We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderful views, very quiet Marriott Timeshare resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich - UK
Level Contributor
128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderful views, very quiet Marriott Timeshare resort”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed 2 weeks in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom villa with a maximum occupancy of 6. Our party was somewhat smaller with 2 adults and 1 child.The villa was in the Harbour Point side of this small resort, in the Osprey building. We had a villa located on the top floor of the building with views out across the creek.

The villa was clean, and of the normal Marriott Vacation Club standard, we thought that the villa was perhaps a little dated. We had plenty of room for ourselves and our luggage etc. We had contacted the resort ahead of our arrival and they arranged fir us to be in an adjacent villa to our friends.

The views across the creek were great, being able to watch dolphins from the balcony was a highpoint! Plus the weekly fireworks display across the creek was good.

Unfortunately with the creek being so close there were also plenty of mosquitoes around though outside.

The resort is very quiet without a bar or restaurant, and only a very small shop. We were aware of this prior to our arrival, but did consider once we were there that actually the resort did lack these facilities. Also with no where to really spend money on site, it is very difficult to earn Marriott Rewards points.

The plus point was that the activities team put on quiet a few social events during the week, including a "Brats & Fireworks Cookout" on the evening of the Firework display, complimentary with donations requested for a children's charity. There was also a other complimentary events such as cheese & wine, chips and salsa, etc.

The resort has 2 pools, both reasonably small plus there are 2 hot tubs. There is no direct beach access, the suggested beach access is approximately 2 miles away near the Marriott Hilton Head Resort & Spa. We used the Marriott Hilton Head Resort & Spa itself for our beach access most of the time, parking in their car park and accessing the beach via the hotel. We also on one occasion used the beach access a bit further away at Marriott's Grand Ocean property.

There are 6 grills (BBQs) available for guest use, we used these on a number of occasions. It was pleasant to sit outside watching the sunset and eating in the evening from the gazebo.

For a first visit to Hilton Head with friends the resort was ideal, very friendly and quiet. It was a very worthwhile exchange from our own Marriott Vacation Club property.

It is within walking distance to Shelter Cove Marina, with a number of bars, restaurants and activities available.

The island itself is very relaxing and laid back, with excellent beaches even if there is a high risk of jellyfish stings.

Free WiFi is available throughout the resort.

Room Tip: High floor within Harbour Point part of resort for best views of the creek, or a similar floor in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willmoac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    95
    37
    4
    3
See reviews for
136
90
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our family of four stayed at Shelter Cove Aug 2-9. For the pros-the view of the marsh is really beautiful. We saw heron and rumor is there are dolphins out there are well. We stayed in the "Heron" building which is right near the main pool and a big pond. At night, the sounds from the peeper frogs were very loud. It took some getting used to but after the first few nights we ignored it. My kids got a kick out of watching the baby alligator and turtle swimming around the pond while we ate lunch on our patio.
Room size was very large and spatious. We felt we had plenty of room as a family of four. The kitchen was recently updated and we had everything we needed as far as fridge, stove, microwave, washer/dryer. Master bedroom had an enormous bath tub which came in handy when our first 2 days were cold and rainy. We put the kids in the tub and they had a ball swimming around as if they were in a small pool.
On the negative-no maid service the entire week we were there. I washed a lot of towels, emptied trash and vacuumed quite a bit. Not exactly my idea of luxury or vacation. For what I pay (and what I traded) this was a considerable step down service wise. They should offer a limited service of towel refreshing, trash emptying and a vacuuming at minimum. Also, there is no restaurant, bar, etc. so you have to leave the property for meals.
For outdoor amenities-we were very close to the main pool. Having a 4 yr old and 2 yr old we were disappointed in the pool amenities. It is obvious these are older grounds because the pool does not have a zero entry entrance. With young kids this is difficult for them to play in as the water level goes right to 3 feet. Either that, or younger kids would benefit from a small baby pool area where they can play. My 2 yr old son ended up primarily staying on the steps going into the pool. Also, there were areas on the pool deck that appeared worn, rotting, and not well maintained.
Yes, it's true-there is no beach access. That was a big downer for me. The Dunes Buggy service was very convenient and the drivers were fast to arrive and very polite. Still though, the whole point in going to a beach location for the week was being able to easily access the beach without having to pack up a ton of kids stuff and drag it on a bus.
Location is great-I found almost every place we wanted to go to was within a 10 minute drive. We walked to the Hilton Head Diner and Pirate Golf as well as Shelter Cove Marina. My daughter got a big kick out of performer Shannon Tanner who sings nightly. Tues night was Harbourfest which included fireworks-we attended but it was honestly so overcrowded that it was questionably worth it. I paid $10 for my kids to bounce in bounce houses-crazy overpriced, but I relented.
Overall, we enjoyed our Hilton Head vacation. We would consider going another time, but probably would not buy or trade into this location again.

Room Tip: Good views in the heron building 3rd floor and up, BUT the peepers are loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lanorigb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

A couple things to keep in mind. Yes, this is centrally located on the island. However, this is on the bay side and compared to some of the other Marriott Vacation Clubs, small. It says it sleeps 6 but that would be extremely tight. A family of four with young kids would probably work. The master is a good size. The second bedroom has twin beds which would work for young kids but not for teenagers or adults. The second bathroom is also cramped and small. The kitchen is small and very little room for food storage and no pantry. It does provide a good view of the fireworks at Shelter Cove on Tuesdays. The grounds are small and it doesn't seem there is a lot to do and you will need to travel for stuff. One major complaint, the main lobby is not staffed 24/7 and is shut down at night so if there are issues (which there weren't on our trip) I would think they would be hard pressed to address immediately, probably not until next day. Also we had the daily towel and clean service and there were a few times that the entire unit was not completely done nor all towels replaced. The new open mall at Shelter Cove will be nice when it's complete and the Kroger's is really nice. Plus it is centrally located. Watch out for the frogs in the pond and bay, they get loud at night.

Room Tip: stay away from the rooms closest to the fountain, unless you wish to hear the frogs all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelbel1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We used our timeshare trade and this hotel was wonderful for our family. They had kids activities every day some were free and some cost $5. Both pools were nice and very clean, actually the whole property was very well maintained.

We used the hotel shuttle to go to the beach and it was very convenient to not use our vehicle.

On Tuesday night during high season you get to see the Fireworks in the marina from the fire pit/pool/room you name it. The fire pit was wonderful even though it was hot, made smores with the kids:)

We had our a/c unit have issues in our room and they worked all afternoon to fix it, we were gone most of the day and came back to a fully working a/c and a written note from the manager along with a bottle of wine and a $50 cert. I thought this was such a nice jesture on the managers/hotels part. They just made everyone feel like you were staying with family.
We had a room on the 4th floor and we looked out at the marsh and could see dolphins some mornings.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and didn't hear any noise other than the frogs matting calls:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank familyof3Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Going into this property, you need to know it is not beach front and is more of a limited service property compared to other Marriott properties on the island. With that in mind, we were extremely satisfied with our stay. Spacious and recently renovated rooms. Great and convenient shuttle to the beach. Close to grocery stores and walking distance to some restaurants. Plenty of activities during the day for the kids. Friendly service. Very helpful concierge. No restaurant or bar on the premises however.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank zmoba96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

I just stayed here and was a bit scared I made the wrong mive due to not being on the beach. Wow was I surprised by the quaint location, and great staff. Its small but in a very good way and you wont be bored. Dont be scared of the beach access. The shuttle they run to the beach is better than driving...trust me on that since there is no parking at the beach. Also, the closer time shares appear to be a bit of a drag getting your stuff to the beach. I'll be back for sure!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your five-star review, Scott! We are thrilled our quaint location fulfilled your expectations and enhanced your vacation experience! You comments and tips are greatly appreciated and will be shared with our team. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I've been visiting Hilton Head since Sea Pines was being developed, and have always stayed near the back gate of Sea Pines. I love that area, but have always missed seeing the beautiful sunsets that I see at other beach locations. Recently I visited a relative staying at Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Point and immediately fell in love with it and wondered how I had missed this place all these years. The marsh, harbor and wildlife is really great but the sunsets are some of the prettiest I've ever seen. The units have been updated and are tastefully decorated, and the staff there seems to be very friendly and engaged in making sure your vacation is truly enjoyable If these were condo's for sale, I'd buy one today! I will be back to visit soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with a great sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
3.0 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
3.7 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#7 of 28 in Hilton Head
757 reviews
5.0 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#12 of 28 in Hilton Head
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
1.5 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
1.9 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove

Property: Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove
Address: 4 Shelter Cove Ln, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3543
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Harbour Point And Sunset Pointe At Shelter Cove Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing