We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's SurfWatch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marriott's SurfWatch
Certificate of Excellence
Cornelius, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Surfwatch again last weekend. This place is the best on HHI and worth the money especially if you have family/extended family with you. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, and the resort amenities are awesome.

Staff has always been good but checked in with Rosa this time and she was the best! Stopped by the front desk the next day and she recognized me and remembered my name...and that makes you really feel welcome.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beamer-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    87
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
305
103
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed on our first visit ever to Hilton Head-stopped on our way back to NY. The weather was great and our 2bedroom suite looked brand new. The buildings are just a few steps from the beach-beautiful white sand beach complete with tiki bar and pool. There was so much to do right in the complex (we were told these are timeshare units,but are the nicest we've ever stayed in). Would definitely recommend this place. Room tip-stay in bldg.56 right on the beach.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SusanL938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is our third stay at this resort and we just love it. They keep improving things! We really enjoyed all the onsite activities, including MANY that were free. I had been frustrated in the past that it costs so much to stay at a resort like this and then they want to nickel and dime you to death. There are free movies that can be watched in your villa or at the onsite cinema. There were complimentary some mores, brats, and music down by the fantastic fire pits! A large array of exercise classes, corn hole, horseshoes, shuffleboard, ping pong, foosball and pool provide hours of fun. There is an indoor pool and 2 outdoor pools, with at least one that was heated (not sure about the second). As always, the resort is clean and beautifully landscaped. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1happymomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's SurfWatch, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott's SurfWatch! We truly appreciate your positive review and are happy to hear your family enjoyed our complimentary activities. We hope you return to visit us soon on your next trip to Hilton Head Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Forks, North Dakota, USA
Level Contributor
152 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

It's been over 20 years since I visited Hilton Head but it definitely won't be another 20 before I return. I originally planned to stay in Savannah to visit a family friend but due to the St. Patrick's Day parade, there was no availability in the area we wanted. So, that led me to Hilton Head Island and I'm glad it did. The Surfwatch was a great location with easy access to the beach and lots of activities and great restaurants. This was also probably one of the best places I've been to try so many different kinds of foods--from fried alligator to BBQ to great seafood dishes. We took a Gullah tour, did some ziplining, and visited neighboring cities--including Savannah and Bluffton--for walking tours. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and met all of our needs. The rooms were spacious and modern and I appreciated the availability of nearby grills for those wishing to cookout. My only disappointment was a low buzzing sound in the room. I'm super sensitive to sound so it was annoying at times. All in all, a great time with my family (despite a couple of cold, cloudy days).

Room Tip: Building 55 has a parking garage and is near the beach. If you get a high floor (we were on 4) you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BFR1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's SurfWatch, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your positive review of Marriott's SurfWatch! We are so happy you decided to return to Hilton Head Island and take in the many local sites. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back soon to the island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Family of five, children ages 6,6 & 9 had a fantastic time and are planning another trip. The resort is naturally beautiful and very well kept. We had a 2 bdrm condo overlooking the pool which was only a five minute walk to all the amenities including beach, 3 pools and main building. The condos are attractive and kitchen is well stocked for meal preparation. Rosa and Sandra were both friendly and helpful making suggestions and reservations when needed.
We loved being mid-island, easy bike ride to Palmetto Dunes, Shelter Cove and Port Royal. Chaplin Community Park across the road has a terrific playground, dog enclosure and fields for the busy active family.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's SurfWatch, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your five-star review of Marriott's SurfWatch! We appreciate your recommendation and are happy you are planning to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful property with typically a 5 minute walk to the beach. Love their beach bar. They have done an excellent job updating the property. It's very low key and laid back. Villas have anything you'd ever want. Full kitchens & washer & dryer. You'll love it there!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ranger937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's SurfWatch, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us and the new updates! Our team looks forward to your next stay with us on Hilton Head Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed March 1- March 8 at the Marriott Surfwatch. We were there three years ago and were not disappointed this time.

We were greeted by Tyler and Rosa at the Front desk. We remembered Rosa from our stay three years ago. She always has a friendly word when you walk through the lobby.

Tyler, was very willing to locate a chair that I requested for our unit. We were in room 5127 and it had a wonderful view of the Marsh and ocean.

The unit was immaculate and very well furnished. We thought our daughter and family would be able to come, so we had requested a three bedroom unit.

Surfwatch has current movies that are free as well as popcorn. We saw Last Vegas and the Butler, They also had Gravity etc:

The indoor pool is amazing. I like the fact that it is 5 foot deep in one area.

They had water aerobics that were offered daily, I couldn't do the class since I just had knee replacement. Activity team of Sarah, Bryan, Ryan were amazing. I can't recall all the names.

We went to the low country boil which was excellent. Price was very reasonable $10.00 per person. They had brat night that we didn't attend but it was complimentary. On the 6th they had grilled hamburgers and premium hot dogs that were complimentary. They said they could not control the weather, but they could make the stay more enjoyable. The hot dogs were premium large stadium quality.

Sea Salts just opened on Sunday and I was happy to see that Francine was back greeting people again. I really liked the mahi fish tacos. Food is excellent and quite reasonable. The view from the deck is wonderful. Had the weather cooperated we would have eaten their more often.

They have bikes for rent which we did not use this trip.

You will be amazed at this property.

the complimentary shuttle on the property is very nice too. It is a long hike to the ocean.

The only tricky part is finding the sign for the resort..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marshalnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's SurfWatch, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott's SurfWatch! We truly appreciate your detailed review and thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travelers. We hope you return to visit us soon on Hilton Head Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.3 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
5.0 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
7.7 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove
7.2 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#13 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's SurfWatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's SurfWatch

Property: Marriott's SurfWatch
Address: 10 Surfwatch Way, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5336
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's SurfWatch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your Marriott's SurfWatch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Surfwatch Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing