We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spinnaker at Shipyard
Nearby Hotels
Hampton Inn Hilton Head(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$174
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
US$87
Red Roof
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$454
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$211
US$168
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$271
US$219
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$300
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$153
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$389
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
48
39
6
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
39
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseboth bedroomsfree golffoot alligatorsmall appliancesrci exchangespent a wonderful weekfull kitchenhilton head islandmaster bathshopping and dininggreat vacationvery nice place to stayswimming poolputting greennice propertywasher and dryer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had a great week at Spinnaker at Shipyard. We stayed in unit 444- 2 bedroom, 2 1/2 bath with a pull out sofa,a washer and dryer, well equipped kitchen, 2 bikes and ample parking. The master bedroom had a comfortable king size bed, flat screen tv, a cushioned window seat big enough to be a twin sized bed and huge en-suite bathroom. The second bedroom had 2 twin beds, flat screen tv and a smaller en-suite bathroom. Our unit was clean and had a very nice deck looking out onto the golf course and a pond that included a fountain and an alligator!
We were a quick walk or bike ride to the pool, which was nice and decent sized, though not always as clean as I would have liked. It was never crowded while we were there and had activities that kids could participate in throughout the day. We spent more time at the pool than we had anticipated, because my husband and I apparently had jellyfish targets on our legs- each of us getting stung (at least once) each day we were at the beach.
We were about half a mile from the beach access point- not a bad little bike ride to get there. We all loved riding our bikes on the beach. Parking at the beach access point was very limited, so we usually had someone drive there, drop off all our stuff, then park back at our unit and ride the bike back. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Corey89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Clean, well maintained units. Hope to return. Close to beachs, excellent biking & walking.Thanks to all Staff at RMC. Enjoyed Captain Charlie's tour of Dafuskie Island. Great food at Sea Shack , Hudson's, Skull Creek Boat House.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennisheather, Public Relations Manager at Spinnaker at Shipyard, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay on Hilton Head Island and with us. Thank you for letting us know your favorite restaurants too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

My husband and I spent the last week of November at the Spinnaker resorts in the Shipyard Plantation, The Cottages. This was an RCI timeshare trade. The plantation is beautiful. We were nestled near the back in a park-like setting surrounded with greenery and trees of Live Oaks, tall pines and palms dripping with Spanish moss.

We had no problem with checkin. The staff are very friendly and efficient. The property is very quiet and more so this time of year as it is low season. We had a lovely 3 bedroom condo which was the end unit of a group of three units. We were situated near a quiet small pool and hot tub. We could sit on our back deck and enjoy the lovely surroundings although in high time it might be noisier beside the pool. At this time we had it all to ourselves. There are lagoons also throughout but didn’t see any alligators although they are there and probably hibernating. This is a nice time of year as there are no crowds anywhere. Temperatures were cool which ranged between 14 and 18 C each day or low 60’s F. the week we were there. The sun shone most of the time except for two days of overcast skies.

The condo itself is very large with an upstairs. Two bedrooms are upstairs and one main bedroom downstairs on main level. There is a diningroom/livingroom with full kitchen. Each bedroom has its own ensuite bathroom and these are quite large. The unit was also very clean.
We liked the condo which is fully stocked with kitchen supplies, dishes, linens, toiletries and soaps to get you started. I love everything about the property except that the unit is outdated - furniture and bathroom fixtures. It does have a DVD player and a CD player, one flat screen tv in livingroom but the bedroom TV’s are older. Needs to have the tv’s upgraded as well. There is free WiFi in the unit which was nice. There is also a washer/dryer in the unit which works well.

The property has paved bike trails which meander for miles on the island. We rented bikes from The Bike Doctor which were delivered and waiting for us when we arrived. The bike rental people also pick the bikes up when you leave so it is not a hassle at all. We enjoyed biking through the woods and over to the beach at Coligny Plaza. There is a lovely new boardwalk there with public access with changerooms and showers, hanging swings from pergolas, rocking chairs which are all surrounded with wispy grasses and palms. It is so pretty to sit and relax and watch the ocean from afar. This is also a WiFi hotspot.

At Spinnaker there is also a large heated outdoor pool beside the main activity centre as well as a large hot tub. This looked very inviting and clean. We did not make it over there though as we used the one near us where we could just slip outside our door to access. They also provide pool towels. They do have excursions and activities throughout the week but we didn't have time to participate. We mostly did our own exploring.

Hilton Head’s beaches are phenomenal. The beach is very wide and expansive especially during low tide. The beaches are great for riding bikes on and beachcombing. The sand is powdery but packed where the tide comes and goes. I even had the good fortune of finding a shark’s tooth.

All in all a very lovely stay and we wouldn’t hesitate to go back to not only enjoy the many lovely resorts which are all nestled in the greenery of Hilton Head but also to enjoy the beauty of the area itself – the beaches, wildlife, boat excursions, shopping, great restaurants, etc.
It was especially pretty this time of year with Christmas decorations popping up everywhere.

Room Tip: We traded through our RCI timeshare so we didn't really have a choice as to which unit we could use.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shar0nOntari0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Easy and entertaining check in with Dick! After reading some of the reviews we were pleasantly surprised how well maintained this complex is maintained inside the units and all of the grounds.. The maintenance people were fantastic. We had a light bulb out in the living room and they promptly delivered one to our door. Then the garbage disposal died the day before Thanksgiving and bam they came right over and installed a new one, even asking would it be convenient to do it now?? What service! Even tho these units are older, the upgrades they have done are financially smart ones...adding granite counter-tops in kitchen and all baths, new furniture and flat screen TV's in living room and both bedrooms, very nice! Yes the cabinets are older but in good shape.Having a washer / dryer was very helpful! The deck off the living area is very private and large.We cooked Thanksgiving dinner without any problem in our unit for 6 people and had a terrific meal there! My hubby played golf several days and loved the golf course on site , the clubhouse and scheduling tee times were easy! We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We were in the 100 block unit 107 which was an end unit overlooking the 7th fairway. Very light and bright..decks are very private from next door units..the tennis courts,pool and hot tub are between buildings 200 & 300 ..short walk there
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cjm386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Just finished a great week in Hilton Head. The best place to instantly unwind and relax from all the pressures of work and life. Our unit was very nice and spacious. Some maintenance issues that need attention but nothing major. Our unit faced the golf course and we had a great view from our deck. A 15 minute walk to the ocean was something we did a lot during the week. We had unit 104 and it was very clean when we checked in. Staff was nice at check in and processed us very quickly so we could get to our unit. We arrived on a timeshare exchange and have been in Shipyard plantation several times previous but our first time at this resort. Some furniture could be updated at some point to really make this a perfect unit. We enjoyed the 2 levels with the bedrooms upstairs. Weather was perfect during our stay and we can't wait to return to Hilton Head, and hopefully stay at Spinnaker on a future exchange.

Room Tip: Unit 104 had perfect view of the 7th fairway and we never felt the bugs when sitting on the deck. If you want peaceful, quiet time..this is a great unit.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank canuck43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennisheather, Public Relations Manager at Spinnaker at Shipyard, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thanks canuck43! Glad you had a great time...beautiful views and a walk to the beach each day! What more could you want! Please join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews