We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Key cards a pain in the neck”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Lane Hotel and Suites
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I had to return many times for different key cards. They did not work. Other travelers were experiencing the same thing. The air conditioner was very loud. The sliding door barely worked. I called maintenance who came and sprayed it which helped a bit. The back opened up to the dog walking area which was not well maintained. The chairs on our little porch area had not been cleaned in a very long time. The room was a nice size and the shower was great. Would not return there. Too many other choices.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank H m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12parklane, Front Office Manager at Park Lane Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

You are correct....the key cards a a "pain in the neck"! However I am relieved to state that new keys have been ordered and materials purchased to correct all of the locks.....Yeah!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

We recently stayed at Park Lane for a few nights while visiting Hilton Head. We got a really great rate through a travel deal website and didn't know what to expect at this hotel. The room was large and appeared to have been updated recently; however, there were signs of wear-and-tear. The room was large and had a full kitchen, but the bathroom was tiny! I have never seen a hotel bathroom that was so small. The pool area was beautiful and clean. And the property appeared to be well kept. The free breakfast was a nice perk but really nothing extraordinary (bagels, cereal, muffins, etc). The location is fantastic! Close to everything and located right along a major bike trail. This hotel is simply average, however, I would stay here again if I got a great deal (but definitely would not pay the hotel's list price).

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the hallway ice maker. It made noise all night long, regardless if some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tnfirewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here last weekend of sept rooms were clean free wifi was fast pool was clean nice sitting area to enjoy coffee real close to the beach and lighthouse about 3 to 5 min drive to go every where

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fritokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12parklane, General Manager at Park Lane Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

I am very happy that your stay with us went well. Now that you know us don't stay away so long!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I read that this property had been a Residence Inn and I was not sure what to expect whether it had gotten run down and changed names? The property is in very nice shape inside and out. The rooms are large with full size kitchen appliances. The bed was very comfortable, the furniture, rug and cabinets all it great shape and of good quality. We were not down for a "beach" getaway so the location was ideal to do the sight seeing and running around we had in our plans. Nicks the restaurant across the parking lot had great food and you dont have to get in the car. For families looking to keep food costs down you can have some/all of your meals in the room. You also get a free light breakfast in the lobby every morning. Overall Park Lane was very nice and we enjoyed our short two night stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12parklane, General Manager at Park Lane Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Great review for others looking to stay with us. Even though you weren't here for a "beach getaway" for those wanting the sun and sand we are only a short distance from the beach by bike or car!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We were booked into this hotel through an owners update from Coral Sands. We were told it was updated and very nice. The room appeared to be clean enough, but had a doggie smell. The sheets were very thin and I felt uncomfortable getting into bed. Overall, the whole place was kind of creepy. We were booked for 2 nights but left after 1 night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank curlygirlNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12parklane, General Manager at Park Lane Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

We understand that not all guests will give glowing reviews, however, I feel I must state that we are not "creepy" in the least and am wondering how thin sheets could convey that feeling. I would be interested to know should you want to email me back. Sorry your stay was not what you expected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The only reason we stayed at Park Lane was through an owners update meeting and Park Lane is where we stayed. According to the staff they have spent a lot of money upgrading the buildings. Well, they didn't spend enough!!! I would rate this place about the same as a Red Roof Inn if that good. We never knew if the toilet would flush the entire time we were there. Yes, they had to come to the room to fix that problem. The AC unit was on the wall directly beside our bed and it ran the entire time we were there. All of that AC blowing in our faces all night long was terrible. The bathroom needed lots of work to repair the wear and tear it had. Their free breakfast was the worst I've ever seen. We didn't even bother to eat there.

Room Tip: There isn't a restaurant and we didn't participate with kid activities which I don't thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darla I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12parklane, General Manager at Park Lane Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to review the Park Lane Hotel & Suites. With over 20 items from which to choose I am surprised that you did not like our continental breakfast...it is very popular with our guests as is the Starbucks coffee. We are strongly considering a hot breakfast beginning with the new year so you may want to give us a second chance in the food arena! I do want to make certain that your toilet was fixed during your stay...your review reads as if the toilet was not working the "entire" time. Please email me back with your room number so I can make certain that the issue was taken care of. We hope you visit the island soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I recently attended a 2-day conference which was held at the Park Lane Hotel. Our assigned room had an upstairs bedroom and we were surprised at how spacious it was. The suite had a full kitchen supplied with the comforts of home. Loved the fact that it had two full bathrooms (one upstairs and one down). I slept on the sofa sleeper and it wasn't bad, my sister slept upstairs in the bed and she said she got a good rest. The continental breakfast included the basic continental stuff, we actually brought items with us and ate in our room one morning but did take advantage of the hotel breakfast on the morning of our departure. We tried to take advantage of the exercise room but it isn't connected where you can enter through the hotel lobby and the lighting was poor. It was very small with only a couple of equipment pieces and my sister and I were only there for 5 mins.....didn't feel safe since it was so closed off and felt isolated. Our conference room was a nice size, we had about 80 participants and enjoyed having a conference room which was equipped with a kitchen as well as a nice lobby area with restrooms. The hotel location was great, close proximity to plenty of restaurants and we took advantage of shopping at the Tanger Outlets (great deals). The hotel does allow pets, I was a bit concerned and called to inquire about getting a room that did not have any previous pet guests....I was advised that they could not guarantee it because at some point, all rooms have had pets in them. The associate advised me that the rooms are thoroughly cleaned after a pet has left and I must say -- the room did not smell of a pet. The balcony could have used a good cleaning but other than that, we enjoyed our weekend stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAFamilyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12parklane, General Manager at Park Lane Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thanks for reviewing your stay with us. Many of our guests love the lofts because of the convenience of having two bathrooms. I'm glad you found our Banquet Room top notch - the kitchen area is definitely an added benefit. Look forward to hosting your group again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.7 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
1.9 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
327 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
895 reviews
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
#22 of 28 in Hilton Head
462 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#14 of 28 in Hilton Head
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Lane Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Hotel and Suites

Address: 12 Park Ln, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3409 (Formerly Residence Inn)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range: £73 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Lane Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shaded by magnolia and palmetto trees, Park Lane Hotel sits in the center of the island, just minutes from beaches, shopping, and gourmet restaurants. An arched driveway leads to the hotel's stately entrance, which is adorned with thick columns and white chimney stacks rising from a slate roof. Inside, each spacious suite features a full kitchen with granite countertops. Overstuffed armchairs and fireplaces create a cozy environment for unwinding. The Park Lane Hotel & Suites is the island's only all suite property with 156 rooms. Guests enjoy daily complimentary continental breakfast, 24/7 complimentary Starbucks coffee, high-speed wireless internet, outdoor pool and jacuzzi and is Dog Friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Lane Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Lane Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing