We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Central position, nice resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This resort is central on Hilton Head Island, in walking distance to Shelter Cove. Shelter Cove has various shops and restaurants and several boat trips run from the harbour.
The resort itself is fine, with nice pools and the rooms are of a good standard. The resort does not have any bars or restaurants and a very small shop for essentials only.
However, the staff are very helpful, friendly and the manager speaks frequently to the guests, taking the time to say goodbye as you leave. We would recommend a stay at Harbour Pointe as long as you do not want a resort on the beach.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank KAB1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

This Marriott is freshly updated and very clean. New paint, new carpet, new appliances and a very clean 2 bedroom condo. Room 405 of the Osprey building is a corner unit that overlooks the best qualities of Broad Creek, the resort's new fire pit, and smaller of the two pools. Also in this area were 3 grills making evening grilling quick and painless. Nice gazebo sitting on the creek allowed for watching the beautiful sunset in the evenings. Short walk to Shelter Cove Marina for renting kayaks and paddle boards for recreation on Broad Creek. The Marina is also home to a few shops and dining like San Miguel's and Scott's Fresh Fish Market. You can rent bicycles for the week at the resort. The staff is very nice. My only wish for this resort is for them to attain new mattresses for their beds. I was wide awake and in pain by 4:00 am every morning. Otherwise, we had a wonderful relaxing time on our 25th wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: All rooms in the Osprey building had a great view although they were further away from parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank okufanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We looked at these units a year before and were sold on them but there are two types,The one we got on out weeks trade in was 2 bedroom but the second bedroom was smaller than the master bath! Kinda tight in the kitchen also.Check into before you book and make sure you get the larger rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

While the resort is very nice, and clean, it is also very small and not on the beach. We knew going into the week that it wasn't on the beach so we requested a high floor with a view of the marsh. We got the view...of a tree...on the second floor. :(
The resort has been updated recently and they did a nice job. There is a main pool and also 2 smaller ones which were our favorite as they were very quiet. In addition, there is a really nice area for grilling and outdoor dining by the pool with a lovely view of the marsh.
Unfortunately, the front desk staff are very unfriendly and make you feel as if you are an imposition to them. This is really unfortunate as this is your first interaction with staff upon your arrival...so much for first impressions??
LOVE Hilton Head, but would not stay here again...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank downtown075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This was our 1st time to Hilton Head, so obviously our first stay here as well. The room was a little on the small side compared to other Marriott Vacation Club's we have stayed in (we own in Florida), but was very nice and functional for our family of 6. The room was in great condition, nice clean carpet, granite countertops and came equipped with dish soap, dishwasher packets and shampoo/soap. We stayed in the Osprey building, 4th floor and had a beautiful view of Broad Creek. We saw dolphins every single day from our balcony. You are within walking distance of Shelter Cove area with restaurants and shops, so that was very nice. Our 2 oldest kids did the day camp one morning that the hotel offers and they were able to kayak and jump on a water trampoline, that was a lot of fun for them! The main pool can get pretty crowded, but we still enjoyed it. We took advantage of many of the things offered through the day: ice cream sundaes, Tuesday night cookout & fireworks, etc. While we would have enjoyed staying right on the beach, this was a very close second and was in a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank hipmomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We have stayed in several Marriott Vacation Club's over the past several years including Marriott's Grand Ocean in Hilton Head and I have to say that Marriott's Harbour Point is right up there with and may even outshine Grand Ocean. We didn't know what to expect as we were not on the beach but overlooking the Broad River. I have to say I actually liked it much better. The resort may be small but it was quiet and peaceful. We had an excellent view of the marches from the fourth floor end room. The rooms had been updated and were very nice. I loved the big walk in shower we had in the master as I am not much on tubs. The rooms were smaller but since this vacation was just our immediate family and not the extended that usually travels with us so it fit us just perfectly. It would have been tight if they had traveled with us. We used the Dune Buggy to take us to the beach and we didn't have very long waits to catch it. Also loved watching the dolphins play in the river from our balcony.

The only down sided to the resort was that the pools were a little smaller than other MVC's. But overall it was a great vacation with our girls.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed at Marriott's Sunset Point at Shelter Cove for one night in June. When we first drove up to the property, my impression was that it was dated. However, upon entering our condo, I could see that the soft goods had recently been replaced and it looked like they'd done a good job in sprucing up the paint and fixtures. Our two-bedroom condo had a to-die-for view of the beautiful low-country marshes and the setting sun. Just thinking about the view - the fishing boats putt-putt past, the water fowl feeding, the paddle boarders glide by - takes my blood pressure down a few notches. We sat on the deck and had a long happy hour before heading over to the Sunset Point - a gazebo at the end of the property that's perfectly situated for watching the sun slip down into the marshy waters. We were charmed to see other guests grilling their dinner in the public grills and enjoying a few brews by the fire pit. This is a friendly place, and it seems that the guests take full advantage of the amenities. There's a beautiful pool that sits on the water. The work-out facility seems small and while we were there appeared to be still in renovation. If you'd like to go to Hilton Head and have a different experience from watching the waves crash, this place is a great location to take in the "other side" of Hilton Head.

Room Tip: We were on the lowest floor, but the views were still beautiful and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank travelgal757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
3.6 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
798 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
5.4 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
322 reviews
5.5 mi away
Marriott's Heritage Club
Marriott's Heritage Club
#21 of 28 in Hilton Head
76 reviews
1.5 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove

Address: 4 Shelter Cove Ln, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3543
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range: £104 - £396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Harbour Point And Sunset Pointe At Shelter Cove Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing