We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Hilton Head”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's SurfWatch
Certificate of Excellence
Wallkill, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved Hilton Head”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed at SurfWatch for a week and a half in May 2013, first week we were in the Tide Mark building (great ocean view over the marsh), second half of our trip we were in the Ocean Dunes building (ocean front over the marsh, closest to beach). We had a great time, the villa set up is what we have come to love about being Marriott owners. We plan to return same time next year. My 3 yr old now loves the beach.

Had the best experience ever with a Marriott Representative her name is Noelle Hoover. She recommended great restaurants and made our reservations for our anniversary diner and mother's day celebration. She also recommended a dentist when I had a dental emergency. If you are staying at SurfWatch and need assistance or have questions Noelle is the person that you should reach out to.

Room Tip: Not really a bad view you will either have a view of the lake (the buildings farthest from the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NSD70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    90
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
319
110
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Our family just stayed at this beautiful resort and had a terrific week. This was our first visit to Hilton Head and we could not have asked for a better place to stay. We had a wonderful, spacious 2 bedroom villa overlooking the boardwalk with a lovely view of the ocean from our balcony. We were just a hop, skip and a jump to the beach and the oceanfront pool. This resort offered a great array of activities and there were tons of activities for our 11 year son to enjoy. He particularly loved the magic show, getting to see and hold an alligator and going ziplining! The staff were very friendly and accomodating. The villa itself was huge and the kitchen was very well equipped. We ate most of our meals in as we really didn't want to leave this relaxing location! We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get the building closest to the boardwalk for a wonderful view from your balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skippack, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

As a family of 6 with 4 kids ages 13,11,8,7 (2 boys 2 girls) we booked this property through an Interval exchange. We actually own at Marriott Heritage Club in Sea Pines at the bottom of the Island. We usually have stayed a Disney on the island. Having high expectations from other trips we were not disappointed. The property is medium for one with multiple buildings. 5 buildings in all. 1 beach front and then you cross an public street (which does not look or feel public due to customizations Marriott has made) to the main part of the property. Our 2 bedroom unit was one of the further buildings. At first we were disappointed not having the beach front building but by 2 days in were were very happy and actually have reasons we would not want the beach front building based on the properties activities. There is a great indoor pool which ended up being our pool of choice. This pool was almost always empty, very big and crystal clear water. The beach side pool was the smallest of the 3 somewhat crowded but the biggest gripe was it was very cloudy. I realize being a pool owner it is hard to keep a pool clear when there is heavy usage and high humidity. The shuffleboard, pool table, Foosball table, indoor pool, ping pong and basketball court were all very close to the 5400 building we stayed in. This property also has a 24 seat movie theater where they have 4 showings a day of various genres of movies. My kids loved this. The staff was very friendly right down the the maintenance people. Ryan the security guard even had a very nice conversation with me for about 10 minutes. The staff at the beach bar/restaurant treated my kids like rock stars all week. By 2 days in Francine and all the other ladies at the bar knew what my kids wanted without them even having to order. This all made us very very comfortable as the kids roamed the property. They would just go up to the bar, order and eat lunch, while my wife and I stayed at the beach. As far as the property only having 1 beach front building and having to walk from some further buildings you need to embrace the golf cart service immediately. YES golf cart service. We would call the front desk before leaving the room and ask for a cart. Within 3-5 minutes a cart was out front to drive us to the beach. They had 3 5-6 person carts running most of the day. When returning the was a little black phone to call to have a return cart sent to you. Most of the time you did not even need to call because the carts basically make continuous loops around the property from the beach. Our 2 bedroom unit was very big. 2 doubles in 1 bedroom. 1 King in the master and a pullout sofa couch. Only gripe is the pillows in the master bedroom were so big you almost could not use them comfortably. They could use a more user friendly thickness pillow. We usually travel with a blow up twin bed we got a Dick's sporting goods since the kids are getting to an age where they don't want to share a bed. This works out great for us. The master bath shower was CRAZY! My kids all wanted to shower there rather than their own shower. Multiple shower heads and wall jets. Very clean and bright rooms over all. Perfect comfortable furniture and decor. No doubt we would stay at this property again and would not hesitate in recommending it to anyone.

Room Tip: Room does not matter. All building have an upside to staying in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlwaysDisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
2,515 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,859 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

As a newer Marriott property, this resort avoids several mistakes of older Marriott resorts, but provides a dilemma for discriminating owners who value the serenity of an Atlantic Ocean view. The large whirlpool tub is absent due to lack of owner use.

The Hilton Head properties would benefit from fireplaces. Marriott’s Surf Watch eliminates the lockout units and offer two and three bedroom units. A couple should elect the two-bedroom unit because the living space is larger than in a three-bedroom unit.

We insisted on an Ocean Front unit. The insider’s viewpoint nicknames this property as “Marriott’s Surf Walk.” This is because several owners and visitors have not properly prepared themselves for this unique property.

First, there really is only one building that is oceanfront. Second, it is a short walk on a boardwalk to the beach. In one sense “Marriott Surf Walk” is an apt description. Several other buildings provide serene Marshland and Atlantic Ocean views.

Given nearly 60 years of Atlantic and Pacific coast travel, I require an ocean front property, and I am willing to pay the premium cost for the view. Many of the Marriott Surf Watch building are “garden view.” These garden views provide a replica view of many tidewater areas, but fall short in terms of providing the clientele a balcony to enjoy a nice wine and sushi and a vision of the Atlantic Ocean.

Room Tip: All units are excellent, and be aware that there is an ORDER to determine who receives the Ocean Fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SavantIII_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

This property is always immaculate, and is spread out enough so that you never feel like it is crowded, when when occupancy is at 100%. The beach is always spacious, as opposed to other Marriott beachfront properties on HH. The Beachside pool used to be a hassle due to people reserving chairs and not using them for half the day, but the new 45 minute policy on holding chairs seems to be working. Rooms are a good size. The only issue is that the back bedroom (in 3 BR units) tends to get very warm at night, even with the AC on. I've brought this to management's attention at least twice now over the years, and they have not made any improvements to this.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

My family of five stayed for a week at this resort in June 2013 and had a great time.We stayed in a 3 bedroom unit with my parents and another family. We had plenty of room to spread out and entertain. The only disappointment was that with 12 people in the room, our little balcony looking out at the ocean only had 4 chairs around a little table. We had easy access to the beach via the walkway over the marsh. Golf carts were fast and ever-present and would often show up right when you needed them. The resort was quiet despite being full of families, and there were MANY activities for kids and families throughout the days/week. The resort has 3 pools which the kids loved, and then the beach was excellent. There is a drastic difference between high/low-tide, so the kids were able to find all sorts of sea-life in the tide-pools and had lots of room to run. My wife and I rented bikes from the resort one day and rode to the farmers market about 2-miles away. Access to gas grills whenever you want to use them. Overall, it is a great resort and offers plenty to see and do for a week to entertain the family.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmcdonald78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our first wedding anniversary and everything was wonderful. The front desk sent us a gift basket to celebrate and noticed that I was pregnant so replaced red wine with sparkling grape juice, which was very thoughtful.
The resort had several activities going on each day ranging from movies in their own theater to water aerobics in the morning.
The property was very clean and well maintained. Our condo was absolutely beautiful and was equipped with everything we could need for our week there.
We will definitely try to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicoleS0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.3 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
5.0 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
7.2 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#12 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
2.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
3.5 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's SurfWatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's SurfWatch

Property: Marriott's SurfWatch
Address: 10 Surfwatch Way, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5336
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's SurfWatch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's SurfWatch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Surfwatch Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing