We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Property - Go Elsewhere for a Southern Experience”
Review of Sea Pines Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea Pines Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent Property - Go Elsewhere for a Southern Experience”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The property is very nice (typical resort), however there's a lot of traffic around it. Also the staff is variable. There were some UK interns that were outstanding. However the other interns were almost cold. About 80% of the clientele is from the metropolitan northeast/mid-atlantic (and over 60) and they bring their culture and attitude with them, so do not expect a warm charming atmosphere. The food was good, but most of the seafood was not local. There are many other places to visit in the south- coastal area if you want southern charm and courtesy, that are also less contrived, culturally sterile and manufactured. But if you are from the above mentioned regions you'll be right in your element, and likely not even know the difference.

Room Tip: Pick the golf side, otherwise you will be by a parking lot and quite loud tennis court in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NCTraveler1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPRMarketing, Marketing Manager at Sea Pines Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us, and for sharing your views on your stay. We deeply apologize that you did not receive the service you were expecting. It is our goal to treat each guest to nothing less than the most remarkable experience possible, and if we failed you in that regard it is to our regret.

We are proud of the wide range of guests and staff we attract to the Inn from all points of the globe. That so many are willing to make the trip from so far speaks volumes to the Southern hospitality we extend to all of our guests.

As proud as we are of our hospitality, we are even prouder to partner with local seafood providers. There’s no finer fare to be had than right here on the Carolina coast, and that’s why we partner with Certified South Carolina and Fresh on the Menu to bring guests a unique dock-to-table experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    45
    23
    9
    10
See reviews for
129
47
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We are traveling around the country, and we carry Kayaks on our car. They will not let you enter their gated resort if you have them on top of your car! The rudest gate attendant ever said, "the members will have your car towed" if you go in here. We had a golf tee time in 30 minutes, no place to just drop them off, so we were forced to cancel the time (We also had another time for a few days later we canceled.).
We were treated so rudely, that we had to post this. Because of this stupid rule and the rude gate attendant, it cost this resort and the golf courses here at least $750; 3 rounds of golf at about $400, food, souvenirs and drinks would have been another $300-400. We happily went to another course that morning, The Golden Bear GC at Hilton Head and had a perfect experience; great staff, great value, and a very nice course.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPRMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Sea Pines Resort, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
We sincerely regret that you encountered this experience, as we pride ourselves in unparalleled and exemplary customer service at The Sea Pines Resort.

The Sea Pines Resort does not manage and operate the gate to the community; the gate is managed by the property owners association.

However, we do our utmost to ensure that all guests checking-in to The Sea Pines Resort, and enjoying the resort’s amenities and activities, encounter a seamless arrival. Guests staying at The Inn at Harbour Town, or in one of the resort’s homes and villas, receive complimentary gate passes.

We encourage all guests of The Sea Pines Resort to contact us directly should they encounter any issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We have been coming to HHI for about 10 years now. It took us a little trial and error to figure out the best area to stay. We feel Sea Pines has the best selection of houses and villas to rent. In December it is very relaxing and sparsely populated, which leads to no wait golf on the famous Harbourtown Links as well as the resorts other courses. Tennis, swimming, shopping, and great food also readily available within the gates. All of
our dealings with Sea Pines staff has been positive, as well as all the residences rented through them have been in perfect condition. If you want tranquility, luxury, and amazing views, look no further!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cledoc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta,Ga
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Sea Pines is a regular stop for us. We get a villa instead of a small hotel room. Lots of activities, we ride bikes on great trails. Beautiful beach, ride the horses. Great shopping, golf, tennis, and dining
Definitely a Family resort, they are now adding a new beach club and golf clubhouse.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jbsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
143 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We recently spent a few days in Sea Pines Resort over the Thanksgiving Holiday. The staff and accommodations were 2nd to none. The resort is beautiful and definitely 1st class in every aspect. Do yourself and your family a favor, stay at Sea Pines and you'll be forever grateful you did!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I would recommend a family vacation at Sea Pines. We spent a week on the resort only left to shop for groceries. The whole resort is accessible by bike, and really pleasant to ride around. The beach is quite wide, except during high tide, when it can feel like you are packed like a sardine next to your fellow travelers. We rented a house with a pool and would swim at the beach and then swim at the pool. We also brought kayaks and spent some time exploring the estuaries. We even saw a manatee. This is a very desirable place to stay for families.

Room Tip: We rented a house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arfilis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid-Atlantic
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

We have twice taken advantage of late summer deals for Sea Pines and have loved both trips. Each time we got the same condo (we specifically requested the unit we stayed in last year); we love the condo option -- you can do laundry, cook, have space to spread out, etc. Our condo has a pool, but not all have them, so,double check if that is important to you. Our deal also comes w/ bikes. It is so much fun to ride bikes at Sea Pines. The bike paths are beautiful and it's so level that you can ride for hours w/o getting tired. Sea Pines is like summer camp for families. There are so many things to do and the beach is lovely. The golfer in our family says the courses are decent. It is fun just to walk the different "neighborhoods" of Sea Pines. We don't eat many meals at the Sea Pines restaurants and when we do, we get lunch. Lunch fare is far superior to the evening food. There are so many good restaurants on Hilton Head, that you don't want to limit yourself to Sea Pines.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Huntinghouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.8 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
1.4 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
2.5 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#12 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
2.7 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
6.2 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Pines Resort

Property: Sea Pines Resort
Address: 32 Greenwood Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4510
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Pines Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Pines Resort is a popular 5,000-acre oceanfront vacation destination on Hilton Head Island, SC. The highly acclaimed resort featuring The Inn at Harbour Town, the island's only Forbes Four Star hotel, Harbour Town Yacht Basin, three championship golf courses, world-class tennis, superb dining and shopping, five miles of pristine beach, a forest preserve, a 15-mile network of leisure paths, watersports, Eco-Adventures and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sea Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Pines Hotel Hilton Head
Sea Pines Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing