We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marriott's SurfWatch
Nearby Hotels
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$329
US$247
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$229
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
US$87
Red Roof
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Hilton Head(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$164
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Hilton Head(Hilton Head)
US$76
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$202
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$370
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$244
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$450
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (595)
Filter reviews
595 results
Traveller rating
479
99
14
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
479
99
14
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurf watchsea saltsindoor poolbratthree bedroommaster bedroommarriott vacation clubbath villaping pongbeach bargolf cart shuttleputting greengreat marriottsales presentationgarden viewtable tennisresort activities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
552 - 557 of 595 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Out of the six Marriott Vacation Club properties we have stayed at, this was not our best experience. Let me qualify that however by saying that I would visit again. By and large the issues were not that big and the staff was very helpful in trying to address them. Even got an unsolicited phone call asking how our visit was going.

The pros and cons:

Pros: Clean, well kept, friendly and caring staff, quiet, bicycle rentals on site were a plus. At six buildings, it is a smaller resort which means fewer people. Staff was very helpful in finding a pediatrician for our son when he got sick.

Cons: We had a real run of bad luck with our appliances. The irons were junk. Water poured out of the first. The second did not heat. Bathroom faucet leaked. Fridge door had a tough time staying closed. Oven in our in-laws suite next door had to be replaced. Vacuum had exposed wiring in cord. Beachfront bar closes way to early (7pm). No restaurant on site. Kids pool is sorely lacking compared to other Vacation Club properties we have stayed at.

Resort wise, the layout is about a 10 minute walk to the beach depending on which building you are in. They run golf cart shuttles to and from on a fairly regular basis.

I choose to believe this was just a blip because all of our other Marriott experiences were so good.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mosley80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

We are Marriott Timeshare owners and we trade each year into other Marriott units around the world and this location is wonderful and the units are standard high quality Marriotts. The bed was a bit hard for my liking but others may find it fine. The walk to the beach is long but we love the exercise and you are golf carted to the beach anytime you like if you don't want to walk. Staff is extremely friendly and if you like bike riding this is the place for you. We enjoyed our daily rides on the wonderful bike paths and along the large beach. Highly recommend this area.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vplannermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

Last summer our family spent 5 days at the Marriott Surf Watch Vacation Club. Luckily, my Mother bought the timeshare off a friend who couldn't use it, so it was a good value. But, if you can't get a "deal" like that, it's a bit expensive. The rooms (condos) were fantastic and HUGE, and every amenity and service was provided. It was truly, more like being in a Marriott Hotel rather than a condo complex.
It is a perfect spot for families, because other than a few honeymooning couples, families seemed to be the majority. I couldn't imagine going there for a romantic getaway. The pools were big and lots of fun, and they had lots of kids activities throughout the day. There were grills around the grounds for guests to use (no grills allowed on the balcony), and we did. It was a nice feature.
It was quite a walk to get to the beach, as with any Hilton Head Hotel, and it's not easy carrying all the "kids' equipment" back and forth. BUT, they did have golf cart service to and from the buildings to the beach. It made things much easier, but sometimes we just didn't feel like waiting.
The only thing I really dislike about Hilton Head itself, is that there aren't many big waves to play in. Because of the island's position, the waves aren't great for riding or playing, if you're a big kid or an adult. If you're under 10, in preschool, or a toddler, there's no better beach. The waves are just right for younger kids.
Overall, we had a great family experience and we're planning to return this year for vacation as well. You just can't beat the fact that this resort is only 5 hours away from Atlanta. It's such an easy, quick drive.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aysm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

Spent last spring break at Marriott's Barony Beach Club. Thought it would be hard to beat until we stayed at the Surf Watch. Loved the location. Much easier to get in and out of. We had a fantastic unit on a high floor with an ocean front view. That made the biggest difference. This trip generally fet more relaxed than as years. Weather was perfect. Not too crowded. Another perfect spring break at HHI. We'll be back next year!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

We arrived at 4am. and fell into the most comfy of beds. The 2 bedroom 2 bathroom suite exceeded our expectations. Our teenage sons loved their spacious room and bathroom. Our king sized bedroom and huge bathroom/shower was fantastic with walk out balcony from master bedroom and living room. We barbecued each night, and made all our own meals in such a well supplied kitchen, with full elegant dining room table, bar stools in kitchen etc. My sons had work to do and found it a great place to have to do this. The view from our room was lovely, the shuffleboard a fun place as a family to play, the boardwalks well maintained with lots of bird life, gorgeous pools, and stunning beach front. The sand was so packed it was a pleasure to exercise several times a day on it. We were thrilled to see lots of dolphins and even a baby seal. The bike paths all over the island were great. We will return! Only regret is only staying 6 nights! The weather was about 10 degrees cooler than normal but it was still fabulous.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank canadiantravellers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews