We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Switch And Bait”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Switch And Bait”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

When we booked the room I asked very specifically "is there an unobstructed view of the ocean"? And was told by everyone I spoke to that we would be getting an unobstructed ocean view. Very disappointed that everyone lied (the four people we talked to by phone, including someone at the front desk) until we got to the front desk, where we were informed that there's only one type room that had unobstructed views and ours was not one of them. And none that did have the view we wanted were available! I asked over and over because I thought the price was low for the view we thought we were getting, but everyone kept insisting that it was indeed unobstructed. We went up and down trying to find a room that would be at least acceptable for the half price offered by the front desk personnel. Though we accepted the offer, we remain highly disappointed that we did not get what we wanted for our second honeymoon! Also surprised that an establishment such as the Omni would pull such switch and bait tactics! Additionally we bought an item at one of the Omni stores for which we were over charged by 75%!! When this was pointed out, we were told that it was marked incorrectly. We just got a refund and left. Of course we will be reporting our experience to Trip Advisor when we get the time, as people should be aware of what your doing at this Omni.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
4 Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,761
    693
    225
    85
    35
See reviews for
1,131
1,064
55
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a last minute weekend. I got a deal through Priceline and was very happy with this resort. The room was very large and included two queen beds, a large tv, a mini fridge, sink, and dishes. The balcony was a good size with two chairs and overlooked the resort. I loved that there was a family pool and an adult pool to relax with the ocean just steps from the resort. Every aspect of the hotel was clean from the front desk, to the rooms, to the outside walk area. This is a great resort to stay if you are a couple traveling alone or for a family with kids.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlnorton00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I just spend three nights at the Omni at HHI, I have been vacationing in HHI for many years. We did a girls trip, single and mothers. It's our second year and we would not go anywhere else. Hilton Head Island is different than any other beach town, because it's not like a beach town. You pull into Palmetto Dunes Plantation, with live oaks, Spanish moss hanging from the trees, the landscaping is amazing! Once you pull into the Omni relax and get ready to be treated like royalty. The bellmen remembered us from last year, and they are so accommodating at the front desk. They have three pools, one mainly for smaller children, a zero edge pool that is large and it's the family pool (good for anyone, it's large and nice), then they have an adult pool!! There is always someone there to take a drink or food order. The beach is large and you have plenty of space. At night the beach is amazing, but remember what your resort looks like in the pitch black with the most amazing stars, because there are no lights. The rooms are large with a kitchenette area, decent size frig, all you need. It's a large resort and spread out so you will be walking, but it's so pretty it never seemed like a issue to us. Frankie Bone's is my favorite place to dine! Have fun I hope my review helped you choose your hotel in Hilton Head. The Westin is also wonderful, but smaller rooms and really one large pool, better beach chairs, for couples the rooms would be great. Omni doesn't have grand lobbies, or hallways into your rooms, to me they are the only two resorts I would consider in HHI!!

Room Tip: Make sure you look at where your room is. There are a lot of trees, so an ocean view could be a glim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have stayed at this location at 23 Ocean Lane for 30-32 times since 1984, and long before the current Omni operation. Good value year after year, large rooms, nice adult pool, spacious well maintained grounds, wide hotel beachfront that is fairly close to most rooms. Generally excellent deli year after year. A bond-fire and a waterfalls in the courtyard--many other nice touches.

The recent Omni rehab in our view is a bit iffy due to adding unnecessary, gaudy fencing all around including gates out to the beach.

The Omni redo did add much needed handicapped access for the outdoor bathrooms, a fine new general pool and two new outdoor spas, and converted the old main pool to a very useful kids and youth type pool. Nice new water spray area developed for the very young. The new 100% no-smoking by Omni a major plus--smokers on balconies a huge negative in the past.

Recent $$$ negative is a $20 night "resort fee" that was previously a $6, then a $9 "parking fee". Room rates turn out to be $20 more than advertised. Local sales and other taxes added to the bill seem modest given the high-end nature of Palmetto Dunes Plantation.

Again overall very good value year after year, and generally the operators (Clarion/Hilton/Omni) have come through on service, etc. In summation, the Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront is clearly one of the best family type 3-4 star resort hotels on the East Coast---and plenty good enough facilities for most business meetings.

We plan to return into our senior years.

Room Tip: Rooms near the adult pool (north building, parking lot side) are actually quieter, much better than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arlin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Nice hotel, happy with our stay. Pool was nice and clean. Kids went to the kids club and had a good time. There was a bike ride for the kids but was only for 5 mins which I thought was odd. Take them out for at least 30 mins.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Amer Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was our fist visit to Hilton Head Island, and we really enjoyed. We want to thank your staff for making us feel welcome. The facility had the resort feel, and quality of service. The landscaping was warm and natural. We loved the oak and palm trees throughout the property. The pool areas were comfortable, and relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank aglig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Hilton Head Omni is a great location. The hotel has a tropical resort feel, and is very updated. The pools are extremely nice, including a large zero entry pool. Also, quite a bit of shade provided by lush vegetation. The staff were very friendly, and the food was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lance P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.3 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
5.4 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
798 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
4.0 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort

Property: Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Address: 23 Ocean Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5121
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Oceanfront Resort Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Hotel Head
Hilton Oceanfront Hotel Head Island
Hilton Head Island Hilton Oceanfront Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing