We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Resort Hotel -- A bit hampered by adjacent construction but with fabulous service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fantastic Resort Hotel -- A bit hampered by adjacent construction but with fabulous service”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The Inn at Harbour Town certainly knows how to do it... from the personal named welcome by the valet to the "welcome to Harbour Town" glass of champagne... the staff really aims to please.

The resort is a bit hampered by construction of the new clubhouse next door and when it opens in 2015 I'm sure the experience at the Inn will be even better.

The rooms are very clean and spacious... free internet.. extra towels... ice delivered to your door in the afternoon.. etc. We travelled as a family of four with two rooms.. we were unable to secure connecting rooms for our two night stay.. but that may have been a timing issue. Luckily my children are in their late teens and able to stay in an unconnected room with no concerns.. but if you absolutely need them connecting then you should ask ahead...

A couple of informational notes -- there is no "restaurant" on site.. it is truly a Inn. They have breakfast in the morning but it is ordered from a menu and served by a waiter vs. some kind of buffet.. so if you want to eat before an early tee time you'll need to plan for that. About 5-10 minutes walking distance is the main sea pines sets of limited restaurants... but there are many choices elsewhere as well although you'll probably want a car (or bike) to get there. I believe that the clubhouse when finished will have dining options as well and that will be very convenient.

The golf is impeccable... highly recommended by my husband and teenage son who have played many fine courses in the past.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank katredd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    77
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
137
302
10
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We booked the inn at harbour town for the first leg of our honeymoon and were left disappointed. We would strongly advocate anyone thinking of visiting to cancel until after the building works have been finished in April 2015 (read below to understand why) and even then I think there are better value places to stay in this price range.

For full disclaimer - I did complain to the hotel about our experience and while they did make some gestures of their own accord acknowledging the shortfalls their failure to be fairer about compensating us in the context of what we spent relative to what we experienced galvanised me into writing this - I don't usually complain but felt so aggrieved in this instance that I was stung into action. While cathartic to have the rant I hope someone else is spared the same disappointment through reading this so some good may come of it!

The main issue that made this such a poor experience rather than simply average was that they are refurbishing the golf centre - while they notified us this might be a slight eye sore in the distance at booking, they failed to mention the incessant noise starting 7am each day running 7 days a week. They also certainly didn't mention the possibility of the all night concrete pouring we endured during one of our nights - a note pushed under our door warned us of this on the same morning! Coming from London I'm used it city noises but this was like living on a building site - lights, reversing lorries and shouting from 9pm through to 5am. If they can do that to us I guess they can do it to you! For the rest of the time the constant noise limited our enjoyment of the balcony and of the pool. To be fair to the staff they did offer us a room on the back side of the hotel for this one night which probably would have been quieter had we realised quite how noisy the concrete pour was going to be...though decided against taking them up on this as my wife was not feeling well and so didn't want the hassle of repacking even though the hotel would have helped. Also we would have been overlooking the parking lot and the tennis court so was not convinced it was that much better. I did complain about this to the hotel management and to their credit they did give me a c 5% rebate although personally I thought they should have rebated the full concrete night as well as a more significant % on the rest of our nights. Their argument was nobody else complained - it's the first time I have heard that as a justification from anyone working in customer service and for me simply confirmed that this is not as high a quality establishment as the marketing material claim.

Staff: 7/10
The staff are lovely - they use interns for a large number of roles who by in large do an excellent job. Occasionally you feel like a Guinea pig where they can test run which feels a bit odd when you are paying the rates they charge but they are charming and try hard. The manager Mirna is charming and made an effort in the circumstances.

Food: 7/10
The food in the resort on the whole is average and often limited to processed and unhealthy food (chips, pizza, greasy processed meats etc). You have to eat at the inn or the live oak to get better quality food or fresh veg and even they are underwhelming - eg it's unusual in my experience to stay somewhere in this price bracket and not be able to get freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast. There is a nice beach restaurant which has been recently built though hard to get a table unless you get there early- location is better than food!

Accommodation: 8/10
I thought the rooms were good (linen, mattresses, bathrooms etc) although we were in a room that could be joined with the one next door so we could hear noisy neighbours on a few occasions. You would not want to be on the non golf course side as you are literally looking onto a parking lot!

Tennis / golf: 7/10
I'm a 4.5/5.0 tennis player and been to a number of other tennis camps in the us on the east coast (saddlebrook, bollitieri etc) and thought this compared unfavourably - I had to book 1-1 tennis lessons each day because there was such little else going on as part of the main program. If you are a serious tennis player you are better off going elsewhere though I had a great coach called josh for my one on ones. Even as a casual player I think you would do better elsewhere as it all lacked real energy. I don't know about the golf. Next time I would be inclined to try kiawah island which has an excellent reputation and not far away.

Overall: 7/10
For the price they charge 7/10 strikes me as distinctly average with a lack of attention to detail eg petrol blower cleaning the pool outside bedrooms in the morning disturbing sleep! Given the price I was expecting something higher end. I don't know the Forbes 4* system but either they are ruining their brand on this one or I wouldn't want to stay in similar properties, certainly not for stays longer than a couple of days.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Oliver C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPRMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
While we are sorry to hear that this guest did not enjoy their stay, we would be remiss if we did not clarify or correct some of the more misleading points made in this review.

We were more than forthcoming about development taking place at the nearby Harbour Town Golf Links clubhouse, both during booking and check-in. When we were notified that there would be increased activity due to a concrete pour, our general manager reached out to guests immediately and offered any assistance that might be needed.

We spoke with this guest in person and on the phone, doing everything in our power to ensure their satisfaction. As the guest mentioned, he refused our offer of a different room, and at the end of our exchange we were left with the impression that we had reached an amicable agreement.
We were obviously mistaken, as they soon sent a letter requesting 50 percent off of their stay. This was after he had already been generously compensated for his inconvenience. At that point, the guest implied that if we did not comply with his request, he would write a negative review on TripAdvisor. Which, obviously, he did.

The fact of the matter is that of more than 100 guests at the inn that night, with the general manager on-site, the reviewer was the only guest who was unhappy. We are proud that our staff was able to anticipate potential problems and believe this is reflective of our commitment to the finest in hospitality. Our track record of flawless reviews on this and other sites reflects this as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Nice welcome from staff with a glass of champagne on arrival and a full tour of the property and the room features. Whilst the exterior of the hotel is looking a bit dated, the rooms are large and nicely decorated. The surplus for a golf view room seemed like good decision, our room overlooked the first tee (rather then the parking lot) which made the balcony more useful. Beware the adjacent golf clubhouse has been pulled down, due to reopen in May 15. We didn't know this before booking but were informed well in advance of arriving. Harbour Town is a 5 minute walk and has a few eating and drinking options, with a few more elsewhere on the Sea Pines property. Be aware it takes 15 mins+ to go "outside the resort" for other choices. Breakfast was a la carte off a reasonably restricted menu, but was well executed. Overall a good stay, with the eager young (almost all hotel management students) staff leaving a good impression.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KGM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

From the moment you arrive at the Inn one is overcome with a real sense of calm and relaxation . The valet takes care of your car,check in is a breeze and with an ice cold glass of champagne you are briefed on the features of the Inn and before you know it you are comfortably settled in your room.Beds are extremely comfortable and the bathrooms large and luxurious. In room coffee is certainly nice to have. We enjoyed the use of the bicycles to get around bit there are several restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. The staff are helpful and very responsive and the grounds beautifully maintained. The free shuttle service to the beech is just a few steps away from the hotel. We enjoyed a relaxing stay and would recommend it to friends

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 239sdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

If the title of the review doesn't say it all about this hotel, allow me to get into the details about this fantastic experience.

Days before we left for Hilton Head, we received a call from the concierge (or "butlers," as they call them at the hotel) asking us if we needed any special accommodations made or needed reservations at restaurants to be made. Upon arriving at the hotel, the staff already knew who we were before we even said anything and gave us a seamless check-in and tour of the hotel. Throughout our entire stay, the staff was very attentive and took very good care to be as helpful as possible to us.

Now for the rooms... they are beautifully designed and furnished and are very comfortable (with both regards to the beds as well as the space overall). On top of everything the room is fitted with a Nespresso machine with pods replenished daily-- that was a big plus for all of us as we very much like our coffee. The bathrooms are incredible, fitted with both a bathtub and a very spacious shower.

Along the lines of amenities, the hotel offers complimentary bike rentals that you can take out for three hours at a time (not per day-- at a time, which means you can come back and take the bikes out for another three hours. This is just to make sure that there are bikes available for all of the guests at the inn). The pool is very nice as well-- very relaxing.

All and all, it was a stay in a hotel that very much deserves all of the awards that it has!

Room Tip: If possible, although all of the rooms are nice, try to get a golf view room. The views are beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ddavani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful six night stay at this hotel. On arrival our luggage was taken to our room immediately. Check in was a pleasure. The "butlers" as the staff are called were all marvellous and knew us by name. Room beautiful, breakfast good, service amazing. What more can I say.

Room Tip: We had ground floor very convenient for pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lisa Hertfordsh... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

This is the place for you if you appreciate attention to detail. The staff will surprise you by addressing you by name the day after you arrive. It has the feel of an old-line resort hotel that has recently been updated. The service is what wins you over, while the architecture feels like a freshening of a dated design. If you choose a hotel based more on service than on surface appeal, this is the place to be.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank StevefromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
3.4 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
9.0 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#7 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#12 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
5.4 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
9.0 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort

Property: Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
Address: 7 Lighthouse Ln, Hilton Head, SC 29928-7271
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the intimate atmosphere of The Inn & Club at Harbour Town, located within The Sea Pines Resort's 5,000-acre estate. This award-winning, AAA Four Diamond, Forbes Four Star property and Preferred Hotels & Resorts member features 60 deluxe guest rooms complete with all the finest amenities, such as personal butler service, turn-down service, valet parking and 24-hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Harbour Town - Sea Pines Hotel Hilton Head
Hotel At Harbour Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing