We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always worth a visit get a little expensive”
Review of Salty Dog Cafe

Salty Dog Cafe
Ranked #66 of 369 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Salty Dog Cafe - Outside bar open LATE NIGHT. An island tradition since 1987 and everyone's favorite for fresh seafood, tempting beverages, live music and kid's entertainment. Picturesque dining and unforgettable fun served daily on the docks.
Hatboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Always worth a visit get a little expensive”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I hate to say but going way back we used to go tie dye the kids loved it
But now it seems like they get you coming and going. Even if you buy a t-shirt there you still have to pay for the tie dye
$10 really that's how much rite dye icost nowadays. Hate to say it was probably go but that's the end of our destination for a bike ride. Its just we spend less and less

Helpful?
Thank beachbuminbrigantine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,991 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,146
    1,050
    544
    154
    97
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Buy your t-shirt and skip the food”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We went here late at night when the area was packed. We waited forever and the fried food was marginal. The frozen drinks are good and what you would expect from this type of restaurant/bar. Next time we will just go for the live music and drinks.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crea2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
429 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Average - At Best”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

You can get this deep fried incredibly average seafood just about anywhere. Crowded parking lot - tourist trap.

For good seafood shop around.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Skip It”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I know that this is an island favorite for many people, (I see their T-shirts everywhere I travel) but you can totally skip it - unless you just want a bottled beer and the view! The food is not good!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank sbilisoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alrington, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth the $6 admission to Sea Pines”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had a terrific lunch here. They make the best hush puppies we have ever eaten --and the plate of 12 of them is well worth the price. My wife had grilled fish on her salad that was perfect. I had a delicious cup of seafood gumbo soup and half a shrimp slad sandwich-- it was plenty of food, but was soooo goood, I wish I had ordered a bowl of soup and a whole sandwich! Next time at Hilton Head, we are coming here for dinner!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mjsbgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salty Dog Cafe also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Salty Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing