We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Driessen Beach Park - A Hidden Gem on Hilton Head” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Driessen Beach Park

Driessen Beach Park
Ranked #36 of 116 things to do in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Driessen Beach Park - A Hidden Gem on Hilton Head”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

When my son and I go to the beach on Hilton Head, we usually choose this one. It has everything we need - including a playground, bathrooms, showers and a long boardwalk! Although it's a little bit of a hike to the beach, my son loves the boardwalk which winds through the marsh and over the dunes. On the way back, we always have to stop and play at the playground before rinsing off. The parking fee is minimal - I think we paid $1 for 2 hours this Labor Day Weekend. Since it's not easy to find, this beach is usually the least crowded!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank AJhhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    22
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Favorite beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Loved this beach. I think it is one of the only beaches that you have to pay to park at, but well worth it. Beautiful and really clean. Bathrooms a short walk away.
Loved it!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kap061795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowpens, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great beach access point!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

The facilities here were everything you could want right at the beach-restrooms, showers to clean off all the sand, a nice boardwalk, and playground for the kids. You do have to pay to park but it seems to be almost on the honor system as you pay a master meter $0.50/hour after you enter in the number of the parking spot you parked in. You didn't even have to go back to the car to put the slip from the meter in your window per the sign at the meter. I was more than glad to pay this tiny fee for the convenience of the facilities. The beach here was not very crowded, and there was a lifeguard on duty during peak hours. We used this access point several times over the week we stayed in HHI and had a pleasant experience each time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kayla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good place to park for beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

Good beach access with lots of parking spaces. Big enough spaces for my huge truck, Have to pay to park. I put in one dollar of garters for two hours. Restrooms and showers at the beach access with long scenic boardwalk to beach.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Gia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Driessen Beach Park also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Driessen Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing