We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marriott's Grande Ocean
Nearby Hotels
Hampton Inn Hilton Head(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Hilton Head(Hilton Head)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$324
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$237
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$454
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$379
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$367
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Heritage Club(Hilton Head)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (872)
Filter reviews
872 results
Traveller rating
610
189
48
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
610
189
48
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool bardolphin poolsouth poolsea pines passtime sharepools and hot tubsfrozen drinksmarriott propertieslaundry roomfull kitchenhilton head islanddaily activitieswasher and dryerrented bikeshigh floortimeshare resortoff season
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
528 - 533 of 872 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We spent 3 nights and were very pleased with our accommodations. The property is a little dated but well kept and a wonderful spot on the beach. we would definitely stay again. The front desk was helpful with restaurant choices. the pool area was nice but could be larger ands an adult pool would be welcomed. The balcony area did not get cleaned the entire time we were there. All in all a good stay, nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: The lower levels do not have an ocean view
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Savjwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We've been coming to Grande Ocean for over 15 years, usually every second year. I own at another Marriott so this is always an exchange. We always enjoy the bike riding, the proximity to the Sea Pines plantation and the location on the island in relation to everything else we want to do. HOWEVER, the villas are starting to show use. They are still pretty clean (found a sock under a bed that wasn't ours) and well appointed. Like another review, I noticed that the showers did not completely drain. I heard coins dropping on the tile in the floor above but all in all an enjoyable vacation. I just can't give a 5 anymore.

Room Tip: 4th floor in Pelican is right at tree top level.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank usaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel in June on a weekend getaway. We will definitely be back. The service was excellent and the rooms are well appointed and very clean! We would recommend this hotel to anyone, we will be back

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bugman2278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The reception ad check in was excellent the staff is very nice upon arrival. But the "villas" are just condos and a little worn but very clean. Cockroaches are seen on the stairwells mid day as garbage bind house the recycle debris just below them. The pool is too shallow to swim in and the crowd, er uh, really really OLD. Of course they come with their grandchildren butn they stay in the kiddie pool areas. Its a good location and pleasant enough but the time share owners think its so exclusive but all the guest are getting rates thru discount services so its not grande at all but t shirts and gray haired bingo folks. Take a pass and go somewhere you wont feel like you're in a retirement community. So boring.

Room Tip: Try asking for room #8014 (i think ?) is affords good views of the ocean and pool and is very private and quiet ....... except for the bean bag throw game just below.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hungry_eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Grande Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at Marriott's Grande Ocean. While this is a Marriott Vacation Club resort, all of our villas are completely renovated every 4 - 5 years. Marriott's Grande Ocean is also one of the premier family resorts on Hilton Head Island. However during the off-season, the resort does have fewer families staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Great location - Beachfront, beautiful pools and rooms. Very well kept facilities. There were a lot of things to do in the area. This location is well positioned on Hilton Head. Very close to Sea Pines area.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank JamesT_1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews