We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accommodation in a beautiful setting!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spinnaker at Shipyard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Wonderful townhouse style condos that have been naively upgraded, including granite counters, flat screen Tvs. We had previously viewed travelers photos and we were quite worried that it seemed very dated but all the units have been updated. They were very clean, we didn'T see any insects at all. Unit was minimally supplied (small coffee maker and teeny mugs) Bring your own Beach towel.Overall it was a great stay at a gorgeous setting with our unit (423) close enough to walk or bike to the beach.We loved the the 2nd bedroom had it's own private bathroom.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2011

This was our second trip to Hilton Head. Last year we were oceanfront and it was spectacular. This year we were prepared to be disappointed with our "landlubber" location, but quite the contrary. Shipyard is a quiet, scenic, gated compound with lots of personality. Shaded lanes winding around tennis courts, swimming pool, fairways and a variety of water amenities. Our unit had a pristine pond steps away from our private patio. It had a lighted fountain and a regular feathered visitor-- an Egret, I believe. If you need the "big water", It is an easy walk or a very short drive, (car or furnished bike) to the Shipyard beach area. We walked the wonderful beach nearly every day. At the unit, be prepared for steps. It's a climb to the front door, and a second climb to the upstairs bedrooms. Our unit was fresh and beautifully decorated. The kitchen had everything except coffee filters. We were delighted to find a large, flat screen TV on the living room wall. It must have been 50" . There are TVs in the bedrooms as well. Another amazing feature was the master bath. Huge double sink area, large marble whirlpool with companion shower, soaring ceiling with a skylight. Very impressive! You'll love this place... we did. Only two things were of general concern: There wasn't a single smoke alarm or CO2 alarm in the unit, and we slept upstairs. Secondly, housekeeping apparently missed a rather large colony of black mold in the utility room. All said and done, we would be delighted to have the opportunity to return to Spinnaker, and hope to do so next year. Oh by the way... be sure to check out Dye's Gullah Fixin's.. best low country food you'll ever taste. Southern home cooking at it's very best!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Suitemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

I'm all about ambiance and Spinnker at Shipyard Plantation has the quiet, laid-back, southern charm and ambiance that one would expect to find in South Carolina. Even in February, the days can reach a toasty 70 degrees. Cycling around the island on the complimentary bikes is what I choose to do, while G plays the links. Occasionally, after a hard day of golf, G will hop on the other bike and we'll ride to our favorite restaurant. Mostly, though, when it comes to dinner, we first enjoy doing some shopping on the island's ridicuously expensive gourmet grocery store and then spending most nights preparing wonderful meals in the well-stocked full kitchen. The only meal I generally cook at home during the year is Thanksgiving dinner, so I really enjoy cooking while on vacation. I usually take one day to cruise to Savannah for the experience of Riverfront shopping. We have already made our reservations for February and March of 2011, but we'll be staying at the other end of the Shipyard Plantation, at Egret Point. We prefer to travel to Hilton Head before the golf season heats up and the island gets busy. If you (Lobsterlvrs) are among the smoking, drinking, bowling, betting, loud, tattooed, nose-tongue-eyebrow-navel-hardware-sporting crowd, you'll better appreciate Myrtle Beach; Hilton Head is for the rugby, polo, tennis, golf playing, bicycle-riding, gourmet-food-eating-type crowd.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank psycho_maven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

We have owned week 41 at Spinnaker at Shipyard about 10 years and have taken one of our vacations there each and every year. Each year the facility and the amenities are better and if there should be a problem, it is handled pronto. A pleasant 10/15 minute walk to the beach and after reaching the beach, about 1.5 miles to Caligney Square, one of my favorite spots in Hilton Head. It is truly my week of total relaxation!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exclusivelyjoann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Spacious 2-bedroom, 2-bath condo unit backing up to golf course and pond with wildlife. The newly renovated unit had flat screen TV and everything our family of 5 needed for the week. Nice pool and daily activities for kids plus close to beach access. 2 bikes provided with unit and complimentary golf greens for up to 4 rounds per day! We'll be going back to Spinnaker at Shipyard every year!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We stayed in Spinnaker at Shipyard, and found a great last minute deal for the week of Easter. We picked Hilton Head Island because it's a great place to play tennis, and we were not disappointed. We found our room on VRBO, and it was a timeshare rental. The rate included two bikes, and one hour of free court time at the Van Der Meer tennis facility, located just a quick bike ride down the street. The Shipyard is a large resort-type complex, with many different conda/villa complexes. I was pleasantly surprised that each condo facility has its own tennis court and swimming pool. The tennis courts at the condo are first-come, but are free. We never had to wait for a court, as it appears that most people come for golf. Bicycles are the primary mode of transportation while in the resort, and there a plenty of bike paths for this purpose. We were disappointed to learn that the Van Der Meer facility closes at 7 pm...too early by my standards, and the condo courts are not lighted. Check in was simple, but heed the warning that most rooms are not available until 5 pm on check in day. And, don't try to check in after dark...it would be difficult to find our villa after dark. The condo was spacious, and very quiet. Even though our villa was the closest to the pool, we never heard the squeeling children (they were squeeling because the pool is not heated). The bedrooms were spacious, and the kitchen was very large. We will definately return...we had a great time.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 40somethingsplus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

We own in Branson, Mo but enjoying trading at other locations. I would have to agree, go before dark and check in which was simple and very easy. Staff is very friendly and although we did go to a briefing on timeshares..they were NOT pushy at all. Excepted our decline on the offer. CLEAN and spacious. Lots of stairs.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frg1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.2 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.3 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
1 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
5.7 mi away
Bluewater Resort and Marina
Bluewater Resort and Marina
#10 of 52 in Hilton Head
139 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coral Sands Resort
Coral Sands Resort
#2 of 52 in Hilton Head
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spinnaker at Shipyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spinnaker at Shipyard

Address: 10 Barcelona Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6306
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range: £114 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spinnaker at Shipyard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These spacious NON-SMOKING villas feature:sleeping maximum of 6 peoplefree daily Greens Fees * for up to 4 daily at Shipyard Golf Clubdaily tennis* at Van Der Meer Racquet Clubtwo free bicyclesfree wireless internet and free local and long distance callson-site pool and tennis courtsliving room features 36" screen cable television/DVD, stereo system, sleeper sofa, half bath and large picture windows dining room that seats 6 peoplelarge, well-equipped kitchen with granite countertops and breakfast counterlarge private decks for outside dining with great lagoon and golf views .full size washer and dryerking size bed, high ceilings and ceiling fan, cable television/DVD player and window seat in master bedroomgranite countertops, jetted tub, glass shower stall, high ceilings with skylights and double vanity in the master bath second bedroom has two twin beds, cable television/DVD player and private bath with tub/showersupervised children’s activities in season and pool party with live entertainment* Free Greens Fees and tennis at Van Der Meer Racquet Club are available to Hilton Head Accommodations rental guests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Spinnaker at Shipyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spinnaker At Shipyard Hotel Hilton Head
Spinnaker Shipyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing