We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would not recommend this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The reservations were incorrect and the price of breakfast is cheaper at other places than at the hotel itself. The cleanliness of the hotel was very good but I have stayed at many Hilton hotels in the past and this one is the first and only one that charged for breakfast and $10 each just was not a reasonable for amount for us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
4  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Hello, Richard B!!!

Thanks for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn!!!!

Thanks for taking time to post a review of our hotel...I will pass along your compliments of the cleanliness of our hotel to our entire Hotel Team!!! Also, thank you for giving us feedback about our breakfast...we do offer cook-to-order breakfast in addtion to the buffet. We continually strive to improve on our breakfast selection and service!!!

You can count on us!!! Guaranteed!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Cheryl High, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 877 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a very nice and clean hotel and a good location. Right at the bridge before crossing over onto the island. Dining shopping beach all close by. Or a drive to Savannah to the Historic District just a few miles away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
3  Thank Judy P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Thanks, Judy P S, for reviewing our hotel! Hope you got a chance to visit the beaches and shop! Please come back to see us again soon! Take care!

Cheryl High
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Staying at Hilton Head on the way down to Disney allowed us to stay here for a couple of nights. I want to point out a great employee we had the pleasure of meeting, Vitalia. She was there to check us in Friday night and there to help us both mornings for our breakfast.....always with a smile! The location made it easy to access all of the local flavor, both on Hilton Head and also around Blufton.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OH-traveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Hi, OH-traveler71! We hope you enjoyed your trip To Disney...but we are so glad you stop and spent a little time with us on the way! Please come back and visit us again soon! Safe travels!

Cheryl High
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel is very nice, but the bed were hard & for the price you would think that the breakfast would be free. The location of the hotel is on the opposite side of a busy street. Had to go up a 1/2 a mile, make a U turn to get back to the hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
3  Thank Clinton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Hi, Clinton H!

Thank you so much for taking a moment to share your experience here at the Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head, SC! I understand your frustration with the traffic here....this is a very busy time of the season, but we are so glad you chose us for your visit!

Also, I apologize about the bedding comfort. Our beds are the Hilton Garden Inn Sleep System and each side has a custom control. I apologize if this was not explained to you at checkin...I will refresh my Front Desk on this.

Again, we thank you for choosing to stay with us...and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future!

You Can Count On Us! Guaranteed!

Sincerely,

Cheryl High
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

First I have to say I'm a Hilton fan and use their hotels all over the world. In the US the Hiton Garden Inn is my go to travel hotel, and the Hilton Head property did not disappoint. Staff were efficient and friendly, beds had adjustable firmness mode, and breakfast was very good. A real plus is the below hotel parking with elevators to all floors. Pretty location even though it is not actual on Hilton Head itself. Another reason the Garden Inn is my travel hotel is that you always have breakfast and dinner available in the hotel, so you don't have to search for a restuarant. However, at this location there is an excellent French restuarant, Claude & Uli's, literally 5 mins walk along the little road of Moss Creek Village. A definite plus-plus!

Room Tip: Normally get a room away from the elevator as they can be noisy in some of the hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful compliments about our hotel and HGI Team, A R H! And thanks for being a loyal HGI guest! We definitely strive to make every guest's stay a most enjoyable experience! We will see you the next time you visit Hilton Head, SC! You can count on us!

Cheryl High, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

While not actually on Hilton Head, this hotel is only feet from the causeway on to the island -- so great for running on to the island for dinner, beaches, etc. The Hilton Gardens is a very nice facility with wonderful, friendly staff. The cooked to order breakfasts (included in our package) were very well done.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
2  Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2014

Good day, Wayne P! We are so excited that you gave us such great compliments on our hotel and staff...thank you! We love it when our guests really enjoy their time with us...please come back to see us soon! You can count on us!

Cheryl High, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My husband was traveling to Hilton Head for work, so the family decided to tag along. This hotel was nice & clean. The downsides are that the room was on the small side for a family of 5. We did have a rollaway bed, but it was a tight squeeze. Not having a free breakfast was another downside. Paying $10 per person for breakfast was not doable for us. We opted to buy cereal and milk and eat breakfast in the room. The hotel is relatively close to the beach, but just on the other side of the toll. This means each time you go to the beach, you pay $1.25 to cross the toll. then another $1.25 when you return to the hotel. We paid quite a bit in toll fees. No problems with the room or hotel itself. They do offer covered parking and my kids enjoyed the complimentary lemonade & cookies in the lobby. The "adjustable" bed didn't seem to work for us. The bed felt very hard and when we turned the knob to adjust, we did not notice a difference.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lilsprstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Good day, lilsprstr!

Thank you so much for taking a moment to share your experience here at the Hilton Head Hilton Garden Inn! I am happy that you chose to "tag along" and stay with us! I do understand your concern with the breakfast cost, especilly with a family of 5! However, the breakfast offered is a cook-to-order and also a buffet...it really is great! Also, we are so glad that your children enjoyed the complimentary lemonade and cookies! Hope they enjoyed the beach as well....although paying the tolls could be a little costly!

Again, we thank you for choosing to stay with us...and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future!

You Can Count On Us! Guaranteed!

Sincerely,

Cheryl High
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
7.2 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
911 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
6.1 mi away
Park Lane Hotel and Suites
Park Lane Hotel and Suites
#18 of 28 in Hilton Head
644 reviews
7.1 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head

Address: 1575 Fording Island Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29926-1104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range: £73 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Head
Hilton Head Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing