We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Beach Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seawatch at the Island Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Seawatch at the Island Club
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Beach Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Seawatch is a great family location for the beach oriented family. Twelve miles of clean wide beach right out your door. The 2 bedroom units have been updated and are plenty large for a family of 4, 6 if you want to use the sleeper sofa. The units are right on the beach - some ocean front and some ocean side. Well furnished, well maintained with an unobtrusive staff. A call to the front office for any problem is dealt with quickly. My unit was on the 4th floor and had a great ocean view from the balcony. This place just feels like home not a hotel. The Island Club timeshares are the best kept secret on the Island. Rent or trade here if you get a chance, you wont be disapointed. Don't miss the free cookout on Thursdays at noon.

We've traded for a unit there this next July.
Try it.

Room Tip: If you have a choice try for Building 8 - Ocean front. For a view like always higher is better. Wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traderguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle A, Manager at Seawatch at the Island Club, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you so much for your nice review of Island Club / Seawatch. We are so happy you enjoyed our cookout and our beautiful beach. We are looking forward to having you back in July.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    23
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
50
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perry, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Have spent spring break at the Island Club on Hilton Head Island for 20 of the last 22 years. Love it. The living rooms face lovely lagoons or the ocean. The bedroom window of the units face the parking lot but it is surrounded with gorgeous azaleas, other flowers, palms, and kumquat trees. The entire resort is very attractive with the exception of the workout room. It is what it needs to be. My family prefers to walk or run on the beach, fly kites, play soccer, dig in the sand, and swim for exercise. We have used the ten tennis courts often, as well as the racquet ball court, basketball court, ladderball and cornhole games, and playground. As with most resorts, maintenance and replacement of things is done regularly. In my 22 years of visiting the pool was closed only one year, while redoing it and the surrounding area, including adding heat. I let my kids wander the property in pairs once they hit the age of 8 or 9 because it is so safe. The rooms are always clean. Upon check-in, you receive a sheet in which you can request midweek housekeeping service for a fee. Maintenance is always there promptly if there is a leaky dishwasher. Each condo has a washer-dryer so you can wash towels or sheets every day if you'd like. It is rare that you can hear any of the neighbors. We have brought many friends and relatives with us over the years and all have enjoyed their rooms and the resort. I highly recommend The Island Club Resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brenray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle A, Manager at Seawatch at the Island Club, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thanks so much for your wonderful review of The Island Club Seawatch. We are glad that you have chosen Seawatch for your family vacations over the last 20 years and are looking forward to having you and your family vacation with us for the next 20 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We got a letter telling us RCI assigned condos and could not be change. Well, we knew the crap had hit the fan. Our condo was 1st floor beside trash dumpsters and backed to fence looking at a road. Carpet in place is older than Moses and dirty. No maid service and no change of sheets for bed. Lagoons are fake holes in ground with green dye in the water. Pool on website said heated.. Not heated and not open. Workout center is size of a shoe box with video surveillance . Lol. What a joke.. Not one redeeming value expect their employees were nice. Sales called too much , so disconnect phones. Employee maintenance tried to gain entrance to our condo without any notification. "To replace faucet handles". Get a life.
Last place on earth to take a vacation . My fellow tripadvisors rated this over 4. Please people.. What planet are you on???

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Rocky423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle A, Manager at Seawatch at the Island Club, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
We are very sorry to hear you had such a bad experience, and would like to discuss your issues with you over the phone. We value all feedback so we can improve our guests’ vacations at our resort. Please call Shelly at 843-785-6800 so we can discuss your experience at our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

I can't believe that my family was able to stay in such a lovely timeshare that is directly on such a beautiful beach at Christmas. What great luck! Best equipped kitchen ever at a timeshare with plenty of dishes for cooking Christmas dinner. Very nice and helpful staff who are knowledgable about the area. Spacious timeshare overlooking the ocean. Free hot dog and hamburger lunch needs a vegetarian option however.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PreciousLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle A, Manager at Seawatch at the Island Club, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your nice review of Island Club / Seawatch. We are glad you and your family enjoyed our beach and island. We look forward to having you spend your next vacation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McMinnville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
201 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We recently spent two weeks at the Island Club Seawatch-we stayed in two different units and liked both.
The first week we were in building 9 Seawatch and had a wonderful ocean view (3rd floor) The next week we were in building 7 Seawatch with a lagoon and ocean view(2nd floor). This was our first visit to Seawatch and we loved the location right on the beach. Both units were the same-granite countertops in the kitchen were nice. We had a two bedroom, two bath. The bedrooms were right next to each other so it is really best for a couple or small family, probably would be too close quarters for two couples.

They were doing construction while we were there(which we did not know about ahead of time) and the noise was somewhat bothersome. They were working some nights after 9pm.This should be finished after the first of next year.

We enjoyed the hamburger cookout on Thursdays and that was great-a nice lunch.

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of the ocean and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle A, Manager at Seawatch at the Island Club, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Seawatch and are looking forward to you returning for your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

This was our first visit to Hilton Head. We came here to celebrate our anniversary. We used RCI to locate ths resort. The resort is very nice and the staff seemed very friendly and helpful whenever we saw them, which was not very often, except the security guards at the front gate. My only complaint and this is strictly toward management and their judgement, was about the construction they were doing on the wooden bridge right next to our building. I called the resport about 1 month before our trip to inquire about a oceanfront condo and was informed that our room was already selected and because we only had a one bedroom we were unable to get oceanfront and would have a lagoon view. I was ok with that until we arrived and first thing Monday morning thay started working on the bridge... so much for sleeping in. I understand upgrades need to be done but if you know the guest is going to be right next door to a construction area you would think management would try and put you in an area as far away as possible from the constuction, even if it means upgrading the guest. Plus nothing about the construction was mentioned on RCI or when I called the resort a month earlier. We ended up leaving every morning and getting away from the resort for most of the day to avoid the noise. I probably should have demanded to be moved, but since the resort new about the construction and they stated when I called that the room they had already selected for us was right next to construction I decided to not waste the time and get frustrated. Due to this I probably would not return to this resort or recommend it to others.
Overall the condo was nice and overlooked the lagoon directly across from the pool. Even though the villa was called Ocean View, we could not see the ocean from our balcony. We were able to rent bikes right from the resort, a little steep for this time of the year at $27 a week compared to some of the local brochures I found, but convienent for us. The resort and room had just about everything we needed for the week. We checked in on Saturday afternoon and did not get hit with any timeshare hassles at check in, but were invited to a Monday morning get together, that we did not attend, but understood they did talk about possible timeshares. The resort has gas grills throughout the resort that anyone can use. If also has cornhole sets set up as well as bences and hammocks... a great touch. The beach is easy to get to and not that far from any units.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
148 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We traded our time share for this one and were very lucky to get the top floor (5th) and an ocean front room. The building is older, but the main living areas have been updated with newer furniture and granite in the kitchen. The kitchen is larger than most two bedrooms that we have stayed in before. There is a stackable washer and dryer in the kitchen with plenty of counter space to fold clothes. The kitchen is the best equipped kitchen that we have ever encountered in a time share unit.

The master bedroom had a king bed, dresser and large walk-in closet with plenty of hangers. It had a large window sliding glass window overlooking the ocean - we left it open each night just to hear the waves. It also has a door that accesses the balcony. The second bedroom has two twin beds. Because we were traveling with another couple, I brought king sheets and a quilt from home and we moved the beds together. No complaints from the other couple traveling with us. I do recommend bringing your own pillows from home if driving in. The pillows were very flat and somewhat hard. The living room can comfortably seat 6 people as well as the dining room table.

The resort has a beautiful outdoor pool that is large and has a fountain. There is also a kiddie pool and a 6" deep tanning pool that allows you to put a chaise in the pool and splash yourself if you get too hot. Great way to enjoy a sunny day. The hot tub was great in the evenings. Not too hot, and not too cold......just right. The people staying at the resort were all friendly and pleasant to be around.

We visited in September, so most of the activities were not offered. However, on Thursday afternoon, the resort offers a complimentary BBQ for all timeshare guests including hamburgers, hot dogs, fruit, coleslaw, potato chips, and soft drinks. It is just an expression of thanks for staying there - no sales presentation or pressure. We really enjoyed sitting by the lagoon and enjoying the burgers. There were turtles in the water just waiting for some tidbit to come their way.

The best part of this resort is it's proximity to the Folly Field Beach. We enjoyed walking and riding bikes. A note for bikers - ride toward south beach with the wind at your back, and come back the shaded bike paths along the main drag. Riding into the wind takes a lot more effort. We are already looking forward to returning to this resort in the future.

Room Tip: Request an ocean front third floor or above, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maawandoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle A, Manager at Seawatch at the Island Club, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed our resort and look forward to having you return for your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
5.9 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
4.5 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort
0.9 mi away
Marriott's SurfWatch
Marriott's SurfWatch
#1 of 52 in Hilton Head
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seawatch at the Island Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seawatch at the Island Club

Property: Seawatch at the Island Club
Address: 85 Folly Field Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6902 (Formerly The Island Club of Hilton Head Seawatch)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Seawatch at the Island Club 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Seawatch at the Island Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island Club Of Hilton Head Seawatch Hotel Hilton Head
Island Club Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing