We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to Find Many Faults with this Property”
Review of Sea Crest Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Crest Villas
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Hard to Find Many Faults with this Property”
Reviewed 29 June 2010

We stayed here for a week in June 2010 in Unit 3205 through Resort Rentals of Hilton Head Island. The unit is direct oceanfront with 3 BR and 3 Full Baths. The spaciousness of the bedrooms, bathrooms, and closets inside the unit is incredible. The kitchen and living areas are also decent sized. The view of the ocean could not be beat. Had a problem with the air conditioning in the unit when we arrived, but the situation was very quickly addressed by RR of HHI and the on - site maintenance staff.

Resort Rentals of Hilton Head Island (property manager) were very easy and pleasant to work with throughout the process. Will be renting from them again in the future.

The SeaCrest complex itself is located due east of Coligny Plaza directly on the beach. With 3 kids under the age of 10 y/o, the convenience of being able to walk back and forth from SeaCrest to the plaza for dinner, morning coffee, evening ice cream, and groceries could not be beat. The onsite pool bar / grill, although expensive, served good food and drinks, and was always open late into the evening.

Being constructed around 1999, the SeaCrest complex is showing its age a bit; in need of an interior paint job, some a/c inside the elevators, some better interior lighting, and just in need of a general 'update'. As another reviewer indicated, it is kind of wierd having to access the pools and beach via the underground parking area, but at no time did this feel unsafe. At no time did we hear any noise from the adjacent rooms or exterior hallways.

The only other issue we personally had with the property is that the pools do not open until 10 AM in the morning and on most mornings, one (1) of the pools was never open before 11 AM. I do not understand this for the life of me.

We liked the unit, setting, and location of SeaCrest so much that we are already planning our return trip for 2011.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wahoo__bMedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    20
    4
    7
    3
See reviews for
36
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2010

Family with young children looking for the ideal beach/pool vacation that wouldn't require constant trips in the car. This is it! The beach and pool and shopping and dinning are all walkable distance even for young children. Our villa was a three bedroom/three bathroom looking out onto the large koi pond and ocean. Each unit is individually owned, so the appearance and quality of the furnishings could be different. Ours was very clean and comfortable. Everything worked including a/c, washer/dryer, hot water, kitchen appliances, tv's, etc. The bedrooms and bathrooms are almost too spacious. Each bedroom and bathroom is the same size as the living room. The beds and linens were in very good condition. The unit was very comfortable. The walk to the beach and pool each day took us through the parking garage (which was a strange design), but it felt safe and clean. The koi pond was huge and clean and filled with many fish and turtles to see. There are two pools and each has a baby pool beside it. The pools were clean and well maintained. The snack bar was open and operating. There was a security guard at one of the pools, but he was more there to watch that people didn't come off the beach for a drink and use the pool. There were many families, but we were able to get a table everyday with an umbrella to each lunch poolside. The beach is just a short walk from the pool, with chairs to rent. We didn't want to carry chairs everyday, so we rented the chairs at $18 per day if you buy multiple days, otherwise $30 for one day. We didn't need them everyday, but the lifeguard/salesman scared us into thinking they would all be gone if we didn't buy ahead of time. We only used them for a few hours a day, but always saw a few vacant. It was nice to have them ready for us, so worth the money. The beach was clean and beautiful and the waves very mild and great for little kids. There were two baby pools. The two larger pools are not deep but do not have any zero entry areas for the kids. The kids were allowed to have inflatables, but they did not allow adults to use them.

The villas are directly across the street from Coligny Square which has shops, restaurants, ice cream shops, and a supermarket. We did not need our car once we parked which was perfect. We tried all the restaurants in the square, and this is definitely the tourist section. This was our biggest disappointment. The restaurants were just ok. But having the supermarket there allowed us to cook a few meals to save money and get better quality food. There are at least three different ice cream shops, so keeping the kids in ice cream for dessert each night was very convenient.

We would definitely stay here again. When the kids get bigger I would prefer somewhere that had better dinning choices close by. Otherwise it was the exact vacation I was looking for.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southernstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh pa
Level Contributor
188 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

Location is superb for convenience.Phone not working on arrival as well as constant running commode.Arrived in unit 1301 Sat. 5/22 and both problems solved Monday 5/24.Noticed smeary glass table in master bedroom( possibly sun tan cream from previous guest).Some grundge in corners of bathroom although otherwise clean.Adorable decor.Wasted space in bedrooms while living room smallish .Kitchen needing possible plastic storage containers for leftovers,teaspoons(none),and a one and 1/3 cup measure(1/4 and 1/2 provided).There was a glass multi cup measure.I found a broken plastic chair on balcony.Did not find beach chair or baby raft till 5/27.There is a closet behind hall entry door not seen when held open.These were unexpected perks not found at previous resorts. Kitchen drawer peeling(we fixed it with scotch tape) and reported it to Sunset at once.A flat screen t.v. would provide more room and update.We have previous guest stays at Marriot's Barony Beach and Surfwatch .Were not told by Sunset Realty that we needed beach towels.I had asked if linens were provided and based on previous stays assumed they were when the affirmative answer was given.We bought them at the super market.Sweeper was filled with dirt and had to be cleaned by me before It would pick up at all.We try to make as little work for maids as possible and sweep often.We were a family of six adults and one toddler.Very pleased to find full size washer/dryer.ironing board and iron in good order.Air conditioning fine.Bed linens,pillows in fine supply.View from balcony great.Garbage shoot across hall outside door very convenient.Son and wife reported loud music from bar/restaurant only one night at 1:30 a.m.We had a 3 bd/3bth unit which was more than adequate and I would stay again with out a doubt.I was surprised to find a food processor(did not need it).I complimented the manager when I saw him dealing with a guest poolside who could not find her cell phone.If you park under the building, be sure to lock your car.I spoke to a guest who foolishly left his car open to find all kinds of new shoes missing(Told me he doesn't lock his house when at home).People can access the underground garage easily enough although alert security questioned my son and I when they saw us wandering in search of our misplaced car.I was pleased by this doing of their jobs.The lady who had misplaced her cellphone told me that "Two older boys tried to push their way into the pool after her husband but he locked the gate.She saw them trying different numbers after that before giving up, so be aware that the security codes are there to protect you.Enjoy your stay.Landscaping and beach are top rate.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bettyc670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2010

We've visited Hilton Head every summer since 2002. Usually we stay at The Barony but we left it too late to get a reservation so opted for SeaCrest instead. And how happy we were!

While we loved the ambience of The Barony and the zero entry pool while the kids were young we did find it a little off the beaten track. SeaCrest might not be quite so luxurious (although close) but it's location more than makes up for that. The SeaCrest is directly opposite Coligny with all its restaurants & stores. We didn't use our car the whole week. We walked to miniature golf, walked to the grocery store, the fudge shop, the toy shop and the restaurants. In the morning we visited the little bakery for breakfast.

We also liked the proximity to the beach. Depending on which unit you have at The Barony it can be quite a hike to the beach (they do have complementary shuttle). SeaCrest is much closer to the beach, which is very nice with younger children just old enough to carry their boogie boards but not much more. The beach lifeguard is based right in front of SeaCrest which is another plus.

The pools were OK. Nothing fancy. One was closed for a couple of days so it did get a bit crowded at the other. Beach chairs are at a premium so if you come late to the pool you might not find a place to settle. There was also some confusion over whether the children could play with inflatable toys in the pool. Some days everyone was using them other days management came down hard about it. Had some great specials at the pool bar in the afternoon!

We enjoyed the landscaping, the koi in the ponds and the white heron that came to stare at the koi each day. Our unit overlooked the koi pools and we had a great view of fireworks for July 4.

The only challenge we experienced was getting a second parking pass. The person in charge of that didn't turn up to work for several days and no-one could explain where he was or when he'd be back!

It is important to know that each unit is individually owned. It is not a timeshare. So units will vary depending on each owner.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MustangLippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We had three families stay at Sea Crest Villas. It was wonderful. The villa itself was very clean and exceptionally well decorated. There was an abundance of dishes and kitchen utensils - more than we needed, but nice to have. We stayed on the 1st floor and overlooked the Atlantic.

We reserved our beach chairs on the first day and were glad we had done so. The actual beach was white, clean sand. Not very many broken shells -taking long walks was great.

The premises had 2 pools which were great for the younger children. Being across from Coligney Circle made it easy for picking up forgotten items, going to dinner and just browsing.

The security was excellent - we saw them walking in the garage and in the enclosed hallways which made us feel safe at all hours.

We had a two bedroom where grandma and our teenage boys shared the 2nd room. There truly was plenty of room for everyone.

We would go again and our first choice would be Sea Crest.

Irene

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alliance, OH
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We found the unit we stayed at (PH3) through TripAdvisor so I thought we should leave our thoughts.

We had just a great week in Hilton Head. We've stayed all over the Island (12th year we've spent a week there) and this was our best experience - the weather was great, but the location was perfect - having Coligny Plaza right across the street AND being directly on the beach made it the best of both worlds for our family. Even our teenagers liked it!

The condo itself was very spacious - everyone had their own bed and it never felt cramped. The views were beautiful too.

We booked directly through the owners (www.hiltonheadescape.com) but our stay was managed by ResortQuest (www.resortquesthiltonhead.com) so check-in/out was a breeze.

Already looking forward to staying there next summer!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSmiths330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westlake
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Sea Crest is in a great location! Grounds are well-kept and pretty. It's convenient to everything--shopping, restaurants and especially, the beach. The pools were very clean. Very accomodating for small children--two kiddie pools. It was nice to have the option to choose the beach or pool within a few steps. Although our room (#2207) was clean, everything in the room was dated; ie. mismatched glassware in the kitchen, well-worn carpeting, uncomfortable couches, small tv's in the living area and bedroom. It wouldn't be a bad room if things were redone. If you are looking for just a room to sleep in and not much to look at, this is your condo (view is of the parking area, but not horrible). If you want a more visually appealing room that is more "cozy", choose another. Next time, I would pick Sea Crest, for sure, but I would pick a different room.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank knickas424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
1.9 mi away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Captains Walk Villas
Captains Walk Villas
#30 of 52 in Hilton Head
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spinnaker at Shipyard
Spinnaker at Shipyard
#12 of 52 in Hilton Head
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Crest Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Crest Villas

Property: Sea Crest Villas
Address: 190 N Forest Beach Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6465
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea Crest Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Crest Villas Hotel Hilton Head
Sea Crest Hotel
Sea Crest Hilton Head
Hilton Head Sea Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing