We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty lighthouse, restaurants, shopping. Stables.”
Review of Sea Pines Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea Pines Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
160 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Pretty lighthouse, restaurants, shopping. Stables.”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Sea Pines is a fun day/evening trip. We have rented horses and also ridden our bikes all around. The lighthouse is fun to go up in for a great view. The grounds are beautiful and well-kept. We've had fun here for years. I like seeing the tabby ruins historical site. The only negative is that we went on the 4th of July and you park way far away from the beach where you watch the fireworks and shuttle buses get you to and from. The line to get back to our car after was over 90 minutes. I wouldn't watch them there again for that reason. We didn't get back to our condo until midnight.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tisha399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPRMarketing, Marketing Manager at Sea Pines Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for visiting and for enjoying so many of the amenities and activities at The Sea Pines Resort.

We recognize that our Fourth of July fireworks display is increasingly popular, which is why have endeavored to go above and beyond in ensuring an orderly, efficient and safe parking and transportation experience. Flyers distributed at the Sea Pines gate provided specific information about parking and transportation, including warnings of possible congestion and delays.
We received resoundingly positive feedback regarding the fireworks display this year, and hope that the experience you had during the show will entice you to return.

Thank you for your feedback. Please know we continually aim to exceed guest expectations and all comments are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    45
    23
    9
    10
See reviews for
129
47
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My son's and I were not staying at the resort but decided to pay the guest visitor to fee to view the fireworks at the Harbour Town Yacht Basin. After going through the gate we were directed to satellite parking and boarded a bus to be taken to the harbor area for the fireworks show. The bus driver informed us that we needed to ask to be dropped at parking lot one on the return bus trip. After the very mediocre fireworks display it was mass hysteria and a 90 minute wait to board a bus for the return trip to the satellite parking. We finally boarded a bus and rode to parking lot one, we were dropped off at the power line area that was the make shift parking area. It was very poorly lit with cars pulling out in all directions and no staff supervision. We walked around for about thirty minutes looking for our car and my children were nearly hit by vehicles multiple times. As they cried in fear I eventually flagged down another bus to ask for help as it was the only option that I and other lost patrons could do as there was no other help in the parking area. The driver of this bus then figured out that I was not in lot one but parked in lot two and was given wrong information from my initial bus driver. He then transported us down closer to the lot two area of the dark power line and we finally found our vehicle in what amounted to over a two hour ordeal.

As nice as this area looks they sure could do a whole lot better with the organization and logistics of this event. I'm very fortunate that my children were not injured but they made me promise we wouldn't return there again for future 4th of July's

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPRMarketing, Marketing Manager at Sea Pines Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We sincerely regret to hear that you did not enjoy a pleasant experience on the Fourth of July. We do take great measures to make certain that parking and transportation is orderly, efficient, and safe.

In an effort to provide visitors with ample information, Sea Pines gate attendants distribute a flyer specifically regarding parking and transportation on the Fourth of July to all incoming visitors purchasing a guest pass. The flyer specifically states that due to the extreme popularity of the event there can be congestion and delays, in addition to other valuable tips.

While the event, parking, and transportation are all complimentary, large amounts of time and resources are dedicated to ensuring the success and safety of the event, including the addition of extra lighting in the satellite parking lots.

We apologize that you were given incorrect information regarding your parking lot number; we aim to eliminate all error so we regret to hear that this rare misstep occurred.

We received resoundingly positive feedback regarding the fireworks display this year, some guests saying that it was the best show ever, so we are both surprised and disappointed to hear that you were not impressed.

Thank you for your feedback. Please know we continually aim to exceed guest expectations and all comments are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshall, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

My kids wanted to go to the letting zoo. We were rudely told we couldn't go there because we had a kayak on our van. Our room at another resort was on the 5th floor so ditching it wasn't really an option. Not willing to work with us at all. When I went to the resort office, I was told the gate was run by a different company than the people that manage the resort itself, so they couldn't do anything. Really?!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GeraldNissley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPRMarketing, Marketing Manager at Sea Pines Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We regret that you felt you were treated rudely during your visit.

The gate is managed by Community Services Associates, which is an association of Sea Pines property owners. Neither is affiliated with resort operations. We do our best to accommodate our guests, pride ourselves on create an exemplary customer experience, and regret that you were unable to enjoy all our resort has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We are staying in Hilton Head and decided to go to the Harbortown/ Sea Pines resort area. Not satisfied, felt unwelcome. You pay 6$ per car plus 1$ per bike on the car. The only place we found to park was Harbortown. So we walked around there. Going up the lighthouse costs extra. Lots of water activities, all at an extra cost. NO public beach with parking anywhere. I think we could have stayed parked in Harbortown and taken a trolley to a beach. Bottom line- if you are not staying there, don't bother going there. The rest of the island is better. If you are staying there you won't have problems I guess.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank SenoraB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPRMarketing, Marketing Manager at Sea Pines Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We regret that your recent visit did not live up to your expectations. We have been proudly serving generations of travelers for decades, bringing back families year after year with our activities, amenities and convenient beach access at the recently renovated Sea Pines Beach Club, which offers ample parking.

Guests of the Sea Pines Resort receive complimentary guess access; however visitors are charged a fee at the gate by Community Services Associates, an association of the Sea Pines Plantation Property Owners. Neither is affiliated with The Sea Pines Resort, but we regret that you were inconvenienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My family and I stayed at this resort in a three bedroom luxurious villa. It was a huge resort, like a small town, but the villas were heritage villas and perfectly located to all the amenities which include pools, a fabulous beach, restaurants, tennis courts, movie theater, a marina and bike and walking trails. We were very impressed to say the least. We rode bikes that are available for rent. We never get to do that and it was a nice experience. We used the pool which was not crowded and had plenty chairs with servers. The beach was fabulous except the cost of renting lounge chairs was outrageous. Bring your own chair. The beach was low tide and we saw three dolphins close to the shore putting on a show for us. I was amazed at this unusual sight on a beach. I thought dolphins stayed in the deep ocean. Anyway, the shopping and movie theaters were within walking distance of our villa. Small and homely theater with great prices and we saw Xmen there.
I loved the villa. It was big and had a huge kitchen with stainless steel appliances. We had a grill on the patio for cooking out and the tennis court was conveniently located in back of our villa a few steps away. The beds were comfy and the televisions had cable and the wifi was free. I have no complaints about the heritage villas in sea pines resort except it was too short of a stay. Considering it was Memorial Day weekend, the price of 800 for Friday through Monday was a great deal. May I mention that my husband and kids went shark fishing for 60 per person on a huge fishing charter boat and caught sharks. Several. They were about 3-4 ft in length and after posing for photos, they released them in the water. It was quite a memorable experience. Because Publix and Walmart are so close by, we cooked almost all our food so saved money and was able to treat ourselves to the shark fishing excursion. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michnwill4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We booked a "premier" condo through Sea Pines for 10 days. Upon arrival there was food remaining in the kitchen from a prior guest, food and sand on the floor, dead bugs throughout the condo and the dryer barely worked (we called the second day we were there to have it fixed, never was). I suspect one of the heating elements was out, it took three cycles to dry anything. In someone's great wisdom they let their ground crews service the lawn but the units at 8am - right by our kids window. It was also great having a bed in the unit above us where our kids could hear those guests having sex. The headboards in our units were so cheap they rattled whenever you got into bed - the solution, felt pads on the back. How cheap can the furniture get? We were also never told about the beach club construction when we booked the trip. We did get an email about 10 days before our arrival but what are going to do at that point? The overflow parking at the golf course/golf carts were a noble effort until there was no parking available at the golf course. Their solution was to walk to the beach or ride bikes - neither were an option given our location in Sea Pines. We have been staying in Sea Pines for 31 years, this was the absolute worst experience we have had. The quality control on the units is just terrible. The beach club does look like it will be a nice addition, we had a pretty good meal at LiveOak and the beach patrol/staff were very good. On net, however, if we stayed in Sea Pines again we would probably rent from Marriott Harbour Town or Monarch - you get the consistent quality (not superb but consistent) of Marriott and the same amenities within Sea Pines. We have also had pretty good luck over the years renting houses in Sea Pines (not from Sea Pines, however). This was our error.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay in a condo, stay on a top floor. My advice, however, would be to either ren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmoryPhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPRMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Sea Pines Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We regret that your vacation at The Sea Pines Resort was not consistent with the experience typically enjoyed by our guests, but thank you for your feedback as we continually aim to exceed guest expectations.

While we aim for perfection it is possible we may experience a rare misstep in housekeeping, although it has never been to the extent of the review above.

We take great measures to ensure that our guests experience a very special stay and that all homes and villas are spotless prior to guest check-in. Each home and villa at The Sea Pines Resort is professionally cleaned, followed by a thorough inspection completed by our experienced property managers prior to each and every arrival.

Our housekeeping supervisors call each guest following check-in to ensure that everything was to their satisfaction upon arrival. The Sea Pines Resort takes guest satisfaction extremely seriously and, if the guest had reported any issues they would have been immediately remedied.

We also employ a full-time maintenance team that is available 24 hours a day to respond to requests quickly and efficiently.

We thank you again for your feedback and hope you will include The Sea Pines Resort among your future vacation plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was a beautiful resort and area to vacation in. This was actually a business trip, but I also made it a vacation with my family. Loved the area - beach, dolphin cruise, shopping, golfing, relaxation. Wonderful place!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillH09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.8 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
1.4 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
2.5 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#12 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
2.7 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
6.2 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Pines Resort

Property: Sea Pines Resort
Address: 32 Greenwood Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4510
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Pines Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Pines Resort is a popular 5,000-acre oceanfront vacation destination on Hilton Head Island, SC. The highly acclaimed resort featuring The Inn at Harbour Town, the island's only Forbes Four Star hotel, Harbour Town Yacht Basin, three championship golf courses, world-class tennis, superb dining and shopping, five miles of pristine beach, a forest preserve, a 15-mile network of leisure paths, watersports, Eco-Adventures and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sea Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Pines Hotel Hilton Head
Sea Pines Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing