We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again! And Again, And Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's SurfWatch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Back again for a second year in a row. Fantastic again for a second year in a row. The room was immaculate. Grounds well manicured and the staff was friendly as always. VERY hot during our stay so it was a nice surprise when the security guard on his Segway rode by us and stopped since his side bags were full of freeze pops which he clipped open and gave to each of my kids. We like building 54 since it is close to the indoor pool, table tennis and the main building which has the movie theater in it. It is nice to have golf cart service to run you back and fort from the beach as needed. My kids rapidly became comfortable with calling the front desk to ask for a cart to pick them up. The beach is nice and wide and was not very crowded. I would say this is a medium size property and we were not overwhelmed or uncomfortable allowing our kids some freedom walking around unattended. Pretty secure feeling. Kids are age 14,12,10 and 9. They loved the movies in the theater. (3 per day) and much have watched about 10 of them during our stay. I would highly recommend this property with or without children. The only downside is that there is only a bar restaurant on property. The food is good but gets old quickly. The BEST part is the 2 young ladies who run the concierge desk! If you call somewhere for a reservation and they say "we are first come first serve" don't listen. The concierges have hookups with almost every restaurant on the island. They were able to get me a reservation during a peak time for 12 people as a well known seafood restaurant with no issues. We pull up and people outside had a 2 hour wait. I may miss them the most. Great location with great service!!!!!

Room Tip: We like building 54 great center of the property location but not too far from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank AlwaysDisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Awesome activities for the kids, up to date rooms encompassing the expected Marriott excellence and on the beach. I can't understand why people complain about the walk to it because you can simply call for a golf cart and they will pick you up within minutes and take you wherever you want to go. Concierge team is awesome and will get you in to the nicest restaurants around.

This place is second to none.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Thrushforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our family loves to visit SurfWatch and we have a wonderful visit every year. The property is beautiful, the rooms are clean and spacious, and the staff are consistently friendly and helpful. My kids love to participate in the activities and crafts, and the snow cone day is always a highlight. The food at the Sea Salts Beverage Co is tasty (we love the pita chips and pimento dip!). My only suggestion would be to add more towel bars in the guest bathroom. There is plenty of room for along the wall, and a beach vacation makes for lots of wet towels.
Can't wait to visit again next year!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank EdQ44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have stayed at the SurfWatch since 2008 and the the service and amenities are top notch. Even when the beach is busy it never seems crowded. They do a great job with activities for kids and the the concierge is more then helpful. Final praise is for the staff especially housekeeping and the grounds keepers.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank patrick417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We own a timeshare with Marriott and we vacation in HHI every summer.Surfwatch is a beautiful resort with so many family things to do.We take our children and grandchildren with us.they get so excited to see what is on the scheduled activities for the week.We love the location because it is centrally located to our favorite restaurants and Shelter Cove.The weather was beautiful all week and we spent a lot of time in the pools and ocean.If you're looking for a place that has just about everything then Surfwatch or Barony Beach is where you will find it.Cant wait to return!

Room Tip: Any one of the buildings in this resort is great, and we prefer the third or fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 44,270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

What a great place!! There is a reason this is a four star resort. The service here is amazing on all levels. The two bedroom villa is spacious, master shower is outrageous and the kitchen has nice stainless appliances. The activities are nice for the family and the amenities including the bikes are convenient.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank BeAnOptimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's SurfWatch, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your five-star review! We appreciate your kind words and look forward to hosting you again at Marriott's SurfWatch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great Location - centrally located to most activities on the island. But, with all the activities there are to do at the resort - you'd really never have to leave! Beautifully kept grounds, helpful and friendly staff, pools, and activities galore every day.

If I had to say anything negative about the resort is that the beach is a little ways away from most buildings - But they do provide golf cart shuttles if you time it right. Otherwise it's a 5-7 minute walk over a boardwalk.

The main feature pool tends to be crowded as the indoor and ocean pools are smaller. It's especially crowded on "Pool party days", which is typically Wednesday. But it's also a lot of fun to be there during the pool party!

Overall, if you're going to Hilton Head and want to stay on a Marriott property - I'd stay here or the Marriott Grande Ocean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scott2997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.3 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
798 reviews
4.9 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
7.6 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove
5.3 mi away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
1.4 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's SurfWatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's SurfWatch

Address: 10 Surfwatch Way, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5336
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range: £105 - £527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's SurfWatch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott's SurfWatch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Surfwatch Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing