We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had a suite facing the ocean. The balcony is protected by the view of the beach was not obstructed. Walk to the beach was short and easy, with lots of hoses and showers to get rid of the sand on return. Pet friendly - it was nice to see the dogs and they weren't loud or a nuisance. Great pools, good activities (ping pong, bike riding, large chess/checker board, etc.). Our breakfast was included, with a nice variety and good taste. The staff was great - we didn't pass one person that failed to great us or wish us a nice day. Housekeeping was very accommodating, with extra towels and a blanket when asked. The gentleman in charge of bike rental was super nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DogWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,070)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,438 - 2,444 of 3,071 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

Beautiful facility, ideally situated, and the staff could not be friendlier -- front desk person remembered my name and greeted me every time I saw him. From the restaurant to the pool to housekeeping, every staff member seemed warm and friendly.

Room Tip: Hallways do tend to echo, especially when doors slam, so bringing along a bit of white noise on a ph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This was our fourth trip to the Omni at Hilton Head and it was nice as usual. The rooms are in need of a little TLC but that is to be expected considering the age of the property. The Omni has already done so much by renovating the pools, etc. and they are planning an interior reno next year. The grounds are beautiful with three pools (one being for adults only). The Buoy Bar outside by the pools is great for an afternoon lunch and the beach is within a few steps from everything. We also went to the spa for a couple's massage. The spa is not large, it is more of a boutique spa. The spa director is very nice and seems to run things well. My massage by Stephen was AMAZING but my boyfriend did not enjoy his as much. We will definitely try it again next year though because the convenience is great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kells6029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

3 star hotel at best.

2 star staff. Not accommodating, slightly friendly, but overall they consider service optional. The managers are the worst offenders.

1 star experence. The place looks nice but they close things down at inconvenient times. What's the point of having great amenities if you hardly let people use them? The rooms were ugly and out of date, pillows were hard, beds were uncomfortable, hallways were dark and ugly.

I recommend that you look elsewhere while in Hilton Head.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jordan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniHiltonHead, General Manager at Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your most recent visit to the Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort. As you know, guest feedback is our best measure for success and we greatly appreciate your concern for our property and service standards. We have extended our Buoy Bar hours until 8pm on Friday and Saturday to accommodate the guests. The pools remain open until 10pm every evening. Beginning in November, every guest room and hallways will get a brand new makeover. We do hope you decide to return in the spring to see the upcoming renovation to our guest rooms. We would love the opportunity to welcome you then and provide you the four diamond service our team provides.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Needed to get away from the 2014 Winter in NJ. Had to go while teachers were off during Easter break. Weather was perfect. So much outdoor experiences and convenient to biking, the beach, kayak and golf. Morning coffee on the balcony....perfect. Great restaurants throughout the island. Rooms were BIG. View of the ocean was perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Hilton Head Island is a wonderful vacation destination, with great restaurants and a nice variety of entertainment options. From kayaking, biking trails, and all the beach activities one could want, to mini golf, shopping, & movie theaters, to historical sites, almost anyone can find something to enjoy. The Omni Oceanfront Resort provides the ultimate base from which to enjoy all of this, with 3 beachside pools, 2 fire pits, several restaurants, and a fitness center. The rooms are spacious and the hotel is set RIGHT on the beach. The staff are friendly and quick to provide the customer service typical of Omni. Nominal resort fee covers self parking and in-room internet. Their guest loyalty program can't be beat! This hotel's location puts you within walking distance of sugar sand beaches, equipment rental (bikes, kayaks, etc), bike trails, and loads of great restaurants. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank bfit80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at the Omni from April 12th through the 18th. We had an Ocean view room on the 4th floor. Well, if you looked down, the view was the parking lot - but, looking out was the ocean ;-)

We picked the Omni based on our experience at the Omni Shoreham in Washington DC and this Omni did not disappoint. The room was huge for a hotel room, which is important to us when you are going to be living out of that room for a week - we appreciated having space and not feeling on top of one another.

The grounds were beautiful - tropical, relaxing, just perfect. The three pools were fantastic - we didn't utilize the adult only pool as we were there with our 14 year old, but I think it's great that they offer that. The beach access is perfect.

One highlight of the hotel was the staff - all extremely friendly, all very helpful. They could not do enough to help you and that really helps to make a vacation "vacation". The only complaint is that it seemed like they weren't prepared for the crowds that were there (and the hotel was very crowded). On our first full day it took me 20+ minutes to order drinks and lunch at the pool bar and close to an hour to get our food. We had waits to get into the breakfast buffet almost every day - some as long as 40 minutes. Not a big deal, but we weren't expecting that.

The weather did not cooperate while we were there - we had one full day of pouring rain and two days of super windy, chilly weather. The problem with the Omni is that there is no place to go when the weather stinks (if you are at the hotel). With the open air hallways, they were as wet and windy and everything you might want to do is outside. Basically you could hang out in your room or the Palmetto Market - that's really it. But, it's meant to be a resort where you are lounging by the pool or hanging out on the beach.

Many people commented on the slamming doors and the dogs barking so I was a bit nervous - in the end, none of that bothered us at all. Yes, you could hear the dogs when you were in the hallway, but not in our room. Again, the hotel was super crowded and that could be frustrating if you wanted to warm up near the fire pit (every day had the people leaving their stuff at the pool the second it opened during the day and people camped out at the fire pits all night! :) ) but the noise level was fine - the beds were fantastic and we slept great.

All in all, we loved our stay, we loved our first visit to Hilton Head and we will definitely be going back next year. Fingers crossed the weather really was a fluke after all! ;-)

Room Tip: Request a room on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momtocon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.3 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
5.4 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
2.7 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
4.0 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort

Address: 23 Ocean Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5121
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: £128 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Oceanfront Resort Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Hotel Head
Hilton Oceanfront Hotel Head Island
Hilton Head Island Hilton Oceanfront Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing