We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent facility” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantic Dunes by Davis Love III

Atlantic Dunes by Davis Love III
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As the first course built on Hilton Head Island, the Ocean Course at The Sea Pines Resort embraces the true coastal golf experience. Exquisitely redesigned in 1995 by Mark McCumber, this breathtaking golf course boasts one of only two oceanfront holes on Hilton Head Island and poses delightful challenges to novices and veterans.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“excellent facility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

this is a really good golf course. 4 sets of tees for everyone's ability. There is a lot of water, but it is not terribly long, so long as you choose the correct set of tee boxes. straight is definitely better than long on this course. some water is hidden (even hidden long) It was depressing to boom drive right down the middle of the fairway only to discover it ran into the water. even though it is called the ocean course you can only see the ocean from one hole (the 15th green).

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank llmesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    36
    12
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NASHUA,NH
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I played here my last round and had a great day. It is a bit more than I usually pay but it was worth it. Remember one thing that the grass in SC is mostly dormant in Feb. So please keep that in mind where you play.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LARCH180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A misnomer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We played seven courses in the Hilton Head area and at Kiawah Island on our golfing holiday and this was the only letdown.

The course was in poor condition compared with the others, with many areas of ground under repair, including several around the greens, and many unfilled divots on the fairways.

The clubhouse was under construction when we visited, so no chance of a proper meal after our round (we went to another golf course for lunch instead), although they had rigged up a tent with some refeshments at the turn.

We had to pay an entrance fee of $5 at the Sea Pines gatehouse just to reach the course, which seemed nothing short of a rip-off, and to top it all off, there were no marshalls or starters in evidence. This might not have mattered but for the threeball of "ladies" who followed us out to the first tee, then roared off left to the forward tees while we drove right to the longer tees. and then proceeded to tee off ahead of us (!!!). They resolutely kept their place throughout 18 holes of golf, despite a completely clear course ahead of them, and despite our being forced to wait on every tee box and on every fairway for them to finish their play. How they might have imagined that a threeball playing off dolly tees would be faster than a twoball is beyond me, even if they were pros on the LPGA tour (which they were not) and even if we were two duff hackers (which we are not). A starter or a marshal would certainly have helped.

Finally, there is but one hole on the entire course which has an ocean view, but only if you walk up a set of steps beyond the green to see it. A misnomer, if ever there was one and not a course that we can recommend when there are so many others in the area that are truly world class.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ergonomictraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good course, not so much ocean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

The conditions were very good today, though pace was slow at 4:20. Some greens being repaired but overall good shape, a little pricey at $100 but the $69 afternoon rate would be a good deal.

Helpful?
Thank daveminer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Overrated, Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

My first course on my first trip to Hilton Head Island. Perhaps my expectations of this golf mecca were too high, particularly coming from Hammock Beach where the golf was extraordinary - the Tom Watson Conservatory course is incredible. The Ocean Course at Sea Pines should not be confused with the Ocean Course at Hammock, or the Ocean Course at Kiawah, both of which are true ocean courses. This one has only one hole, with a view, sort of, of the ocean. But that's not the real problem. The course in unimaginative, not particularly challenging, and the greens on the back 9 were in terrible condition. I had to move my ball on 3 of the greens to putt, because of the sand treatment, bare spots, and repair work, none of which were mentioned at the club house when i paid $107.51 for the forgettable round. I'm hoping that tomorrow's course, Oyster Reef, will be better.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank sologolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atlantic Dunes by Davis Love III also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Atlantic Dunes by Davis Love III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing