We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated, HOT, roaches...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Lane Hotel and Suites
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Vidalia, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outdated, HOT, roaches...”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The pics on the website make this look like a beautiful place. However, it is VERY outdated. Cockroaches everywhere. Upstairs was extremely hot. Couldn't even get dressed upstairs. The balcony we had would barely fit one person and the door didn't even close all the way. No beach access which sucked because trying to find parking was a joke. We ordered pizza one night and the front desk called and we had to go pick it up. You would think after paying what we did and staying 4 days and 3 nights, a staff member would've offered to bring the pizza guy to our room. There is absolutely no insulation in the walls. We could hear every slam of every door constantly. And could hear housekeeping banging on the doors. Not to mention, me and my husband had our "do not disturb" sign on the door and maid service still insisted on knocking and yelling until we finally went to the door!! We will not be staying here ever again!!! If you want a decent place, you won't either!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank april m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    224
    135
    66
    58
See reviews for
223
239
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

NON SMOKERS...BEWARE OF PARK LANE HOTEL AND CONDOMINIUMS, HILTON HEAD, SC! This hotel is advertised on Hotels.com's Website as being a "smoke free property." On Park Lane's own Website they tout that they are a "non smoking hotel." These statements are completely untrue!

I booked my Park Lane reservation through Hotels.com based upon their promise to me that I would be able to relax in a smoke free property. PARK LANE IS ABSOLUTELY NOT A SMOKE FREE PROPERTY. Park Lane allows hotel patrons to smoke in all common areas (pool, hot tub, parking lot, even on the balconies directly outside the hotel rooms.) IF YOU LEAVE YOUR BALCONY DOOR OPEN, ANYONE LOCATED IN THE ROOM BELOW, ABOVE OR BESIDE YOU MAY WELL BE SMOKING...AND THIS SMOKE WILL THEN TRAVEL INTO YOUR ROOM. This hotel failed to advertise that their smoke free policy is limited to only the interior of their hotel buildings. Smokers were puffing away from their balconies, beside the hot tub, at many tables and chairs located directly beside the pool and all over the parking lot. Complaints made to the Park Lane staff about the smoking were not taken seriously and the staff was EXTREMELY rude. Park Lane being advertised as a smoke free property is totally misleading. There in fact were so many actively smoking guests staying at this hotel that I have to believe that effective word of mouth advertising between smokers has led many smokers to stay at this hotel...as they know the real deal, which is "If you're a smoker that wants to stay at Park Lane, just don't smoke in your hotel room and you will be allowed to smoke everywhere else on the property." What about the omnipresent cigarette butts? No problem...smokers were allowed by the hotel to leave them around the entire property for all of the non smokers to enjoy.

MY CHECK IN EXPERIENCE WAS ALSO HORRENDOUS. Park Lane could not find my guaranteed, pre-paid reservation at check in and it took over 30 minutes of wrangling with multiple hotel staff to finally secure my hotel room.

Because Hotels.com advertises Park Lane as a smoke free property in their advertising, I confronted Hotels.com that this is an untrue statement. Hotels.com has refused to delete this false information from their website and has been totally unsympathetic to my plight. They stated to me that they could not be held accountable for posting false hotel information on their Website and had no plans to to correct their Website's obvious misrepresentation of Park Lane.

NON SMOKERS...STAY AT PARK LANE AT YOUR OWN RISK!

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel if you are a non smoker! Smokers have freedom to smoke anywhere on the pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tennisplayer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hilton Head hotels

Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Clean but dated room. We chose this hotel because it was pet friendly. However, for the $75 pet fee we could have stayed somewhere nicer and closer to the beach with our dog. We wouldn't book here again. The staff was nice and helpful though.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We booked this hotel on hotwire, and were a bit worried when we read the reviews. Maybe our expectations were low, but overall, we found this hotel to be better than expected. The rooms were large and clean and each had a full kitchen which was convenient. The breakfast provided was ok (milk, toast, juice, yogurt, cereal) and always had starbucks coffee brewing in the lobby. They had premium TV channels for free if you are into that kind of thing. Our internet connection was good and included. Given the prices of hotels in Hilton Head, this hotel was a good value and a good option for families. The location is a short drive to the beach, but you definitely should drive or bike. The overall location of the hotel is good as it is centrally located on HHI and a short drive to everything and Coligny Beach. This hotel is pretty consistent with their 3-star rating. The staff could be friendlier. When I first arrived, a woman at the desk said to me "I don't know how you were able to book a room, we are pretty full". That was a bit unsettling. Also, at the very end of our stay, we saw a large (dead) bug in our room. I think it was a cockroach. Overall, it was a decent place to sleep, and good value. The fact that is was quite clean redeemed it for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zeddyfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Where to start. Let me just say that part of our disgust with this place is the fact that we have called MULTIPLE times and no one has returned our calls to discuss the issues...one being, did anyone find my diamond stud earrings?? The earrings were in my jewelry carrying case prior to leaving the hotel that morning for a bike ride, breakfast & swim & then ultimately checking-out but when we arrived home they were gone. Perhaps someone found them?? Helpful if someone would call us back. Then, after cleaning service had just come, 2 enormous cockroaches were in the bathroom. We live in GA so we realize that cockroaches are very common; however, I expect the hotel to be treating for these nasty bugs. We treat our house & it is very rare that we find one inside. Lastly, the upstairs loft area is HOT!!! We couldn't even be up there until nightfall. All four of us were using the same bathroom downstairs to get ready. The a/c was blasting but to no avail. It was truly unbearable. Since moving to GA in the last few years, we have traveled to Hilton Head many times. This by far was the worst stay ever. And, Steve or Mary or whoever is the manager at Park Lane, when you decide to come back to work, because apparently you are out on most occasions, you owe my husband a phone call.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 844adrienned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I was a little nervous to stay here after reading some of the reviews, however, we had a really wonderful stay. Our room was much larger than expected, clean and recently renovated. The staff was friendly and the grounds were kept very presentable. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jeszjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creedmoor, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I will start off by saying what I liked. The room with the loft was great because we were able to have some privacy from our 6 year old at night. We were told the hotel had recently been renovated, however we encountered quite a few issues: (1) the tub and bathroom sinks drained very slowly (2) the air conditioner vent upstairs did not flow air upstairs unless you closed the vent downstairs and (3) the room in the upstairs loft was very cramped. Note there are certain rooms blocked off for travelers who will be doing a tour with a timeshare versus regular rooms for travelers. We stayed in both, both rooms had roaches the regular room seemed to be maintained better by the hotel. If roaches creep you out don't stay here because you will definitely see them. My wife saw maintenance personnel carrying bug spray around with them. We came down here to do a timeshare tour I did see the reviews about the roaches and other problems with the hotel. Unless you are staying here to do a tour I wouldn't stay here. If you are trying to save some money, you may want to consider Park Lane Hotel & Suites.

You get what you pay for sometimes....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.7 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
1.9 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
268 reviews
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
#22 of 28 in Hilton Head
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Hilton Head
Days Inn Hilton Head
#23 of 28 in Hilton Head
583 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Hilton Head
Ramada Hilton Head
#18 of 28 in Hilton Head
587 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Lane Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Hotel and Suites

Property: Park Lane Hotel and Suites
Address: 12 Park Ln, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3409 (Formerly Residence Inn)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Lane Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shaded by magnolia and palmetto trees, Park Lane Hotel sits in the center of the island, just minutes from beaches, shopping, and gourmet restaurants. The hotel caters both to those seeking relaxation and action, combining laid-back luxury with sports facilities including tennis courts, a basketball court, and a kids' playground. An arched driveway leads to the hotel's stately entrance, which is adorned with thick columns and white chimney stacks rising from a slate roof. Inside, each spacious suite features a full kitchen with granite countertops. Overstuffed armchairs and fireplaces create a cozy environment for unwinding. The Park Lane Hotel & Suites is the island's only all suite property with 156 rooms. Guests enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, high-speed wireless internet, outdoor pool and jacuzzi and is Pet Friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Park Lane Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Lane Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing