We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Lane Hotel and Suites
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Not much that I can complain about. Front desk staff were all very nice. All the bad reviews on this site do not reflect this hotel. The room was clean, the bed could have been better a little lumpy. The layout of the room was good and the room was very spacious for me and my wife. We had some dishes in the sink that we were going to wash later that day and while we were gone the house keeper came in and put them in the dishwasher for us. The grounds were very clean. The breakfast was basic there was a good space for the breakfast area but there was never any orange juice as avertisted. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmac10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Check in staff was appropriately friendly, but from there, it was a disappointment. This was purchased as a Living Social deal, but the actuality doesn't match the web. The bathroom is very small (not really any counter space for personal items!) and the tub took forever to drain after a quick shower. The bed wasn't terribly comfortable, most likely needs to be replaced. Didn't bother to sit on the sofa and the TV could've been a bit larger considering the layout of the room. The worst part was being able to hear every thing outside of the room: dogs barking at people in the hallways, conversations, babies crying. As a seasoned traveler, I most likely wouldn't return to this property.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank coolwater718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12parklane, General Manager at Park Lane Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for your review. You are correct in stating that we have small bathrooms, however small bathrooms make room for large kitchen areas with full sized appliances! If you would email us the room you were in I can have our maintenance staff fix the tub drain problem so the next guests do not experience a slow drain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed at the Park Lane Hotel due to a Living Social deal. We were pleased with the accommodation and would stay there again.

We had a loft suite (3rd floor A building) which faced the swimming pool area. The living area was very nice with a full kitchen including dishwasher, dining table for 4, a fireplace, and nice furniture (almost new), and a TV and DVD. There was a full bath on this level also. The kitchen was equipped well enough to handle cooking for a 2- 4 people if desired. There was a small balcony which overlooked the pool area.

The loft had a queen bed with a dresser and a small bathroom but no closet….you had to use the one downstairs. The bed was very comfortable and we did not use the topper we always carry with us!

While the hotel was well occupied, our 3rd floor was not and this helped us have a quiet stay. We had little noise in the loft area except for background A/C hum but while on the lower floor, door closings and people talking in the hallway where noticeable. Then there is the emergency access door of the loft which leads to the roof…..saw some comments about some people using it as a party area. Nothing like that happened while we were there.

The breakfast area seated about 30 and could get quite crowded. Starbucks coffee, wweet rolls, muffins, cereal, bagels and fruit were provided.

Location, while not near the beach, was good. Within a short drive are a Fresh Market and a new Kroger at Shelter Towne Center that has to be one of the largest grocery stores I have been in with a salad bar and deli bar which included BBQ, pizza, deli sandwiches and much more. Between the Kroger and the Fresh Market and over 200 restaurants on the island, you food needs are taken care of.

Coligny Beach is about 3 miles from the hotel. This is the main beach (free parking) where everyone walks at sunrise and sunsets as well as swims. From experience, the sunsets can have vivid bronze tints I have not seen elsewhere…..while the sun sets over land at the south end of the beach, looking down the beach makes a beautiful photo. There are several other beach access beaches within a couple of miles – Driessen and Alder Beach Lane.

At the Villages of Wexford Shopping Center nearby are the Smith Galleries and The Jazz Corner, both worth checking out. For a $5 fee you can explore Sea Pines Plantation which has Harbour Town, South Beach Marina, Sea Pines Forest Preserve, and Lawton Stables and petting zoo to mention a few attractions.

About the only negatives were some mildew around the tub in both bathrooms, no closet in the loft and a small bathroom in the loft. Everything else was clean and well kept.

Room Tip: For quiet, B building, back side away from parking area might be best. Loft gives a quiet sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gangin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12parklane, General Manager at Park Lane Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thanks so much for your review. I'm certain that your review detail will help many travelers with their decision of where to stay. We are glad to hear you will stay with us again on your next visit. Hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Price-wise with the Living Social deal it was good however the bathroom was tiny, dated, caulk around the shower and walls was filthy, cracked and broken in places, the beds were not very comfortable (a bit lumpy), additional fees were added at checkout beyond the Living Social deal in the amount of $26 (resort nightly fees & taxes), we couldn't get near the breakfast area as it was extremely small and crowded so we ended up going elsewhere. Pool towels are handed out by the front desk and the lady working the desk was quite rude, made you sign a form with the number of towels and informed us that if the towels weren't returned to the front desk by 10am the following morning. You couldn't leave them in the room for housekeeping to pick up. All in all it wasn't terrible by any means but we would most likely stay elsewhere when next we visit Hilton Head.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jshn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12parklane, General Manager at Park Lane Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for your review. I would like to take the opportunity to respond to your concerns. Our housekeeping staff work very hard and diligently to maintain our accommodations that most people find great. There is nothing filthy in our bathrooms. Regarding the "lumpy bed" , the majority of our guests compliment us on our beds, so much so that they often request the manufacturer. However we do not like our guests to be uncomfortable so for that I apologize. The nightly Resort Fees are printed on all web sites prominently as was done with our Living Social deal so that should not have been a surprise to you. Our pool towels are presented to guests as most hotels do. It is unfortunate that you have to sign but so many guests would take our towels that we would have to replace them over and over. We apologize for the inconvenience but are assured that you would rather do that than have the expense of pool towel replacements reflected in your bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

To those that are writing complaints: GET OVER it! If you want all of that and more, then why don't you check into a much more expensive resort hotel??? STOP complaining! This hotel never purported to be an elite resort. It's a conveniently located, family-friendly, kitchen-equipped, reasonably priced, low-key hotel that's good for long-term stays. My family and I were VERY HAPPY and VERY COMFORTABLE during our stay. We always enjoy the fully-equipped kitchens wherever we go so that we can get some healthy home-cooked food in our system while we're vacationing. Our room wasn't palatial but it had two decent double beds with everything working fine. Using the incredible deal via Living Social made us even more happy. The front desk was always courteous as well as all the other attendants. While I generally ate my own prepared breakfast, they always had a generous supply of fruits and well-brewed Starbucks along with Tazo teas in stock. We'll be returning again as we enjoyed the island (our first visit) with the various activities we could do within the 3-mile radius from this hotel. I'd highly recommend this hotel. Having travelled and lived in 39 states, I know a TOP VALUE hotel for the money when I visit one. Trust me and don't get worked up with the reviews below.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmartConsumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12parklane, General Manager at Park Lane Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for your great review! I could not have said it any better myself!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

An older hotel that appears to be going through some renovations. First the staff was friendly, and the room was clean. The room felt small, but did have a full size stove, and refrig, as well as a dish washer and microwave. The bathroom was very small. The room was quiet except for the refrig that would wake us a couple times a night because it was so loud. Breakfast was free, but crowed every morning. Nice selection, but no hot foods. Not close to the ocean or within walking distance to stores. Because of the location away from the best features of Hilton Head, I would no go back.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank MrOzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Am staying three nights at Park Lane and young lady behind desk has been unbelievably helpful in guiding an old couple, my wife and I. Shwander showed me how to get on wire fi, find places, one behind me without laughing and stopped her chores to find a file and print travel details. Her smile lights up the room. (not a relative or previously known her)

Room Tip: pick a room near the doorways to avoid a long walk look for luggage racks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bakermtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.7 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
1.9 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
311 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
#22 of 28 in Hilton Head
460 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Hilton Head
Days Inn Hilton Head
#25 of 28 in Hilton Head
615 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Lane Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Hotel and Suites

Address: 12 Park Ln, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3409 (Formerly Residence Inn)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range: £80 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Lane Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shaded by magnolia and palmetto trees, Park Lane Hotel sits in the center of the island, just minutes from beaches, shopping, and gourmet restaurants. An arched driveway leads to the hotel's stately entrance, which is adorned with thick columns and white chimney stacks rising from a slate roof. Inside, each spacious suite features a full kitchen with granite countertops. Overstuffed armchairs and fireplaces create a cozy environment for unwinding. The Park Lane Hotel & Suites is the island's only all suite property with 156 rooms. Guests enjoy daily complimentary continental breakfast, 24/7 complimentary Starbucks coffee, high-speed wireless internet, outdoor pool and jacuzzi and is Dog Friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Lane Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Lane Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing