We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Visit & Planning to Return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's SurfWatch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Family of five, children ages 6,6 & 9 had a fantastic time and are planning another trip. The resort is naturally beautiful and very well kept. We had a 2 bdrm condo overlooking the pool which was only a five minute walk to all the amenities including beach, 3 pools and main building. The condos are attractive and kitchen is well stocked for meal preparation. Rosa and Sandra were both friendly and helpful making suggestions and reservations when needed.
We loved being mid-island, easy bike ride to Palmetto Dunes, Shelter Cove and Port Royal. Chaplin Community Park across the road has a terrific playground, dog enclosure and fields for the busy active family.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's SurfWatch, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for your five-star review of Marriott's SurfWatch! We appreciate your recommendation and are happy you are planning to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is a beautiful property with typically a 5 minute walk to the beach. Love their beach bar. They have done an excellent job updating the property. It's very low key and laid back. Villas have anything you'd ever want. Full kitchens & washer & dryer. You'll love it there!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank ranger937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's SurfWatch, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us and the new updates! Our team looks forward to your next stay with us on Hilton Head Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed March 1- March 8 at the Marriott Surfwatch. We were there three years ago and were not disappointed this time.

We were greeted by Tyler and Rosa at the Front desk. We remembered Rosa from our stay three years ago. She always has a friendly word when you walk through the lobby.

Tyler, was very willing to locate a chair that I requested for our unit. We were in room 5127 and it had a wonderful view of the Marsh and ocean.

The unit was immaculate and very well furnished. We thought our daughter and family would be able to come, so we had requested a three bedroom unit.

Surfwatch has current movies that are free as well as popcorn. We saw Last Vegas and the Butler, They also had Gravity etc:

The indoor pool is amazing. I like the fact that it is 5 foot deep in one area.

They had water aerobics that were offered daily, I couldn't do the class since I just had knee replacement. Activity team of Sarah, Bryan, Ryan were amazing. I can't recall all the names.

We went to the low country boil which was excellent. Price was very reasonable $10.00 per person. They had brat night that we didn't attend but it was complimentary. On the 6th they had grilled hamburgers and premium hot dogs that were complimentary. They said they could not control the weather, but they could make the stay more enjoyable. The hot dogs were premium large stadium quality.

Sea Salts just opened on Sunday and I was happy to see that Francine was back greeting people again. I really liked the mahi fish tacos. Food is excellent and quite reasonable. The view from the deck is wonderful. Had the weather cooperated we would have eaten their more often.

They have bikes for rent which we did not use this trip.

You will be amazed at this property.

the complimentary shuttle on the property is very nice too. It is a long hike to the ocean.

The only tricky part is finding the sign for the resort..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marshalnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's SurfWatch, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for visiting Marriott's SurfWatch! We truly appreciate your detailed review and thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travelers. We hope you return to visit us soon on Hilton Head Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We discovered SurfWatch about 4 years ago on a timeshare swap. It is an unusual property in that it encompasses the marsh and the ocean! The resort is beautifully appointed and even in the winter on sunny days, the pools are open and heated. There is an indoor pool as well with a wonderful whirlpool spa. The staff is welcoming and helpful. It has all the amenities with tennis courts and golf courses in easy driving distance. SurfWatch has become our favorite place to stay on Hilton Head and we have been going to the island for over 30 years!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Atlanta10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

For every year since I was born, my family has traveled to the wondrous Hilton Head Island for our yearly splash in the sun. However, after spending numerous trips at Marriott’s Grand Ocean resort we decided to tryout a new place, Marriott’s SurfWatch resort. This little slice of heaven however is not so easily found. The minuscule sign signaling to turn left at the next available drive is very hard to see and my family and I have passed it many times, when looking for the resort. To some this would seem an inconvenience, but it has provided my family with a reminder every time we travel back!

Like any Marriott resort, you are accommodated with five star services and pleasant locations. From the moment your car is ushered in through SurfWatch’s broad gates, you are filled with evangelical zeal upon seeing the beauty of the resort’s lake and lush wildlife. Marriott’s SurfWatch is surrounded by an immense amount of wildlife, which provides soothing croaking sounds that help lull you to sleep. After you arrive at the main house for check in, the worldly and friendly Marriott staff offer you a helpful map and if you are lucky mouth watering peach jellybeans. Their friendliness gives you a sense of being at home, in a comforting environment surrounded by many local and amazing activities. The welcoming staff also provides everyone with a list of daily activities for all ages, including family movies, Bingo, and morning workout routines. Unfortunately, the resort sometimes is unable to have your room ready exactly when you arrive. This can sometimes prove as an hinderance, but does not stop you from exploring the grounds which include: several lukewarm and spacious pools, hammocks, boardwalks, bike paths, a market place, Ping-Pong tables and other sport related areas. Not only is SurfWatch accommodating to all of your daily needs by providing small restaurants and golf cart transportation, its rooms provide a spacious getaway from the hot and sticky weather. The SurfWatch rooms contain a full working kitchen, an enormous living room, elegant dining room, several other bedrooms (depending on how big your family is), a free washer and dryer, and wonderful bathrooms. Some perks about this resort include: the master bedroom having a huge shower with 6 different shower heads and dream mattresses that allow oneself to sleep all hours of the day. Just spending one week at Marriott’s SurfWatch resort has kept me coming back every summer, sometimes even twice if I’m lucky! This resort draws you in like the land of the Lotus Eaters and provides your family with a week of fun in the sun and memories that will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We were in the only building that is on the ocean so we had a prime location. Although the view was good and the unit was in fair condition, we feel Marriott time share resorts are not being maintained as well they were seven or eight years ago. It seems that the priority of Marriott has become selling and expanding rather than providing quality resorts.

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean view room on the third floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PAGolflady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's SurfWatch, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Surfwatch! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your view and the prime location on the ocean. We also take your feedback seriously regarding the room condition as we continually look to improve our guest’s experience. Thank you again for your review and please visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Vacationed several times at SurfWatch and can't say enough good things about them. Great units we stayed at the beach front building and the view is outstanding, well cared-for and maintained, excellent staff who cater to your every need. The jewel of the Island. Marriott can be proud of this resort.

Room Tip: If you have children, you can't beat the poolside units. Ocean view from higher poolside units...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jay b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.3 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
795 reviews
4.9 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
7.7 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
322 reviews
2.3 mi away
Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove
2.7 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's SurfWatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's SurfWatch

Address: 10 Surfwatch Way, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5336
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range: £110 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's SurfWatch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott's SurfWatch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Surfwatch Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing