We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your ocean view may just be a parking lot view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I booked an ocean view studio suite and was given a second floor view of the parking lot. When I complained to the manager that this was not what I paid for, I was told that if you stood on the balcony and looked 45 degrees, there was a partial view. This did not work. I was finally moved to an actual ocean view room and it was lovely. Hard to get past the hassle. Why not offer the parking lot view to a customer who books "resort' or "island" view and have a very happy person that gets to see a sliver of ocean. Don't try to cheat the person who is willing to pay extra to actually see the ocean.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,067)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,340 - 2,346 of 3,067 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

A truly beautiful resort: the grounds, proximity to beach, restaurant and lounge offerings. The nicest staff we've ever encountered in all our years of travel! HH Prime restaurant absolutely fabulous. Spacious room with excellent amenities: linens, comfortable mattress (even the pull out couch!), and pillows. Even milk and cookies for the kids at night a charming touch! Just be sure you request no parking lot view with your ocean view.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank soccerboy328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This Omni was perfect for what we needed. This hotel is nice, but there is nothing "exceptional" about it. The hotel rooms are a bit pricey, which makes the resort fee RIDICILOUS! The room was large and clean with a refrigerator and coffee maker. Added plus to NOT have any mold in the bathroom when staying at an Oceanfront Hotel. Perfect location to walk along the beach morning or evening. Large beachfront with chairs available for rental.
Upon check in we were greeted by friendly smiles. Given a map with details explained about the property. They had a nice mini-mart sort of place to get breakfast, beer/wine, coffee, fruit etc. Perfect for the morning.
The pools were always open and clean, nice to have the zero depth side. There were always enough chairs available even with people "saving" chairs. The restaurant poolside was nice. We went and sat by the bar for service since the girls walking around seemed overwhelmed. Was just easier then complaining like everyone else was doing about the speed of their drinks arriving. Geeze, get up and walk to the bar. Honestly the BEST Grilled Cheese I've ever had.
The night club wasn't open due to it still being "off-season"..in June...????
We fell in LOVE with The Beach at Hilton Head, make sure when you are in Hilton Head you take the time to walk the beach during low tide in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room so when you look out the balcony you can possibly see the Ocean. The corner ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The pool bar closes at 6:00 and the night life is dismal other than that it was a great experience expect for the security lady. We were there for a family wedding and the night of the wedding was the only night at the hotel it had a night life.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank Stacy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have stayed in several hotels at Hilton Head and the Omni is the best by far. The size of the room make you feel like you are in a suite. The grounds makes you feel like you are in a special place and not at a typical hotel that could be located anywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hotel looks old and dated. For $300 + per night to sit on a plastic couch is ludicrous. This I would expect from a motel 6 and not an Omni. The hallways are dark and appear dirty. Although there are new hallway light fixtures all of them without exception were dimly lit and installed crooked! The resort fee is also a bone of contention. I don't drink coffee or use internet / WiFi yet I was charged for both. Management refused to prorate the resort fee to accommodate me. The pool area is poorly serviced - there was trash and piles of used towels everywhere. Also the pool security was overbearing. I would expect to wear an armband at a lesser resort but not here. I came down early one morning without my husband/bracelet and was told summarily to leave the area until I could come down with the proper band in place. I gave them my room number and name but that was not enough and was required to leave the pool until I came back with my bracelet. There is no other resort of your caliber that I have stayed in that has such stringent and guest unfriendly policies.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
5  Thank Laurie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

The resort was pretty consistent with what all the reviews had said! Room was large and clean! Pools were nice except for the 2 days we couldn't swim in the big pool because some child pooped in there! Service was good except pool side .. Very slow! Breakfast at HH Prime was awful!!!! Don't pay the 17.95 for the buffet!That's a huge ripoff!!! Eggs were powdered and everything else was just mediocre at best! Made that mistake once and didn't do it again! Look at options for breakfast like the general store which is a 15 minute walk from the resort! That place is a gold mine!! Worth it and cheap! We did take advantage of the free coffee in the mornings by using our omni preferred card! The location to everything was a huge plus! Beach access was great and my son loved the basketball court! We would definitely stay again ..We just wouldn't eat there!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.3 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
5.4 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
2.7 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
4.0 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort

Address: 23 Ocean Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5121
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: £128 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Oceanfront Resort Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Hotel Head
Hilton Oceanfront Hotel Head Island
Hilton Head Island Hilton Oceanfront Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing