We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Want to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's SurfWatch
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Want to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

While spending Spring Break week at Marriott's Surf Watch, I noticed an employee wearing a shirt with the words, "Resort of the Year 2013," stitched on the sleeve. It appears to me SurfWatch is working on a repeat performance.
In the middle of our stay, a crew came into our unit to check the signal of the new and improved Wi-Fi. I mentioned that I got upset when we spilled a drop of suntan lotion on the carpet because it looked new. He replied, that the unit was refurbished THREE years ago. I couldn't believe it because everything appeared to be in "new" condition. I would have guessed by the condition of the furniture, drapes and carpet that it had been re-done in the past few months. Only the refrigerator showed age (white instead of stainless) and was told it would be changed during the next "off-season." It's obvious the maintenance crews pay attention to every detail!
Our unit (5413) was probably as far from the ocean as possible, but we didn't mind. We had a wonderful view of a pond and found ourselves constantly looking out the windows or sitting on the porch watching the ducks. Admittedly, our walk to the beach was long but nobody in our family complained. In fact, golf cart shuttles often stopped as we walked to ask if we wanted a ride (you can call for pickup) but we declined because we needed the exercise.
A highlight was the "Welcome Breakfast" one morning (we won a ticket for a zipline adventure) that was followed by a kid friendly magic show (have you ever noticed that every older magician hasn't changed his hairstyle since 1973?). We also enjoyed the free grilled brat dinner (brats on a bun, slaw and potato chips). Canned soft drinks were $1. A local craft beer flight was $7. Both of these events were held outside under a canopy of trees. There were picnic tables and fire pits. The dinner was a nice change from showering and dressing for dinner at a restaurant. Young and older families ate and then played horseshoes, shuffleboard and ping pong. A word of warning-- the insects bite at dusk so take some bug spray.
Between work, kid homework and kid sports activities, our family often misses the latest movies. What a treat that the resort offered a long list of in-villa movies and even a screening room with a huge tv screen, surround sound and movie theater seats. I'm not sure most people realize the screening room is there (or how nice it is). I can imagine that this would be "the" spot to find in the summer to escape a sunburn.
We even found the beach a little nicer at this resort... with a slight slope going into the water without big dips and drops on the ocean floor.
The food served beach-side was "reasonable (not cheap)" and good.
We will return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 886SteveS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's SurfWatch, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
We want you back too, Steve! Thank you for your great TripAdvisor review for Marriott's Surfwatch. We appreciate your kind words and hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    90
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
320
110
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

My husband and I used our Destination Points to stay at SurfWatch for 6 nights 4/19/14-4/25/14. We had visited HH in 2012 and stayed at Marriott's Barony Beach Club and really fell in love with Hilton Head. Surf Watch is the newest of the Marriott properties in HH. The suites are beautiful and spacious and the grounds are lovely and full of fun activities, including corn hole boards, ping pong table, shuffle boad court, 3 large fire pits, a putting green, swings, benches, and of course grills. The resort put on many activities for guests during the week, some were complimentary and some cost anywhere between $3-$7 per person. We enjoyed making Smores around the fire pit, the continental breakfast and bike tour to Shelter Cove, there is even a small movie theater at the resort. I would recommend renting bikes and taking a ride on the beach. Sea Salt Bar at the pool closest to the beach was nice for lunch and happy hour. Some other reviewes have mentioned that there is pretty long walk to the beach. We stayed in the 5300 building which may have been one of the farther buildings. If you want to be closer to the beach the 5500 and 5600 buildings are best. I actually liked the pool that was farther away from the beach better that the beach pool, and we spent most of our time there. It's bigger and there are more chairs. (Since we were there in April, there was sometimes a strong breeze closer to the ocean). Over all, Hilton Head is a beautiful destination and you can't go wrong with Surf Watch or any of the Marriott properties. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A1977C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's SurfWatch, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for joining us on your return trip to Hilton Head Island! We are happy to hear your stay at Marriott's SurfWatch was excellent and exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your next visit and thank you for being a Marriott Vacation Club owner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Being a Marriott owner I expect the best service with the least amount of drama. That's exactly what I get when I stayed at their largest facility in the Hilton Head area. The entire stay was first class. Our coffee pot leaked on day 2 and we got a brand new one in 20 minutes. The food at the beach bar and grill was excellent. The Pools were very clean and water temperature was perfect. It was probably one of the most relaxing vacations i have ever had. If you want to get away and really relax then go to Surfwatch. It was one of my most enjoyable vacations ever.

Room Tip: every room is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianj1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's SurfWatch, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your review Brian! We appreciate your kind words and are happy you had one of the most enjoyable vacations ever. We look forward to many more visits from your family and thank you for being an owner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

A friend is a member of the Marriott vacation timeshare club and finally was able to secure an open week during spring break. What a nice place and the staff is superb. The facilities were clean and maintained very well. They had a schedule of kids activities everyday and all throughout the day. There was a beer tasting for the adults (hang out with Mike he'll take care of you). The beech pool and bar is the place to hang out. Live entertainment and great drinks and of course the beach. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's SurfWatch, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review Todd! We are happy you were able to join us over spring break vacation. Please visit us again at Marriott's Surfwatch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed in 2BDR Villa the week of 4/7/14, it was spacious with nice furniture. A couple things first the staff is extremely nice and helpful, they called cabs for us offered shuttle service around and recommended local places to eat.
We have 2 boys 12 and 8 and there is plenty to do on the resort, basketball court, horse shoes, table tennis and roasting s’mores was their favorite activities, you can have light fare at the Sea salts beach bar & grill right on the beach where Francine is so nice and makes great island drinks! We are looking forward to coming back soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's SurfWatch, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for the five-star review Anthony! We are happy to hear your family enjoyed their time with us and the many activities at the resort. It is also great to hear that Francine went above and beyond in making your vacation experience memorable. We look forward to your next stay with us at Marriott's SurfWatch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We travelled from Ireland to Hilton Head for the first part of our 2 week vacation to the US. Surf Watch is a fantastic resort for families. If you want to spend quality time with the kids.. Cycling, golfing, beach walks, playing tennis this is the place.. If you like to cook in there are great BBQ facilities there.. If you like to eat out be prepared to drive as there are no restaurants nearby and the choices of restaurants are quite limited. Villas are newly renovated and are fab.. Staff at Surf Watch were exceptional especially their Front Desk Manager Tyler who blew us away.. We have stayed in Marriotts in many countries and have never come across someone with such fantastic customer service skills he was exceptional. Hilton Head is a beautiful place will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Killoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's SurfWatch, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
We are glad to hear your family had an exceptional time at Marriott's Surfwatch! Your kind words for the staff, including Tyler, is appreciated and will be shared with the appropriate leaders. We hope you will return again soon on your next vacation in Hilton Head!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelius, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Surfwatch again last weekend. This place is the best on HHI and worth the money especially if you have family/extended family with you. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, and the resort amenities are awesome.

Staff has always been good but checked in with Rosa this time and she was the best! Stopped by the front desk the next day and she recognized me and remembered my name...and that makes you really feel welcome.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beamer-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.3 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
5.0 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
7.2 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#12 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
2.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
3.5 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's SurfWatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's SurfWatch

Property: Marriott's SurfWatch
Address: 10 Surfwatch Way, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5336
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's SurfWatch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's SurfWatch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Surfwatch Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing