - we did) and you will be all set - the beach is public and the resort charges a lot for renting chairs.
There were some activities for families at the pool around mid-day. I just plugged in my headphones and put my music up louder and was not bothered.
Hilton Head is delightful - we enjoyed a dolphin boat ride and my husband loved the golf - it was quite reasonable with the Marriott package. Most of the restaurants we went to were terrific.
Being a timeshare, there is a soft push to go to a presentation. if you decline, they do not persist.
We look forward to returning to Hilton Head and would like to try some of the other Marriott properties, but i would not hesitate to stay at the Monarch again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larainerenee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

we stayed on the 3rd floor of the Camelia building recently. The exterior coridor was always dirty. There was lots of dirt and spills on the walkway.
I spoke to someone at the front desk and was told, they PRESSURE WASH, ONCE A YEAR, DURING RENOVATIONS.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank chris507912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. We are sorry the cleanliness of the corridors were not up to Marriott's standard and that we could not accommodate a cleaning during your stay. Your feedback has been noted and will be shared with our management team at the resort. Thank you for staying with us at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Came to the Monarch for a long weekend. Got a two room suite, plenty of space, it's like a small apartment. Services were great. Fabulous beach and GREAT bike paths. This is a nice family resort, remarkably quiet. Could not have enjoyed it more. Bring your bikes (although there are plenty to rent).

Great eating establishments close by, Salty Dog ice cream is a great (overpriced) treat.

We will come back!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We have stayed at Monarch previously, but now see a big change…. more activity and more noise. One of the biggest changes is in an increase children’s activities with music and games three times a week 12-2pm or 3pm. When the music was too loud we escaped by biking, but the night movie in the gazebo is a bit much. Designed to entertain swimming children, it turned into a loud screaming horseplay pool party. Thank goodness it ended at 10 PM. It appears Monarch has chosen to act as a day care for children at the expense of adult relaxation.
Then one morning we were awakened at 5 AM to the sound of banging pipes. After investigating, we saw the night guard arranging, elevating, and repositioning pool furniture. Too bad management does not understand that this noise travels. This appears to be an ongoing issue addressed successfully in the past but now reoccurring.
Wanted to go for quiet early morning swims at 7 AM, only to be driven off by the sound of the leaf blower each day. One morning there was no blower…wonderful I thought, but in a few minutes the deck power washer appeared …OMG. In earlier years pool deck washing was done on Sat. the check–in day. If you want an early morning swim you may want to try 6-7AM.
So if you want peace and quiet, try to get a villa far away from the pool or maybe come off season…..right now Monarch is in full summer camp mode.

Room Tip: rooms away from pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lainywe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. We are apologize that your vacation was repeatedly interrupted by excess noise and was less than relaxing. Your feedback regarding our pool staff and grounds keepers is very important to us and will be shared with the appropriate managers. Thank you again for sharing your experience and for staying at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We never hesitate to return to the Monarch, and we are never disappointed. We love the Sea Pines location, sheltered bike paths, its beach, the lush gardens, the well maintained pools, fitness rooms, and spacious, comfortable villas.
We own a time share week at Surf Watch which we always successfully trade through the Vacation Club, and use left over points for a Monarch vacation whenever possible. Quite frankly, we prefer this property due to the location and convenient walking accessibility to the beach even though Surf Watch is considered more high end.
Our villa's bathrooms were recently beautifully upgraded. It is always fun to return to witness what improvements Marriott has made.
We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LUchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I was in Hilton Head for 5 days and stayed at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines. Very nice location - quiet, access to a number of things within an easy drive and to some larger wildlife areas that are an hour or so away. I've been an MVCI owner for about 20 years, and have stayed at quite a few MVCI properties. This has to be one of the older ones. While the villa itself was very nice and seemed to have been updated, the buildings don't resemble the newer MVCI properties. Regardless of that, if you're going to be in the Hilton Head area and want a nice place that doesn't require the most points, Monarch at Sea Pines is a safe bet. I know I'll be there when I go back to Hilton Head in the future.

Room Tip: I always ask for a high floor, because I know they'll be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gdadtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thanks for staying with us at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines! The resort is actually the first Marriott Vacation Club resort that opened 30 years ago. We appreciate your positive review and for being an owner for over 20 years! Please visit us again on your next trip to Hilton Head Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.4 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
1.4 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
8.4 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove
1.5 mi away
Marriott's Heritage Club
Marriott's Heritage Club
#21 of 28 in Hilton Head
76 reviews
4.6 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines

Address: 91 N Sea Pines Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6002
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range: £125 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Monarch At Sea Pines Hotel Hilton Head
Marriotts Hilton Head
Marriotts Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing