We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's SurfWatch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Great location tucked away from all the noise and the tourist. Loved the theatre and wonderful resort. We will return to this location again. Loved the showers and balcony and size of the rooms. I was looking for something and I found it . Pools were nice and it was located not to far from the outlets and all of the restaurants nice size definitely will return again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank yours66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's SurfWatch, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

We are thrilled you enjoyed your vacation at Marriott’s SurfWatch! We appreciate your five-star review and are glad to have exceeded your expectations. Please visit us again on your next trip to Hilton Head Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2013

I am sure we paid too much money for our week (2 bedroom condo with full kitchen =$1200), but it was worth every penny. The small details make the difference. We woke up Christmas morning to chocolates hanging from our door handle. Yep, Marriott has my business every time. Outstanding family activities for all ages. LOVE this property...

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean view room, but all rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judysheboygan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The surf watch was okay, but they were not willing to accommodate two families that wanted to be together. We started calling months before and continued to call every week. Yet they found it necessary to split us up from each other.

They sell timeshares here and I could never think of buying here because of the bad taste in my mouth. The property was fantastic (next to the beach), and the rooms fantastic. But the staff was horrible and did nothing to help us out.

This was our third time here and will definitely be our last. It's a shame because we used to love this place.

When we entered the room, there was cookies on the floor (not a dupe huge deal, but still unclean).

It was nice to have a three bedroom villa with tons of activities throughout the property. But this time, they were charging $3.00 for s'mores and other things. I say ad five dollars to my room rate and don't leave the impression that I'm being "nickel and dimed".

Room Tip: There are great ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank point5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Manager at Marriott's SurfWatch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Surfwatch. We're concerned about the service problems you encountered while a guest at our resort. We strive to provide guests with a flawless service experience and we regret the inconvenience this caused you.

We would be happy to speak with you further about your visit and invite you to contact our Customer Care team at customer.care@vacationclub.com or by calling 800-860-9384. We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

When my Husband said to use our timeshare to visit the kids over Thanksgiving in Hilton Head Island, I said, No way would they have any openings. We used to live on the Island until this past summer and have moved to North Carolina. Not only did they have an opening, they got us close to the elevator due to medical problems. The unit was just beautiful and very updated and clean. Every day there was things going on for all ages, so we kept our Grandson for a few days. He enjoyed the salt-water pool and the crafts, and especially the Smores by the fire and the Brats night. We definitely will try to go back there again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This property is very well done with lots to do, as noted by ScottK (he hit it all, so I won't repeat). We were a little concerned about the distance to the beach, but turned out to be no problem, especially if you went around the outside of the buildings, which was much shorter. In addition, the staff quickly responds if you want to take the buggy over or back. The grounds are beautiful, peaceful, and full of wonderful birds to watch, so you get the best of both worlds - the wildlife on the beach and the wildlife near the ponds, which are different, of course. The staff was very helpful, courteous, and upbeat. The units were very well appointed and the bed was very comfortable (a biggie for us). Kitchen was well-stocked. The pools and spas were heated, indoor and outdoor. Everything was first class.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mountaingal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My family and I just stayed at Surfwatch for three nights over Thanksgiving, and the accommodations were very comfortable, the wildlife around the marshes was fabulous, and the amenities made the stay quite enjoyable.

The kitchen was well equipped, and the grounds had heated pools (indoor and out), movie theaters, pool tables, ping pong tables, and other amusement opportunities. Well-placed (and lit) grills as well as fire pits for nighttime seating were also nice things to have.

Staff was courteous, and the sales presentation MUCH less onerous than many timeshare spiels I have sat through.

The beach is fabulous, though it takes a walk of about 5 minutes to get there (never bothered us, as we simply observed a great blue heron on our way to the beach).

No complaints, well-located, and within a few miles of virtually all the nice restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScottK1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay here. Cannot describe value because we used our timeshare exchange but we ended up with a 3BR/3BA unit which was perfect for our party of 6, there is room for 12 to sleep comfortably. We came the week of thanksgiving and although the weather was not perfect there was plenty to do around the resort and on Hilton Head. Our building was very close to the indoor pool where we spent a lot of time and although many others were using the pool it did not seem crowded. We also played ping long which was always stocked well w paddles & balls. We used their putting green to work on putting before going out to the real courses. They also have shuffleboard & corn hole games. We were very close to the beau and could walk there easily. Beautiful walk across the marsh. Off resort we took a kayaking trip, horseback riding and trip into Sea Pines, all lovely. Staff here was very happy & friendly and met our needs easily!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.3 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
814 reviews
7.6 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
4.9 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#13 of 28 in Hilton Head
331 reviews
5.5 mi away
Marriott's Grande Ocean
Marriott's Grande Ocean
#5 of 28 in Hilton Head
857 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's SurfWatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's SurfWatch

Address: 10 Surfwatch Way, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5336
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range: £178 - £507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's SurfWatch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marriott's SurfWatch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Surfwatch Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing