We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale Southwest”
Review of Santa Fe Cafe

Santa Fe Cafe
Ranked #29 of 369 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We bring the very best of Southwestern culture and cuisine home to the Lowcountry. Our menu has been an Islanders" preferred dining spot for over 20 years and with dishes like our famous grouper, to our bone-in cowboy cut black angus ribeye, our outrageous chimichanga to even lobster fajitas, we're sure to have a new favorite waiting for you. From the sounds of the live Ranchero guitar player to the smells rising from our mesquite grill, Santa Fe Cafe is a much welcomed reprieve for the senses. Even when you're outside underneath the stars on our Rooftop Cantina, we've got you covered.
Freedom, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
347 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Upscale Southwest”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Good thing we reserved...place was packed with mostly adults savoring a very decent selection. Had the appetizer sampler, then an excellent pork tenderloin special, wood grilled quail stuffed with cornbread, quesadilla special, and chargrilled pork. Service was friendly and speedy. One hour start to finish.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sweetwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    201
    77
    40
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Great food...”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have been coming to Hilton Head since the late 70's and have never eaten at the Santa Fe cafe. It has been an island establishment for years. I had heard from friends and family that it was great but we figured it had lots of tourists and have never felt the need to visit.

Well we have been missing out. My family rode the bikes from Shelter cove to Santa Fe for lunch followed by mini-golf. The menu offers fresh Mexican food. I had a chicken quesadilla that was really good. My son had a cheese quesadilla. My husband and son had the steak fajitas. Everyone loved their meals and ate everything including 2 rounds of chips. If you are in Palmetto dunes or Shelter cove, this is an easy bike ride...less than 10 min. There were people with young children and large extended families at the restaurant.

Now, I understand why it has survived so long and will be visiting it again on our annual trips...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Momdemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
161 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal and Time”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

This was a pleasant find. The restaurant we wanted to go to was closed on Monday night so we walked next door to the Santa Fe. It was fabulous, beyond Tex Mex. The service was great and the prices were competitive for an upscale place. An attractive menu with a variety of selections. Try the sea scallops: delicious! We really enjoyed ourselves. We will return.

Helpful?
Thank Myke2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Service was EXTREMELY slow and the food was only mediocre. Thank goodness the dessert came last. It was by far the best part and VERY tasty. I doubt we will return :(

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Our favourite Hilton Head restaurant”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

With only a week in Hilton Head to sample local cuisine, we struggled to find amazing seafood but loved this South West theme restaurant. Great margaritas and high quality Tex Mex food.
Our verdict: delicious burritos and some of the best guacamole we've ever had. The service was courteous and quick. Portions were gigantic.
It's a great place for a group - fun atmosphere and decent value.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bermudamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Santa Fe Cafe also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Santa Fe Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing