We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ombra Cucina Rustica

Ombra Cucina Rustica
Reserve with OpenTable
Ombra Cucina Rustica is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 362 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: OMBRA Cucina Rustica, located in the beautiful Village at Wexford on the south end of Hilton Head Island. Come and enjoy Classic Regional Italian cuisine created by Chef Michael Cirafesi voted Best Chef Hilton Head 2013 and 2014. OMBRA features an extensive wine list including Italian Benchmark wines. Stop by to relax at our bar and lounge with a spectacular selection of Italian specialty cocktails, apertifs, and digestivos.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

The food is so delicious. The flavorings were unusual. The service was lovely. We had the grouper and the pasta with clams and both were amazing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Devajoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    829
    147
    42
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Italian food on Hilton Head island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We have been vacationing on Hilton head island for years and have tried all the Italian restaurants located on the island. We have been away for the past three years and have found OMBRA a newer restaurant through our concierge over at the Barony Beach Club. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner, it's a very friendly atmosphere. Very authentic, delicious food, great wine selection and we highly recommend leaving room for dessert (if you can!) Also, our waiter Anthony was awesome and contributed to the wonderful experience! We highly recommend OMBRA and feel it is the best Italian restaurant located on the island! Mangia! Mangia!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I've visited this restaurant twice when visiting in Hilton Head. The atmosphere is nice and it's the perfect place to go for a special night out. There is a nice variety of items on the menu, which is available for perusal on their web site: http://www.ombrahhi.com/ . The food was excellent and so was the service. The wait staff is knowledgeable, helpful, and willing to submit special requests to the kitchen. The portions for the entrees are generous, but you'll want to save room for dessert. They have several desserts available, including cannoli, and gelato, which I rarely see on a menu!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kimelizabeth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head Island
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“It has grown on us”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Having been disappointed with the nosiness but knowing the capability of Chef Michael, we tried Ombra yet again. We decided to sit in the bar - MUCH less noisy, informal, attentive service. The mussels were superb as were the entrees.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RVChhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Delicious Experience on Hilton Head”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a fantastic meal at this restaurant. The hostess managed to find a a table for us, as we entered the restaurant without a reservation. Hilton Head has a number of very good restaurants, but we found this to be a real gem. I ordered the seafood pasta which was magnificent: clams, mussels,bay scallops, crab, and a lobster tail! Wonderful. My wife ordered the filet mignon which was fantastic. The staff was welcoming and made us feel like we were regulars. The chef's creations were innovative, while still being satisfying. Try the homemade lemonchella apertif. Out of this world. Go to this restaurant and enjoy fine dining. bon appetit!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ombra Cucina Rustica also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Ombra Cucina Rustica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing