We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Village at Palmetto Dunes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Great value. We stayed in a studio and were impressed with the nicely appointed full kitchen. The layout allows for the kitchen to be out of the line of sight of the living room/bedroom, which makes it feel larger. The service was wonderful and it was clean and very nice!

Room Tip: A studio is comfortable for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennisheather, Public Relations Manager at The Village at Palmetto Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

We at Hilton Head Accommodations are pleased you enjoyed your vacation to The Village at Palmetto Dunes! The studios are perfect for a couple or when traveling with children. Come back and see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

The location is worth the stay. You have your own covered parking spot and are within walking distance to the beach. It is affordable, but the quality has gone down in recent years. We had nail polish on two parts of our bathroom sink, the washer handle was broken, the stove handle was loose, one dining room chair was glued together and you could see the glue all over the side. I have yet to stay at a condo where the kitchen utensils were clean ... With that said, it was quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank canesgirl2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennisheather, Public Relations Manager at The Village at Palmetto Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoy the quiet and the location of The Village. We will definitely take your comments into consideration with our housekeeping staff and management. Please consider us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Tucked away and a 3 minute walk to the beach. Covered all our needs in a one bedroom 2 bath cottage for three people. There were 3-4 indigenous critters crawling during the week in the unit, but the rooms had just been sprayed. Centrally located on the island, so that all could go in different directions. We did a lot of morning and evening beach walking and sitting. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sal424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennisheather, Public Relations Manager at The Village at Palmetto Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

We at Hilton Head Accommodations are pleased that you enjoyed an "end of summer" getaway. The location of and proximity to the beach can't be beat....especially for the value! I'm sorry you had a palmetto bug experience, even after spraying, but we did find that to be the trend across the Island this summer with the weather. Come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The vacation was good but we left our personal phonebook in the condo and no one seems to find it. We are sure it was left in a drawer in the condo. We left Friday a day early so the cleanup crew should have it or the new occupants. This book has a lot of personal information in it and we need to get it back. Please contact us at 828 308 2228.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marylee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Great vacation. We travel a lot and this was first time in HH. The Village is a small but older resort but close to everything including the beach, shopping, bars, restaraunts and golf. Staying the the Dunes was one of the most relaxing vacations we had. Can't wait to return in September 2013.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKS616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennisheather, Public Relations Manager at The Village at Palmetto Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Thank you - we are so glad you enjoyed the vacation. As with most resorts on Hilton Head Island, the older ones have a tendency to be closest to the beach and we here at Hilton Head Accommodations have focused on renovation and refreshing the Village, including a patio deck for outdoor grilling on the lagoon, new couches and more! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stayed in a studio, which was just fine for my husband and I. If there were any more people it definately would have been too small. The place was very clean and we had no complaints about it. In a great location, just a very short walk to the beach and the Dunes House beach restaurant. (The only negative I would even say was one night when we returned from dinner, all 3 of our keys would not work to open the door. We did not have them near magnets or cell phones which could cause them to malfunction. The office was closed since it was late and we called the number on the door. They said they would call and have it taken care of. 30 minutes later we were still locked out. We called back and they said no one answered when they called and they were only able to leave a message. This went on for over an hour until someone in maintenance could be reached and come open our door). That was frustrating but aside from that we had a wonderful time here and would definately come back. Nice little pool and hot tub too!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rjworsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennisheather, Public Relations Manager at The Village at Palmetto Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

We here at Hilton Head Accommodations are so thrilled you enjoyed your vacation and the proximity to the beach. We are sorry you were locked out and that it took some time to relay the message to our 24-7 maintenance crew. Thank you for vacationing with us and please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Jan was very nice on the phone when I called to arrange for a late arrival. She offered she would be there until 7:00 and if we found we were running late she could provide a drop box. When we met in person she was just as nice recommending several local restaurants that we not the standard tourist stops. Our unit was on the end, she promised nearest the beach. Path to road, across the bridge and turn right leads to the beach house. Working on the sidewalk, so a bit dangerous crossing the road. One of the security gates is just behind the condo, so traffic noise gets a bit load as cars and trucks accelerate. Very nice entrance to beach with restrooms, wash off facilities, and cafe to eat on the deck if you choose. Beaches are very wide. When surf is up, there is a fairly good path in the dunes, so it is very accomodating. Condo is very small but functional. Good for two, little crowded for four. Our kitchen had a new stove, regular size fridge, granite type counters. Counter top is very limited. Toaster, blender, coffee maker, dishwasher, good selection of pots, pans, and utensils. Missing a cookie sheet if you like sweet rolls or biscuits. Concerns about "limited" kitchen as advertised, but is not like any condo kitchen we have encountered, just smaller. Folding doors seperate living space from bed room, so using the fold out sofa does require coordination if someone wants to o to sleep before the others. Jan had told us the sofas were new, and they appeared to be. Only one large LCD TV swivels on wall so it can be viewed from bed. Back porch has awning and looks over tennis courts, which they are accustomed to using a leaf blower to clean early in the morning......Bedroom opens to small courtyard with the heat pump. Good for drying charis and towels behind the fence. Heat pump cycles on and off does disturb your sleep until, or if, you become accoustomed to it. Sliding glass doors front and back made noises and temperature changes very noticable. Our ONLY real complaint is the cockroaches, count is up to ten, and these are not the small cock roaches. The one that came out of the heating vent and crawled in the TV was a bit smaller than a VW bug. Might be akin to a hissing coach roach seen in the zoos. The label in the cabinet shows the last spraying was February 2 and this is mid March. You may expect some bugs in vacation homes, but for daughters it IS an issue. General store nearby has good selection of NEED items. Prices as you would expect. Seems to be a morning gathering spot, with hot food counter in the back. A Piggly Wiggly is a short distance down the main highway, so it is not a problem getting what you may need. DO NOT forget bikes, they are everywhere. They do rent them near the tennis courts, so if you do not want to bring them, they are available. Bikes and walking are the thing to do in Hilton Head. Great for romantic getaway for two, or family with small kids. Larger kids will be more a challenge in the one bath room, no privacy close quarters.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shawclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennisheather, Public Relations Manager at The Village at Palmetto Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Thank you for your overall review of the Village at Palmetto Dunes. We here at Hilton Head Accommodations are thrilled you enjoyed the beaches and biking during your stay. We apologize for the Palmetto Bugs - as we promise, the units are treated each month. We hope you enjoyed all the amenities of the location as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.8 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
900 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
3.4 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village at Palmetto Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village at Palmetto Dunes

Address: 10 Trent Jones Ln, Hilton Head, SC 29928-7655
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range: £43 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Village at Palmetto Dunes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between golf and tennis clubs, and a shady walk to the beach, these bright, studios and 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms are a popular choice for a stylish but budget conscious vacation. The Village enjoys an enviable setting surrounded by the Robert Trent Jones Golf Center, the Palmetto Dunes Tennis Center and tranquil lagoons. The Dunes House Beach Club is just 200 yards away by footpath along the waterway. An on-site office offers convenient check-in and help with all your vacation needs. Guests can enjoy golf, tennis, restaurants, shopping, crabbing, canoes, fishing, paddleboats, biking and nightlife - all within minutes by foot. A free on-demand shuttle takes you around Palmetto Dunes and across to the shops and dining of the Shelter Cove Marina area from April through September. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Village at Palmetto Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village At Palmetto Dunes Hotel Hilton Head
Village Palmetto Dunes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing