We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ocean cove 806”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Cove Club at Palmetto Dunes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Great location, great condo and price was right. I stayed in unit 806, This is a three bedroom three bath right on the palmetto dunes lagoon. It was the cleanest unit we ever have been in, in hilton head. The furnishings were perfect and very comfortable. The description of the unit was exact. The best part of this unit was convenience to local store and golf. I booked our unit via : www.vrbo.com/315254, which I found easy and convenient. I will be back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jeffreyb20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonheadusa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Cove Club at Palmetto Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time at Ocean Cove. Between the lagoon access fishing, the pool and a quick walk to the beach or the Dunes House, you have everything you need for a relaxing family vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

We had a 2 bedroom condo on the lagoon March 22-29 2014. Check in and reservations were handled in a personable and professional way by Pete and Elaine. The condo was clean and well equipped.
Very impressed by the resort, the neighbors, the residents and the staff.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank majorpappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonheadusa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Cove Club at Palmetto Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hilton Head Accommodations and RMC Resort Management are committed to helping you find your perfect vacation spot on Hilton Head. Come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

My family and I invited our friends to vacation with us this year and bit the bullet on renting at Ocean Cove because it was the only resort available with the 3 bedrooms we needed. I was hesitant because of the reviews but, because of limited options, tried it anyway.

Firstly, the good:
The location to the beach is superb. We quite literally were a five minute walk, which is really nice. Through the parking lot, across the street, and down the sidewalk right to the beach.

The space was adequate for two families of four. As noted, it's a townhouse style with one bedroom downstairs and two bedrooms upstairs.

There is granite in the kitchen and bathrooms, however all of the tubs were lacking (one wouldn't plug, the others were kind of gross).

Our unit (818) was on the lagoon, which was nicer than the units in front of us that had a view of the parking lot. The lagoon units have a main deck in the back with stairs that walk down to a dock. The dock was great for the adults at night, but if you have kids, it was a nightmare. There are no railings that prevent kids from falling into the alligator filled water, so we were unable to utilize the space until 8pm when the kids went to bed. Each bedroom has its own patio to sit on that did have rails so kids could theoretically enjoy the outside, too if they wanted.

The not-so-good:
When we arrived, the unit wasn't properly cleaned. There were juice or wine spills on the living room tables, carpets didn't look vacuumed, very spotty sweep job (dirt, hair, and even an aspirin underneath an end table) and some dishes hadn't been cleaned. We also had random trash on the back deck stairs. When I went to sweep the floors quickly, I found that our broom was broken and unusable. We called the next morning to ask for a broom, however my husband didn't mention the state of the condo when we arrived (he's nonconfrontational).

The tv remote to the main bedroom downstairs was missing and therefore made the television unable to be used, which was a slight bummer when it came time to relaxing before bed. Not a huge deal breaker because we were outside the majority of the time, but it would have been nice had it been replaced.

The upstairs AC unit was not working and we had to have a repair service man come twice. It continued to not work after the first fix and was spotty after the second. That meant many warm nights for all three of the four kids (4 years and under) and a set of parents.

Much of the furniture was very, very worn. The tables and dressers were missing paint and a couch on the upstairs landing area was disgusting...I don't think any of us even touched it.

Palmetto Dunes is a pretty small plantation so there isn't much for bike riding unless you leave it. It's totally doable, but it's also not very close to places like Cologny so you really can just ride your bikes up and down the main sidewalk. Also, because of it's location, be prepared for backups in the traffic circles trying to get anywhere for dinner. Shipyard is a much, much better location in my opinion. It is nice and quiet in Palmetto Dunes because of location and size, so that's a bonus, too.

There are bugs but nothing over the top. A reviewer had mentioned ants, and I could definitely see that happening, but not where we were. We did, however, have palmetto bugs that lived in a crack between our wall and stove. We tried to catch them on our counters, but they always got away. My family is from MI but we've lived in SC for years now, and we have palmetto bugs in our own house (just goes with living in the south) so we weren't upset about it, but our northern friends were completely disgusted. I do agree that it would be nice to vacation without having to trap insects and bugs constantly.

Not a negative but a heads up- the units come with apartment sized washer and dryers. I'm just happy to have a way to wash our beach clothes, but all of other resorts have come with full sized washers, so just that people are aware. It's also located in the kitchen with no way to close it off, so it's pretty nosey but again, doable.

Overall, it's unlikely that we'll return here. It suited our needs just fine in terms of space, but we always felt like we had to wear shoes around and double check dishes that we were about to use. The place needs a major face lift and more attention to detail and then it would be an alright place to vacation. We had a wonderful week regardless and it was nice to try a new spot, we'll just look elsewhere next year!

Room Tip: There is one row of units that face the parking lot and one row that face the lagoon- be sure to sna...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank triplejump1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennisheather, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Cove Club at Palmetto Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Thank you for your overall review of Ocean Cove. We appreciate all of your feedback and are glad you enjoyed your visit to Hilton Head Island. We are sorry that the unit did not meet your expectations and will take your feedback to our team. Thank you and we do hope you come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We exchanged a timeshare week for Ocean Cove the week of Christmas and took friends along with us. Reading the reviews, I held my breath wondering what we would find when we arrived.
Our unit, #815 was beautiful. It either had just been redecorated or the cleaning crew needs to be commended! Even the corners were clean. As to bugs, we never saw a single bug of any type or any signs of bugs, and we have lived in Florida and vacationed in the South a lot and so we know what a battle it is to keep bugs at bay. The beds were very comfortable, and although it is true the sheets were not 800 threadcount....they were just fine for a vacation. The unit contained everything one could possibly need for a week at the beach. We had three bedrooms and they were spacious and decorated beautifully. The bathrooms are small,but just how much time does one spend in a bathroom on a vacation? There are balconys off the living room and each bedroom. True, the appliances are a bit dated, but worked fine and I am sure will be replaced when needed. The view of the lagoon is lovely and we enjoyed watching all the herons, ducks, cormorants, and the fish that jump three feet into the air. Did not see any alligators, although there is a sign posted at the end of the dock telling everyone not to feed or harrass them! It was too cool to sit for very long outside, but we did have neighbors on either side who had brought their own canoes or kayaks. Had friendly conversations with some people going by in their kayaks. Had dinner one evening at "The Jazz Corner", wonderful food, great wait staff, and the music was fabulous. Had a breakfast at "Stacks", dinner at the "Hilton Head Diner: Went to the Coastal Carolina Theater and saw "Anything Goes". The cast was young, beautiful, handsome, the costumes were gorgeous, the music was nostalgic, and the very best thing is, that ALL of this is just around the corner. Takes five minutes to get there. The beach is practically across the street and is wide and lovely. The only downside to all of this is, when people find out how great Ocean Cove is, it will be more and more difficult to get a reservation I am afraid. We hope we can return in warmer weather. Although we did not use it due to it being too cold, the pool looked great.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thelma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonheadusa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Cove Club at Palmetto Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for the great feedback about Pete and Elaine as well! Come visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We purchased a timeshare in Ocean Cove 3 years ago. We were given "mis-information" at that time. We were willing to overlook some of these problems because we love the location of Ocean Cove and Hilton Head in general. We were even considering selling and purchasing a bigger unit. Despite NUMEROUS calls to RMC we have never received a call back. We even stopped by the office when we were in HHI a few weeks ago and after being kept waiting for about a half hour, we were told the gentleman we needed to see was "out sick". They didn't know this when we walked in? As previously stated, we have called, left voicemails, etc for this individual since we have returned and have not received the courtesy of a reply.
I also would like to state that every time we have had to deal with Mr. Potts he has been condescending and the most unfriendly customer service rep we have ever encountered.
I do not know how RMC can stay in business with such little consideration for the people who are essentially paying their salaries through our maintanence fees!
If you ever consider purchasing a timeshare be sure you check everything out fully and DO NOT USE RMC!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank beachholidays67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennisheather, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Cove Club at Palmetto Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Beachholidays67 -

As represented by the numerous positive reviews, Ocean Cove is an exceptional property, effectively sold, rented, managed and maintained by RMC Resort Management. RMC and Hilton Head Accommodations appreciate any feedback you as an owner can give. We apologize tremendously for the incovenience of you not able to get ahold of our sales professionals, however we feel the approach of disparaging our employees and company in a public manner is unneccesary.

We have tried to get in touch of you repeatedly to resolve the situation.....Please contact the President of our Company at 843-842-6556 x11112 at your earliest convenience so we can make this right for you.

Thank you for being a valued homeowner of Ocean Cove and RMC Resort Management...again, please contact us at the number above.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Just returned from a great week at Ocean Cove timeshare in Palmetto Dunes resort. The unit had just been completely renovated with everthing new including granite tops. Wasn't sure about the condition of the unit after reading some of the previous reviews. However, believe there may be confusion as to how the property is owned. There are some timeshares units located in the Ocean Cove community, while the other units are all privately owned. Sounds like some of the previously negative reviews may have rented from a private owner, thus not getting one of renovated timeshare units. It was a very comfortable unit with two master bedroom suites each with own balcony. It even had a dock right off the living room to fish or kayak. These townhouses are great if you want a master bedroom on the ground level. Overall, a great clean unit.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank trklk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennisheather, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Cove Club at Palmetto Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Thank you so much to our friends from Oahu for the review! Yes, you are correct, the one's managed by RMC Property Management and rented by Hilton Head Accommodations are newly renovated and have nice features! We are so glad you enjoyed your vacation to Hilton Head, come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This was the worst vacation rental that I have ever stayed in. Let me be more specific -

1. COCKROACHES
2. COCKROACHES
3. COCKROACHES
4. More bugs and spiders
5. Dirty kitchen/dishes
6. Dirty/moldy bathrooms
7. Dingy sheets and towels
8. Broken oven
9. Bad customer service - when I spoke with the property manager he told me that he cannot control the bugs

I think it is pretty obvious, but I would not recommend spending your well deserved vacation in an RMC property.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennisheather, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Cove Club at Palmetto Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Thank you for your feedback. Ocean Cove is an excellent top-ranked Trip Advisor Property with an average of 4 out of 5 approval rating and is one of our companies biggest return visitor properties. RMC Property Management takes tremendous pride in our service and response time. As frequent visitors to Hilton Head Island know, Palmetto Bugs are very common and harmless. We are sorry for any deficiencies in your unit. We always work hard to correct any problems as soon as we are notified of them.
We look forward to your next visit, please let us know how we can assist you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
886 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
0.1 mi away
The Village at Palmetto Dunes
The Village at Palmetto Dunes
#20 of 52 in Hilton Head
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Spinnaker at Shipyard
Spinnaker at Shipyard
#11 of 52 in Hilton Head
87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Captains Walk Villas
Captains Walk Villas
#36 of 52 in Hilton Head
38 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Head - Ocean Villas
Hilton Head - Ocean Villas
#39 of 52 in Hilton Head
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Cove Club at Palmetto Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Cove Club at Palmetto Dunes

Address: 10 Mooring Buoy, Executive Park Road, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5290
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range: £138 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Cove Club at Palmetto Dunes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ocean Cove Club at Palmetto Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Cove Club At Palmetto Dunes Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing