We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable accommodations, terrible management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spinnaker at Shipyard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We made our reservation for 12 people in 2 units next to or near each other with a woman at "Hilton Head Accommodations," and thought we were all set to go. A little over a week in advance, I sent an email inquiring as to the number of cars we could bring. A week later, I still had not heard back, so I emailed and called. I was finally contacted by Glenn, who answered my question. The day of, on the drive to HHI, I called to facilitate late check-in, and was told they didn't have us arriving until the next day, that the woman who took the reservation (and who was conveniently "no longer with the company" had changed it the day after I made the reservation, and the best they could do was either refund one night of our stay, or put us in two units that were "two buildings apart" and shared a "common area." Glenn assured they were about 50 yards away, then offered some restaurant gift cards "for the inconvenience." Upon arrival, we found that the units were not two buildings apart, but two building clusters apart, and each cluster included 3 or 4 buildings, and "50 yards" was a gross underestimation that could only have been made to placate me. The "common area" must be the golf course they beach backed up to, and even by that route, the units were not easily accessible to each other thanks to the bodies of water on the course. I sent an email upon arrival to Glenn voicing these indiscrepancies that has yet to be returned, and we never saw these gift certificates he offered over the phone.

Also, while attempting to get guests through the gate, I was told by the security guard I needed an "owner code," which would be in the info packet given at check in. I was unable to find it, and so I brought it to him and he found it was not actually in the packet at all and I had to make an after-hours call to the company and wait for a response from the on-call person to get it resolved. Clearly this is information that should have been made available and was not.

Had I wanted units that were not close to each other, I would have paid the same amount for a place closer to our conference, and closer to the beach, but the deciding factor was the availability of next-door units for our group, which was clearly not met. This company could really use some competent employees, and ones that respond to emails in a timely manner/at all, or actually make good on promises made.

That said, the accommodations themselves, despite being close to nothing of interest to our group, were nice enough. If you can avoid the problems the company seems to have, you should be ok.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SarahKate310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonheadusa, Public Relations Manager at Spinnaker at Shipyard, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback from your stay at Spinnaker. We are sorry for the confusion in the booking and site arrangements and will take proper steps to alleviate that frustration in the future. Although there was some communication issues, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and again, apologize for any inconveniences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

We enjoyed our recent visit to Spinnaker at Shipyard. Our access to Spinnaker at Shipyard was from Poe Avenue. This means that Spinnaker at Shipyard is in the southern part of the Hilton Head Sneaker, but not in Sea Pines.

Spinnaker at Shipyard is fairly central to Hilton Head’s great restaurants, and at most a 10-15 minute drive is involved to reach nearly all of the Hilton Head’s restaurants.

While not golfers, we enjoyed that Spinnaker at Shipyard had a golfing location.

We note that Spinnaker at Shipyard is a nice five star townhouse, and this townhouse is fairly spacious.

We found the modern amenities to be excellent, including the full kitchen. The two bedroom/two bathroom left little to desire.

Spinnaker at Shipyard profits from a great management team, and employees who are dedicated to guests enjoying a great holiday.

Spinnaker at Shipyard is part of a national corporation, whose goal is provide a product that the public will embrace. This is not our first Spinnaker experience, and we do recommend a Spinnaker at Shipyard holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SavantIII_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonheadusa, Public Relations Manager at Spinnaker at Shipyard, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear SavantIII_11-
First off, thank you for your thorough review! As a top commentator, it means alot that you had such a great vacation experience with us! So glad you found the area and accommodations to your liking and that you had everything you needed. Spinnaker at Shipyard is a fabulous location - close to the beach, restaurants, bike paths, golf, tennis and more. Please come back and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed on the island for 5 weeks and were unable to spend the last week at the same location so chose Spinnaker for our last week based on other reviews. What a Big Disappointment it has turned out to be. Upon entering the unit, first impression was that it looked nice, was clean but had a very strong, unpleasant odor. Walking from the foyer into the living room my husband and I both almost fell as the transition from tile to carpet was very uneven due to the tile being about 1/2 to an inch higher than the living room, with the carpet installed to look like it was all the same height. I scratched my hand at the kitchen sink on the granite that was broken and never repaired. Wanting to make brownies was an impossibility as the unit did not have a mixer, as the other unit we stayed in did. The pool area was closed and we were told we could use a different pool location.....this was not feasible for me to use while my husband went golfing as I need knee surgery, have limited walking, and the pool was almost one mile from our unit. The water was turned off one morning, without being notified, thus leaving me with shampoo in my hair. The same day after dinner, upon arriving back to the unit to watch television before retiring, guess what? There wasn't any reception and once again we had had no notice or phone message to inform us of this. Will we ever stay at Spinnaker again? Absolutely NOT and we will make sure our friends never use this particular property.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonheadusa, Public Relations Manager at Spinnaker at Shipyard, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Karen R -
We are so sorry you had such a poor experience at Spinnaker at Shipyard! We at Hilton Head Accommodations strive to make sure each guest is treated with the highest industry standards and have an enjoyable guest experience. As you can see from our ratings, we succeed often! Some of these issues were beyond our control but again, we do apologize. Thank you for visiting Hilton Head Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have been coming hear for over 10 years with the family and it is always great. It is very close the the main shopping center and a short shuttle ride away to the beach. There is also a very large pool that is great to sit by.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonheadusa, Public Relations Manager at Spinnaker at Shipyard, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

We are so excited your family has been coming again and again to Spinnaker at Shipyard. What a great way to create amazing memories on Hilton Head Island! We are in the process of upgrading our amenities so look forward to your next vacation with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This property is wonderful! First of all the townhouse is laid out very efficiently. There are 2 BR and 2 baths upstairs. The master bath is absolutely gorgeous with skylights, a variety of lighting options, and a huge vanity with 2 sinks "miles" apart from each other. Flat-screen TVs in both bedrooms. Downstairs there is a huge kitchen, a living room with huge TV, dining room, and a half bath. Very clean. Included with the rental are two bicycles that made the week so much fun. It is very close to the beach - a 10 minute bike ride. There are bike paths all over Hilton Head, so one can ride safely. There is a beautiful pond right off the back deck. The only disappointment we had was a noisy heating unit. We called service but the man said it was normal because it was cold. But other than that, it was perfect! Would come back here in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frugalmama57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonheadusa, Public Relations Manager at Spinnaker at Shipyard, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you so much for your kind and thorough review of Spinnaker at Shipyard. We are glad you liked the layout and enjoyed the bike paths. We have had unusually cold weather this past month so we apologize for our heater working overtime! Please come back and see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

The units at Spinnaker Shipyard are very spacious with two full bedrooms and two and one-half baths, a full size, well-equipped kitchen and a nice patio overlooking the golf course. Each unit includes two bikes for your use. The furnishings are a bit dated but comfortable. There is a pool and tennis court but it was too cold for those during my stay. The Shipyard Plantation is ideal as far as location because you are centrally located along the south part of the island, near a lot of shopping and dining. I would recommend Spinnaker at Shipyard for a Hilton Head vacation.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jench2615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonheadusa, Public Relations Manager at Spinnaker at Shipyard, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thanks jench2615! We enjoyed your review and took the furnishing notes back to our team. Spinnaker at Shipyard is an awesome place to stay if you want the quiet of Shipyard Plantation combined with being among the hustle and bustle (or as close as you can get to it on HHI) of the south end. Glad you enjoyed your time and thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Perfect time of year to go . We were there the 3rd week in Nov. The unit was a little dated but was clean and quiet. Had everything we needed. Eric mad some great golf deals for us. Bike trails are everywhere, especially at low tide on the beach. Good restaurants and a grill right next door for home cooking. All in all a wonderful week.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank headcarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonheadusa, Public Relations Manager at Spinnaker at Shipyard, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Hi headcarp - thank you for the great review of the property. Yes, Hilton Head is filled with over 100 miles of pristine bike paths and the fall/winter is a great time to ride bikes on the beach. Glad you enjoyed the grills too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.2 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
1.5 mi away
Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
1 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Bluewater Resort and Marina
Bluewater Resort and Marina
#9 of 52 in Hilton Head
146 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coral Sands Resort
Coral Sands Resort
#2 of 52 in Hilton Head
611 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spinnaker at Shipyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spinnaker at Shipyard

Address: 10 Barcelona Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6306
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range: £114 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spinnaker at Shipyard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These spacious NON-SMOKING villas feature:sleeping maximum of 6 peoplefree daily Greens Fees * for up to 4 daily at Shipyard Golf Clubdaily tennis* at Van Der Meer Racquet Clubtwo free bicyclesfree wireless internet and free local and long distance callson-site pool and tennis courtsliving room features 36" screen cable television/DVD, stereo system, sleeper sofa, half bath and large picture windows dining room that seats 6 peoplelarge, well-equipped kitchen with granite countertops and breakfast counterlarge private decks for outside dining with great lagoon and golf views .full size washer and dryerking size bed, high ceilings and ceiling fan, cable television/DVD player and window seat in master bedroomgranite countertops, jetted tub, glass shower stall, high ceilings with skylights and double vanity in the master bath second bedroom has two twin beds, cable television/DVD player and private bath with tub/showersupervised children’s activities in season and pool party with live entertainment* Free Greens Fees and tennis at Van Der Meer Racquet Club are available to Hilton Head Accommodations rental guests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Spinnaker at Shipyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spinnaker At Shipyard Hotel Hilton Head
Spinnaker Shipyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing